News http://wnpr.org en White House Says "Continuation," Murphy Says "War" http://wnpr.org/post/white-house-says-continuation-murphy-says-war <p>As the conflict between Ukraine and Russia continues to escalate, Democratic U.S. Senator Chris Murphy wants to call it what it is: a war.</p><p> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 18:05:52 +0000 Tucker Ives 27752 at http://wnpr.org White House Says "Continuation," Murphy Says "War" Lt. Col. Morris "Moose" Fontenot Identified as Pilot in Fatal F-15 Crash http://wnpr.org/post/lt-col-morris-moose-fontenot-identified-pilot-fatal-f-15-crash <p>The Massachusetts Air National Guard has released the name of the pilot who died Wednesday when his F-15 crashed in rural Virginia.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 17:13:40 +0000 Sam Hudzik 27725 at http://wnpr.org Lt. Col. Morris "Moose" Fontenot Identified as Pilot in Fatal F-15 Crash Federal Regulators Rap Faulty Water Pump at Millstone http://wnpr.org/post/federal-regulators-rap-faulty-water-pump-millstone <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">F</span>ederal regulators say they could impose more inspections and greater oversight of Connecticut's nuclear power plant due to repeated problems with a critical water pump.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 15:27:48 +0000 Associated Press 27747 at http://wnpr.org Federal Regulators Rap Faulty Water Pump at Millstone Foxwoods Bets on Retail http://wnpr.org/post/foxwoods-bets-retail <p>Foxwoods unveils its newly revamped retail concourse on Friday, the first of two big retail projects the gaming giant has in progress.</p><p> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 13:38:50 +0000 Harriet Jones 27731 at http://wnpr.org Foxwoods Bets on Retail Connecticut Law: Failure to Register Weapons a Misdemeanor, Not a Felony http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-law-failure-register-weapons-misdemeanor-not-felony <p>Connecticut's new gun control law says gun owners who failed to register their now-banned assault weapons by a January deadline face a misdemeanor charge, not a felony as described by Republican governor candidate Tom Foley in Wednesday night's debate.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 12:14:39 +0000 Associated Press 27723 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Law: Failure to Register Weapons a Misdemeanor, Not a Felony Hartford Cuts Funding to Homeless Shelter http://wnpr.org/post/hartford-cuts-funding-homeless-shelter <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The city of Hartford recently cut $100,000 from a homeless shelter as part of its effort to keep taxes down and avoid layoffs. </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Hartford Mayor Pedro </span>Segarra<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> said he's still hoping find money to undo the cut.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 28 Aug 2014 19:47:41 +0000 Jeff Cohen 27688 at http://wnpr.org Hartford Cuts Funding to Homeless Shelter "Woody Sez," the Life and Music of Woody Guthrie at Theaterworks in Hartford http://wnpr.org/post/woody-sez-life-and-music-woody-guthrie-theaterworks-hartford <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Legendary American folk singer/activist Woody Guthrie, is&nbsp;<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxiMrvDbq3s" target="_blank">best known for his classic song, "This Land is Your Land."</a>&nbsp;All of his</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;music gives voice to a restless and profoundly American search for freedom: artistically, politically, and personally.</span></p><p> Thu, 28 Aug 2014 15:26:12 +0000 Diane Orson 27648 at http://wnpr.org "Woody Sez," the Life and Music of Woody Guthrie at Theaterworks in Hartford Fighter Jet Based in Westfield, Massachusetts Crashes in Virginia; Details Unclear http://wnpr.org/post/fighter-jet-based-westfield-massachusetts-crashes-virginia-details-unclear <p>An F-15C jet based at the Barnes Air National Guard Base in Westfield, Massachusetts crashed Wednesday morning in Virginia, according to a statement from Barnes.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Many details remain unclear about the crash</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 28 Aug 2014 14:00:03 +0000 Henry Epps 27669 at http://wnpr.org Fighter Jet Based in Westfield, Massachusetts Crashes in Virginia; Details Unclear Malloy, Foley Spar in First Debate of 2014 http://wnpr.org/post/malloy-foley-spar-first-debate-2014 <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">The first debate between Connecticut’s two major party candidates for governor produced few surprises, as Tom Foley and Dannel Malloy tackled recurring issues, including gun control and economic development.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 28 Aug 2014 03:56:32 +0000 Harriet Jones & Heather Brandon 27644 at http://wnpr.org Malloy, Foley Spar in First Debate of 2014 Connecticut Utility Rate Increases Discussed at Hearing http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-utility-rate-increases-discussed-hearing <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A fight is brewing over a request by Connecticut's largest utility to raise rates by $232 million to upgrade equipment following destructive storms. The first of three related public hearings took place on Wednesday</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p> Wed, 27 Aug 2014 18:56:13 +0000 Heather Brandon & Ray Hardman 27607 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Utility Rate Increases Discussed at Hearing Watch: Charismatic Beluga in Mystic Entertains Kids, Highlights Research http://wnpr.org/post/watch-charismatic-beluga-mystic-entertains-kids-highlights-research <p>A new viral video depicting a juvenile beluga whale playing peek-a-boo with a child is drawing attention to Mystic Aquarium's arctic animals.</p><p> Wed, 27 Aug 2014 18:25:58 +0000 Patrick Skahill 27620 at http://wnpr.org Watch: Charismatic Beluga in Mystic Entertains Kids, Highlights Research Guitarist Bucky Pizzarelli Shows Old Lyme Fans Why Everybody Loves Him http://wnpr.org/post/guitarist-bucky-pizzarelli-shows-old-lyme-fans-why-everybody-loves-him <p>Many years ago, a young pianist named <a href="http://www.billevanssax.com/" target="_blank">Bill Evans</a> recorded an LP called <em>Everybody Digs Bill Evans,</em> one of those rare album titles that is forever memorable and also somehow a concise summation and mini-portrait of the artist himself.</p> Wed, 27 Aug 2014 17:44:32 +0000 Owen McNally 27605 at http://wnpr.org Guitarist Bucky Pizzarelli Shows Old Lyme Fans Why Everybody Loves Him Work-Related Illnesses Fall in Connecticut http://wnpr.org/post/work-related-illnesses-fall-connecticut <p>The number of workers sickened on the job in Connecticut has declined slightly, according to a new study by UConn. Occupational illnesses in the state, however, remain more prevalent than the national average.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 27 Aug 2014 17:23:08 +0000 Harriet Jones 27616 at http://wnpr.org Work-Related Illnesses Fall in Connecticut Researchers Take a Closer Look at Endometriosis, a Leading Cause of Infertility http://wnpr.org/post/researchers-take-closer-look-endometriosis-leading-cause-infertility <p>Researchers in New York are taking a closer look at endometriosis. It's a disease that's not often talked about, but it affects one in ten women in the U.S., and 176 million women worldwide.</p><p> Wed, 27 Aug 2014 12:57:41 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 27582 at http://wnpr.org Researchers Take a Closer Look at Endometriosis, a Leading Cause of Infertility Head of Access Health CT to Leave for Federal Job http://wnpr.org/post/head-access-health-ct-leave-federal-job <p>With open enrollment for the next round of the Affordable Care Act just three months away, the Department of Health and Human Services has a picked a new CEO for healthcare.gov, and he comes from Connecticut. &nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 27 Aug 2014 01:13:00 +0000 Jeff Cohen 27552 at http://wnpr.org Head of Access Health CT to Leave for Federal Job Blaze Destroys New Haven Pub http://wnpr.org/post/blaze-destroys-new-haven-pub <p>Firefighters are continuing to put out hot spots at a New Haven pub that went up in flames and has been declared a total loss.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 26 Aug 2014 12:05:14 +0000 Heather Brandon 27547 at http://wnpr.org Blaze Destroys New Haven Pub Blumenthal Says Child Migrants Deserve Fair Asylum Proceedings http://wnpr.org/post/blumenthal-says-child-migrants-deserve-fair-asylum-proceedings <p><span style="font-size: small; line-height: 1.5;">The flood of unaccompanied minors crossing the U.S. border from Central America has slowed from a record high earlier this summer.</span></p><p><span style="font-size: small;">When members of Congress return from summer recess, though, they'll still have to vote on how much money should be spent to deal with the migrants already here.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 25 Aug 2014 20:27:48 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 27512 at http://wnpr.org Blumenthal Says Child Migrants Deserve Fair Asylum Proceedings What's the Best Way to Manage a Pesticide-Free Athletic Field? http://wnpr.org/post/whats-best-way-manage-pesticide-free-athletic-field <p>Researchers at UConn are investigating the feasibility of managing grade school athletic fields without pesticides. It's science that could one day inform state law.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 25 Aug 2014 20:01:01 +0000 Patrick Skahill 27508 at http://wnpr.org What's the Best Way to Manage a Pesticide-Free Athletic Field? Jonathan Pelto Doesn't Expect to Make Ballot http://wnpr.org/post/jonathan-pelto-doesnt-expect-make-ballot <p>Since he launched his campaign for governor, Jonathan Pelto&nbsp;was criticized by Democrats for being a "spoiler" to Governor&nbsp;Dannel Malloy this November.&nbsp;Pelto admits, though, that it's "increasingly likely that we will fall short" of the 7,500 signatures needed to make the ballot.</p><p> Mon, 25 Aug 2014 12:25:38 +0000 Tucker Ives 27494 at http://wnpr.org Jonathan Pelto Doesn't Expect to Make Ballot Malloy Calls Hartford Police Officer's Use of Taser "Inappropriate" http://wnpr.org/post/malloy-calls-hartford-police-officers-use-taser-inappropriate <p>Hartford Police are still investigating an incident from last week in which a police officer used a stun gun on a city teenager. The family has called the use of force unnecessary.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p>Members of community gathered to discuss the incident on Friday night, and Governor&nbsp;Dannel Malloy said he thought the use of the Taser was inappropriate.&nbsp;</p><p> Sun, 24 Aug 2014 12:08:21 +0000 Jeff Cohen 27415 at http://wnpr.org Malloy Calls Hartford Police Officer's Use of Taser "Inappropriate" Hartford Stadium Gathering May Have Violated State Public Meeting Laws http://wnpr.org/post/hartford-stadium-gathering-may-have-violated-state-public-meeting-laws <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Officials from the city of Hartford held a meeting Thursday to discuss proposals to build a new baseball stadium. That gathering, however, appears to have violated the state's laws governing public meetings.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 22 Aug 2014 18:53:31 +0000 Jeff Cohen 27391 at http://wnpr.org Hartford Stadium Gathering May Have Violated State Public Meeting Laws State Sells Historic Litchfield County Jail http://wnpr.org/post/state-sells-historic-litchfield-county-jail <p>The state of Connecticut has sold the historic former Litchfield County jail to a real estate investor for $130,000.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 22 Aug 2014 16:14:32 +0000 Heather Brandon 27378 at http://wnpr.org State Sells Historic Litchfield County Jail Citizen Science Project at Trinity College Taps Trained Eyes of Veterans http://wnpr.org/post/citizen-science-project-trinity-college-taps-trained-eyes-veterans <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Researchers at Trinity College are snapping pictures of animals at compost piles as part of an ongoing biology project. They've been getting lots of pictures, and they're now hoping a new group can help analyze them: veterans.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 22 Aug 2014 14:11:55 +0000 Patrick Skahill 27337 at http://wnpr.org Citizen Science Project at Trinity College Taps Trained Eyes of Veterans Connecticut Companies Make "Fastest-Growing" List http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-companies-make-fastest-growing-list <p>Three Connecticut companies are among the 500 fastest growing businesses in the nation. That’s according to the latest ranking by Inc. magazine.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 22 Aug 2014 11:47:47 +0000 Harriet Jones 27365 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Companies Make "Fastest-Growing" List Infinity Hall Opens in Hartford http://wnpr.org/post/infinity-hall-opens-hartford <p>Downtown Hartford now has a new music venue, as Thursday was the grand opening of the Infinity Music Hall and Bistro.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 21 Aug 2014 20:34:06 +0000 Jeff Cohen 27336 at http://wnpr.org Infinity Hall Opens in Hartford Outdoor Concert Celebrates the Life and Career of Tenor Sergio Franchi http://wnpr.org/post/outdoor-concert-celebrates-life-and-career-tenor-sergio-franchi <p>This weekend marks the 20th annual <a href="http://www.sergiofranchi.com/">Sergio Franchi&nbsp;Memorial Concert</a> on the grounds of the late tenor's estate in Stonington.</p><p> Thu, 21 Aug 2014 17:40:29 +0000 Ray Hardman 27313 at http://wnpr.org Outdoor Concert Celebrates the Life and Career of Tenor Sergio Franchi UNH/Lyme Academy Merger to Offer Students New Forms Of Expression http://wnpr.org/post/unhlyme-academy-merger-offer-students-new-forms-expression <p>University of New Haven President Steven Kaplan <a href="http://www.newhaven.edu/news-events/news-releases/2014-2015/790512/" target="_blank">said the school’s recently announced merger with the Lyme Academy College of Fine Arts</a> will offer students from both institutions an opportunity to explore new forms of expression.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 21 Aug 2014 13:59:04 +0000 Diane Orson 27309 at http://wnpr.org UNH/Lyme Academy Merger to Offer Students New Forms Of Expression New Britain Says Rock Cats Have Paid Back Taxes http://wnpr.org/post/new-britain-says-rock-cats-have-paid-back-taxes <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Josh Solomon, the owner of the minor league New Britain Rock Cats, has paid the city $164,569.26 in back taxes for its baseball stadium, the city said in a press release.</span></p><p> Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:28:57 +0000 Jeff Cohen 27266 at http://wnpr.org New Britain Says Rock Cats Have Paid Back Taxes Biden, in East Hartford, Says Manufacturing Jobs Are Coming Back http://wnpr.org/post/biden-east-hartford-says-manufacturing-jobs-are-coming-back <p>Vice President Joe Biden said manufacturing jobs are coming back to the U.S., but workers need the right training to fill those positions.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 20 Aug 2014 18:20:46 +0000 Heather Brandon 27260 at http://wnpr.org Biden, in East Hartford, Says Manufacturing Jobs Are Coming Back Adventurous Singer Kavita Shah's Fresh Take on World Music at Side Door Jazz Club http://wnpr.org/post/adventurous-singer-kavita-shahs-fresh-take-world-music-side-door-jazz-club <p>An artist of many parts, <a href="http://www.kavitashahmusic.com/" target="_blank">Kavita Shah</a>, an ascending, young singer/songwriter of Indian descent, applies her keen, empathetic intelligence, ethereally beautiful voice and adventurous spirit by using global music and multi-cultural influences as sources of inspiration for expressing her personal and cultural identity on her adventurous debut album aptly titled <em>Visions</em>.</p><p> Wed, 20 Aug 2014 17:43:10 +0000 Owen McNally 27147 at http://wnpr.org Adventurous Singer Kavita Shah's Fresh Take on World Music at Side Door Jazz Club