News http://wnpr.org en New London Board of Education to Investigate Incoming Superintendent http://wnpr.org/post/new-london-board-education-investigate-incoming-superintendent <p>The New London Board of Education has voted to launch an independent investigation into allegations that the city’s incoming superintendent may have misrepresented, or allowed others to misrepresent his credentials.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 16:38:23 +0000 Diane Orson 25906 at http://wnpr.org New London Board of Education to Investigate Incoming Superintendent Sen. Murphy Urges Support for Bring Jobs Home Act http://wnpr.org/post/sen-murphy-urges-support-bring-jobs-home-act <p>U.S. Senator Chris Murphy hopes for a strong vote in the Senate <a href="https://www.govtrack.us/congress/bills/113/s2569" target="_blank">this week on the Bring Jobs Home Act</a>. The bill would take away the ability for businesses to get a tax break for sending jobs overseas, and instead incentivizes companies to bring jobs back to the United States.</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 15:33:06 +0000 Diane Orson 25903 at http://wnpr.org Sen. Murphy Urges Support for Bring Jobs Home Act Hartford's FUSE Scandal Has Advocates Taking a Closer Look at How Charter Schools Operate http://wnpr.org/post/hartfords-fuse-scandal-has-advocates-taking-closer-look-how-charter-schools-operate <p>As the FBI continues its investigation of a disgraced Hartford-based charter school company, some education advocates think it's time to take a closer look at charter school accountability in the state.</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 13:43:22 +0000 Ray Hardman 25874 at http://wnpr.org Hartford's FUSE Scandal Has Advocates Taking a Closer Look at How Charter Schools Operate Hungry for Variety? Hartford Has a Taste http://wnpr.org/post/hungry-variety-hartford-has-taste <p>Food lovers have a chance to savor unique culinary dishes from over 30 restaurants in the capital city this weekend as the annual Taste of Hartford continues.</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 13:00:09 +0000 Katherine Peikes 25861 at http://wnpr.org Hungry for Variety? Hartford Has a Taste For Some Political Incumbents, the Races Are Real http://wnpr.org/post/some-political-incumbents-races-are-real <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Good government advocates sometimes lament how easy it is for incumbent politicians return to office, often uncontested. That's not always the case, though. One long-time, Democratic state senator is facing two challengers from within his party.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 02:27:07 +0000 Jeff Cohen 25880 at http://wnpr.org For Some Political Incumbents, the Races Are Real Capping Carbon Emissions Could Provide Economic Benefits, Study Finds http://wnpr.org/post/capping-carbon-emissions-could-provide-economic-benefits-study-finds <p>Federal proposals to cap carbon emissions could actually benefit some states economically, according to a new study released on Thursday in Washington, D.C.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:45:24 +0000 Patrick Skahill 25860 at http://wnpr.org Capping Carbon Emissions Could Provide Economic Benefits, Study Finds TicketNetwork Agrees To Fix "Unfair Trade Practices" http://wnpr.org/post/ticketnetwork-agrees-fix-unfair-trade-practices <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A settlement has been reached between South Windsor-based </span>TicketNetwork<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;and the State of Connecticut. In the deal, </span>TicketNetwork<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> agreed to clearly disclose that it is a ticket resale company, and not an official box office outlet.</span></p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 18:49:39 +0000 Tucker Ives 25848 at http://wnpr.org TicketNetwork Agrees To Fix "Unfair Trade Practices" Former Senator Lieberman to Be Professor in New York http://wnpr.org/post/former-senator-lieberman-be-professor-new-york <p>Former U.S. Sen. Joseph Lieberman has been appointed a professor at <a href="http://www.yu.edu/" target="_blank">Yeshiva University</a> for the 2014-2015 academic year.</p><p>The private New York university named him the Joseph Lieberman Chair in Public Policy and Public Service.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:57:22 +0000 Associated Press 25844 at http://wnpr.org Former Senator Lieberman to Be Professor in New York Staging a War Against West Nile and Eastern Equine Encephalitis http://wnpr.org/post/staging-war-against-west-nile-and-eastern-equine-encephalitis <p>Mosquitoes trapped in East Haven are the first this year to test positive for West Nile Virus.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 13:49:01 +0000 Patrick Skahill 25782 at http://wnpr.org Staging a War Against West Nile and Eastern Equine Encephalitis A Listener's Guide to Podcasts http://wnpr.org/post/listeners-guide-podcasts <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">If you're interested in podcasts, but aren't sure what to listen to, have no fear. We're here to help. &nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 13:45:27 +0000 Brittany Hill 25705 at http://wnpr.org A Listener's Guide to Podcasts Federal Investigators Look for State Education Department Emails http://wnpr.org/post/federal-investigators-look-state-education-department-emails <p>As federal investigators continue their probe of a troubled Hartford charter school group, agents are now seeking to obtain all department correspondence, including Commissioner Stefan Pryor's emails that relate to FUSE, Jumoke, Michael Sharpe or Hartford's Milner School.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 11:14:11 +0000 Diane Orson 25819 at http://wnpr.org Federal Investigators Look for State Education Department Emails For Development Around Stadium, Hartford Wants Federal Funding http://wnpr.org/post/development-around-stadium-hartford-wants-federal-funding <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Hartford officials recently held a pre-bid conference for developers and others interested in building a new minor league stadium and its surrounding neighborhood. While the city fielded questions about available land and other infrastructure improvements it has in mind, one big question sticks out:&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">"Have you identified promising sources of federal or state funds?"</span></p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:35:24 +0000 Jeff Cohen 25781 at http://wnpr.org For Development Around Stadium, Hartford Wants Federal Funding Connecticut Child Advocate Criticizes DCF for Care of Transgender Teen http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-child-advocate-criticizes-dcf-care-transgender-teen <p>The Office of the Child Advocate is criticizing the Connecticut Department of Children and Families for its "public shaming" of Jane Doe after a recent incident at the state locked unit for troubled girls. Child advocate Sarah Eagan is also&nbsp;concerned about how often&nbsp;DCF staff is restraining youth at the state's locked facilities for girls and boys.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 17:58:35 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 25775 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Child Advocate Criticizes DCF for Care of Transgender Teen Gov. Malloy Announces Free State Parks Weekend in Connecticut http://wnpr.org/post/gov-malloy-announces-free-state-parks-weekend-connecticut <p>Have you been to a state park lately? O<span style="line-height: 1.5;">n July 26 and 27, you'll be able to visit any state park in Connecticut&nbsp;for free.</span></p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 17:29:50 +0000 Heather Brandon 25779 at http://wnpr.org Gov. Malloy Announces Free State Parks Weekend in Connecticut “The Segovia of Jazz” Spices Up Musical Fare at Bethel Restaurant http://wnpr.org/post/segovia-jazz-spices-musical-fare-bethel-restaurant <p>Even though the guitar had been at the heart and soul of his existence since age seven, the future great jazz guitarist <a href="http://www.genebertoncini.com/" target="_blank">Gene Bertoncini</a> went to the prestigious University of Notre Dame in the mid-1950s to study architecture.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 14:56:01 +0000 Owen McNally 25634 at http://wnpr.org “The Segovia of Jazz” Spices Up Musical Fare at Bethel Restaurant Absentee Ballots Available for Summer Connecticut Primary http://wnpr.org/post/absentee-ballots-available-summer-connecticut-primary <p>Absentee ballots are now available for Connecticut's upcoming primary election.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 14:17:16 +0000 Associated Press 25768 at http://wnpr.org Absentee Ballots Available for Summer Connecticut Primary Landmark State Education Lawsuit Delayed http://wnpr.org/post/landmark-state-education-lawsuit-delayed <p>The Connecticut Coalition for Justice in Education Funding has agreed to delay the start of a landmark education lawsuit that challenges the way Connecticut funds its public schools.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 13:54:44 +0000 Diane Orson 25765 at http://wnpr.org Landmark State Education Lawsuit Delayed New Study Reveals Marked Increase in Connecticut Children Living In Poverty http://wnpr.org/post/new-study-reveals-marked-increase-connecticut-children-living-poverty <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The number of Connecticut children living in poverty has increased 50 percent since 1990, according to a new report.</span></p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 12:30:37 +0000 Ray Hardman 25729 at http://wnpr.org New Study Reveals Marked Increase in Connecticut Children Living In Poverty Inspired by Ancient Sculpture and Creation Myths, Pilobolus's "On The Nature of Things" http://wnpr.org/post/inspired-ancient-sculpture-and-creation-myths-piloboluss-nature-things <p>Emerging from the shadows carrying a lifeless naked body, a primal-like figure takes a deliberate path in slow procession to center stage. When he finally arrives at the pool of white light, he lays down the load onto a jet-black pedestal, an altar of some kind; and this, his offering to someone, somewhere.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 12:16:36 +0000 Ed Wierzbicki 25686 at http://wnpr.org Inspired by Ancient Sculpture and Creation Myths, Pilobolus's "On The Nature of Things" Federal Courts Weigh in on Obamacare Subsidies http://wnpr.org/post/federal-courts-weigh-obamacare-subsidies <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Should the federal government help Americans pay for their new health insurance plans under the Affordable Care Act? That's a question being tackled in courts across the country. T</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">wo of them have issued very different rulings.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:44:35 +0000 Jeff Cohen 25713 at http://wnpr.org Federal Courts Weigh in on Obamacare Subsidies Debris From Sandy Targeted in Northeast Marshes http://wnpr.org/post/debris-sandy-targeted-northeast-marshes <p>Nearly two years after Superstorm Sandy pounded the northeast, communities in Connecticut, New York, and Rhode Island are preparing to track down and remove debris from marshland.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:33:37 +0000 Associated Press 25728 at http://wnpr.org Debris From Sandy Targeted in Northeast Marshes Bridgeport and New Haven Weigh Whether to House Migrant Children http://wnpr.org/post/bridgeport-and-new-haven-weigh-whether-house-migrant-children <p>The mayors of&nbsp;Connecticut's cities will take part in a conference call this week to discuss whether their communities have space to host some of the children from&nbsp;Central America&nbsp;who have been flooding the U.S. border.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 19:15:11 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 25704 at http://wnpr.org Bridgeport and New Haven Weigh Whether to House Migrant Children What's Behind the Connecticut-Made Brand? http://wnpr.org/post/whats-behind-connecticut-made-brand <p>What consumer product comes to mind when you&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">think of Vermont? Maple syrup, Cabot cheese, or Ben &amp; Jerry’s, perhaps? If that's what comes up in a kind of consumer word association, marketing gurus would nod their heads knowingly. </span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A strong product is great, but if you don’t build a strong brand, it won't sell. How are businesses and policy makers branding Connecticut-made products?</span></p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 17:51:25 +0000 Sujata Srinivasan 25666 at http://wnpr.org What's Behind the Connecticut-Made Brand? Stonington State Sen. Andrew Maynard in Serious Condition After Injury http://wnpr.org/post/stonington-state-sen-andrew-maynard-serious-condition-after-injury <p>A state senator from Stonington is in serious condition at a Rhode Island hospital after falling from an outside staircase at his home.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 12:55:17 +0000 Heather Brandon 25684 at http://wnpr.org Stonington State Sen. Andrew Maynard in Serious Condition After Injury Monitoring Marine Life in the Atlantic, From Water and From Orbit http://wnpr.org/post/monitoring-marine-life-atlantic-water-and-orbit <p>NASA has begun a new experiment to monitor plankton off the Atlantic coast using boats, airplanes, and satellites.</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 12:16:00 +0000 Patrick Skahill 25642 at http://wnpr.org Monitoring Marine Life in the Atlantic, From Water and From Orbit Protesters Rally, Speak Against Hartford Baseball Stadium Proposal http://wnpr.org/post/protesters-rally-speak-against-hartford-baseball-stadium-proposal <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">About 50 people opposed to plans for a new minor league baseball stadium in Hartford held a march and protest Monday.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 23:11:42 +0000 Jeff Cohen 25665 at http://wnpr.org Protesters Rally, Speak Against Hartford Baseball Stadium Proposal Murphy: Europe Should Impose a "Crippling Round of Sanctions" Against Russia http://wnpr.org/post/murphy-europe-should-impose-crippling-round-sanctions-against-russia <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On Monday at the White House, President Obama urged Russian President </span>Vladmir<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Putin to order Russian separatists in Ukraine to allow international investigators unfettered access to the crash site of Malaysian Airlines Flight </span>MH17<span style="line-height: 1.5;">.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:18:31 +0000 Ray Hardman 25643 at http://wnpr.org Murphy: Europe Should Impose a "Crippling Round of Sanctions" Against Russia Governor Malloy Reconsiders Decision on Helping Migrant Children http://wnpr.org/post/governor-malloy-reconsiders-decision-helping-migrant-children <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Werner&nbsp;</span>Oyanadel<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, Executive Director of </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Connecticut's Latino and Puerto Rican Affairs Commission,</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> said on Monday that Latino and Puerto Rican advocates in Connecticut were disappointed with Governor </span>Dannel<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Malloy's refusal to temporarily house 2,000 of the 52,000 Central American children requested by the federal government.&nbsp;</span></p><p>They made sure their disappointment caught the attention of the governor.</p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:02:58 +0000 Betsy Kaplan 25640 at http://wnpr.org Governor Malloy Reconsiders Decision on Helping Migrant Children For Stadium, Hartford to Buy Back Land It Once Owned http://wnpr.org/post/stadium-hartford-buy-back-land-it-once-owned <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Hartford Mayor Pedro </span>Segarra<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> needs to buy two acres of vacant land to help make his plan for a minor league baseball stadium a reality. That land, however, has a complicated history.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 19:58:42 +0000 Jeff Cohen 25639 at http://wnpr.org For Stadium, Hartford to Buy Back Land It Once Owned World Breaks Monthly Heat Record Two Times in a Row http://wnpr.org/post/world-breaks-monthly-heat-record-two-times-row <p>The globe is on a hot streak, setting a heat record in June.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">That's after the world broke a record in May.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 19:25:57 +0000 Associated Press 25635 at http://wnpr.org World Breaks Monthly Heat Record Two Times in a Row