Fairfield Region http://wnpr.org en Bridgeport and New Haven Weigh Whether to House Migrant Children http://wnpr.org/post/bridgeport-and-new-haven-weigh-whether-house-migrant-children <p>The mayors of&nbsp;Connecticut's cities will take part in a conference call this week to discuss whether their communities have space to host some of the children from&nbsp;Central America&nbsp;who have been flooding the U.S. border.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 19:15:11 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 25704 at http://wnpr.org Bridgeport and New Haven Weigh Whether to House Migrant Children World Cup Fever Grips Brazilians Living in Danbury http://wnpr.org/post/world-cup-fever-grips-brazilians-living-danbury <p>On Tuesday, Brazil faces Germany in a World Cup semifinal match. For thousands of Brazilians living in Danbury, the game is a chance to gather, eat barbeque, and cheer on their native team.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 16:30:47 +0000 Ray Hardman 24915 at http://wnpr.org World Cup Fever Grips Brazilians Living in Danbury How Effective Is Bridgeport's Youth Curfew? http://wnpr.org/post/how-effective-bridgeports-youth-curfew <p>The trial of the alleged killer of a 14-year old Bridgeport youth began Monday. Justin Thompson was one of three teens killed amid a spate of deadly violence in the city in 2012.</p><p>Following calls by residents for better police protection, Bridgeport imposed a youth curfew that year. For the past two years, <a href="http://www.bridgeportct.gov/filestorage/89019/89755/90919/Curfew_Resource_Guide.pdf" target="_blank">kids under age 18 have needed permission from a parent or legal guardian to be on the streets after 11:00 pm</a> on weeknights, and after midnight on weekends.</p><p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 13:44:24 +0000 Diane Orson 24163 at http://wnpr.org How Effective Is Bridgeport's Youth Curfew? Fairfield County a Mecca for Foreign Investment http://wnpr.org/post/fairfield-county-mecca-foreign-investment <p>Fairfield County had the highest proportion of employment provided by foreign-owned companies of any metro region in the country. The figures came in a new study on the impact of overseas investment in the U.S.</p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 11:50:52 +0000 Harriet Jones 23976 at http://wnpr.org Fairfield County a Mecca for Foreign Investment Metro-North Service Resumed Through Fairfield After Suspicious Package http://wnpr.org/post/metro-north-service-resumed-through-fairfield-after-suspicious-package <p>Metro-North Railroad said train service was temporarily suspended through Fairfield while authorities investigated a suspicious package near the station.</p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 11:36:26 +0000 Associated Press 23975 at http://wnpr.org Metro-North Service Resumed Through Fairfield After Suspicious Package Malloy Pledges Bridge Operations Review to Address Metro-North Disruptions http://wnpr.org/post/malloy-pledges-bridge-operations-review-address-metro-north-disruptions <p>Governor Dannel Malloy, Senator Richard Blumenthal and other leaders met in New York City on Monday to discuss the latest problem for Connecticut rail travel.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">The 118-year-old Walk Bridge in Norwalk has gotten stuck in the open position twice in recent days, leading to major Metro-North and Amtrak delays.</span></p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 19:13:40 +0000 Heather Brandon 23295 at http://wnpr.org Malloy Pledges Bridge Operations Review to Address Metro-North Disruptions Children's Book Authors, Illustrators Visit Newtown http://wnpr.org/post/childrens-book-authors-illustrators-visit-newtown <p>Some of America's favorite children’s book authors will visit Newtown this weekend including the creators of <em>Diary of A Wimpy Kid</em>, <em>Ella Enchanted, </em>and <em>The Spiderwick Chronicles</em>. They’ll go to schools and talk with students on Friday and participate Saturday in panels and workshops.</p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 18:01:07 +0000 Diane Orson 23123 at http://wnpr.org Children's Book Authors, Illustrators Visit Newtown Crackdown On Danbury-Area Distracted Drivers http://wnpr.org/post/crackdown-danbury-area-distracted-drivers <p>The fourth and final crackdown on distracted drivers is being held in the Danbury area.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 15:37:08 +0000 Associated Press 23113 at http://wnpr.org Crackdown On Danbury-Area Distracted Drivers The "Fitch Phoenix" Goes Up For Auction In Greenwich http://wnpr.org/post/fitch-phoenix-goes-auction-greenwich <p>A one-of-a-kind automobile built by a Connecticut icon goes on the <a href="http://www.bonhams.com/auctions/21916/">auction block</a> this weekend.</p><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 16:35:59 +0000 Ray Hardman 22789 at http://wnpr.org The "Fitch Phoenix" Goes Up For Auction In Greenwich Bridgeport Police Respond to Arrest Video http://wnpr.org/post/bridgeport-police-respond-arrest-video <p>Bridgeport police are defending the actions of a police officer shown in an Internet video forcefully arresting a teenager.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 17:28:01 +0000 John Dankosky & Heather Brandon 22654 at http://wnpr.org Bridgeport Police Respond to Arrest Video Reports: Royal Bank of Scotland to Slash Hundreds of U.S. Jobs http://wnpr.org/post/reports-royal-bank-scotland-slash-hundreds-us-jobs <p>The Royal Bank of Scotland could lay off hundreds of its U.S. employees, according to new reports. The company has its North American headquarters in Stamford.</p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 12:45:40 +0000 Harriet Jones 22642 at http://wnpr.org Reports: Royal Bank of Scotland to Slash Hundreds of U.S. Jobs Starwood Gets $30 Million Hospitality Package From State http://wnpr.org/post/starwood-gets-30-million-hospitality-package-state <p>The Starwood Hotel group said it will create 340 new jobs at its Stamford headquarters, bringing its total workforce in the city's Harbor Point to more than 1,300.</p><p> Fri, 23 May 2014 13:24:15 +0000 Harriet Jones 22389 at http://wnpr.org Starwood Gets $30 Million Hospitality Package From State Bridgeport Students Work With Legendary Artist Chuck Close http://wnpr.org/post/bridgeport-students-work-legendary-artist-chuck-close <p>Three years ago, members of the President’s Committee on the Arts and Humanities identified eight of the lowest-performing schools in the country, and enrolled them in <a href="http://turnaroundarts.pcah.gov/" target="_blank">a new program called the Turnaround Arts Initiative</a>. The goal: to prove that arts education could improve academic achievement and overall school culture.</p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 09:56:00 +0000 Diane Orson 22257 at http://wnpr.org Bridgeport Students Work With Legendary Artist Chuck Close Finding a New Business Paradigm For Connecticut Non-Profits http://wnpr.org/post/finding-new-business-paradigm-connecticut-non-profits <p>Giving to good causes is something many of us think about at the end of the year, as we send off a donation to a non-profit that we support. But what if you had the means and business expertise get more deeply involved in the work of your chosen cause? A new organization in Connecticut wants to harness that kind of talent.</p><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 17:45:53 +0000 Harriet Jones 22259 at http://wnpr.org Finding a New Business Paradigm For Connecticut Non-Profits Israeli Trio Fuses Modern Jazz With Middle Eastern Sounds In Connecticut Debut http://wnpr.org/post/israeli-trio-fuses-modern-jazz-middle-eastern-sounds-connecticut-debut <p>While playing his weekly gig at Manhattan’s Caffe Vivaldi some four years ago, pianist <a href="http://www.assafgleizner.com/" target="_blank">Assaf Gleizner</a>, a Tel Aviv native, decided to please his parents by mixing traditional Israeli folk music with the modern jazz fare that he and his fellow Israeli sidemen, <a href="http://www.kobyhayon.com/ka/" target="_blank">Koby Hayon</a> and <a href="http://originarts.com/oa2/artists/artist.php?Artist_ID=86" target="_blank">Nadav Snir-Zelniker</a>, were to serve that night at the popular West Village restaurant and live music hot spot.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 16:04:33 +0000 Owen McNally 22235 at http://wnpr.org Israeli Trio Fuses Modern Jazz With Middle Eastern Sounds In Connecticut Debut Shakespeare Theater in Stratford Looking For New Management http://wnpr.org/post/shakespeare-theater-stratford-looking-new-management <p style="margin-bottom: 0in">If you want to manage a once-popular theater that has hosted stars like Katharine Hepburn and James Earl Jones, the town of Stratford wants to hear from you.</p><p> Mon, 12 May 2014 13:58:14 +0000 Alan Yu 21577 at http://wnpr.org Shakespeare Theater in Stratford Looking For New Management Mental Health 101: Program Helps Police Intervene In Crises http://wnpr.org/post/mental-health-101-program-helps-police-intervene-crises How do you tell the difference between someone who needs to be taken to jail and someone who needs to be taken to the hospital? It can be a delicate situation to decipher, and it's been a big <a href="http://wnpr.org/topic/mental-health">concern</a> in Connecticut since the Newtown shootings of 2012.<p>Lance Newkirchen, a regular patrol officer in the town of Fairfield, is also specifically trained to respond to mental health calls. Fri, 09 May 2014 12:26:00 +0000 Jeff Cohen 21512 at http://wnpr.org Mental Health 101: Program Helps Police Intervene In Crises How a Stamford Startup Is Disrupting the Online Ad Market http://wnpr.org/post/how-stamford-startup-disrupting-online-ad-market <p>Do you ever wonder how the banner ad that pops up on your favorite website gets there, and who chooses what you’ll see?</p><p>At the moment, the buying and selling of digital ads is largely controlled by big legacy agencies. But there’s a tiny upstart company in Stamford that wants to disrupt the growing market.</p><p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 13:54:48 +0000 Harriet Jones 20978 at http://wnpr.org How a Stamford Startup Is Disrupting the Online Ad Market Training Connecticut Police in Mental Health 101 http://wnpr.org/post/training-connecticut-police-mental-health-101 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">How do you tell the difference between someone who needs to be taken to jail and someone who needs to be taken to the hospital? That’s a big concern in Connecticut, where the intersection of law enforcement and mental health has been a huge issue since the Newtown shootings of 2012.&nbsp;</span></p><p>WNPR spent time with police officers to learn about their training in mental health.</p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 03:45:00 +0000 Jeff Cohen 20318 at http://wnpr.org Training Connecticut Police in Mental Health 101 Singer Marianne Solivan Brings Subtle, Soulful Style to Hartford http://wnpr.org/post/singer-marianne-solivan-brings-subtle-soulful-style-hartford <p>Besides possessing a lovely instrument of a voice graced with rich, sensuous timbres, <a href="http://www.mariannesolivanjazz.com/" target="_blank">Marianne Solivan is a gifted, wise singer</a> who never feels compelled to use her ample skills to push the envelope so hard that she murders the enclosed message in the song.</p><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 17:21:33 +0000 Owen McNally 20173 at http://wnpr.org Singer Marianne Solivan Brings Subtle, Soulful Style to Hartford Sale in Greenwich of What May Be the Most Expensive Single-Family Home in U.S. http://wnpr.org/post/sale-greenwich-what-may-be-most-expensive-single-family-home-us <p>When the Copper Beech Farm in Greenwich went on the market last spring at an asking price of $190 million dollars, it was the most expensive single-family home ever to hit the American market. Many people thought it wouldn’t close at nine figures. But it has.</p><p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 13:29:45 +0000 Diane Orson 20192 at http://wnpr.org Sale in Greenwich of What May Be the Most Expensive Single-Family Home in U.S. Former Bridgeport Mayor Denied Law License http://wnpr.org/post/former-bridgeport-mayor-denied-law-license <p>The Connecticut Supreme Court has upheld a decision denying a law license for former Bridgeport Mayor Joseph Ganim, who was convicted of corruption.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 17:31:24 +0000 Associated Press 19921 at http://wnpr.org Former Bridgeport Mayor Denied Law License How Does a Four-Inch Eel Hurdle a 40-Foot Greenwich Dam? http://wnpr.org/post/how-does-four-inch-eel-hurdle-40-foot-greenwich-dam <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Baby eels are making their annual migration from Long Island Sound to rivers across Connecticut, but along the way, they're encountering one persistent obstacle: river dams. Now, one man in Greenwich is working to make the eels' journey a little easier.</span></p><p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 16:07:49 +0000 Patrick Skahill 19771 at http://wnpr.org How Does a Four-Inch Eel Hurdle a 40-Foot Greenwich Dam? Feds Arrest Bridgeport Resident in Alleged Bomb Plot http://wnpr.org/post/feds-arrest-bridgeport-resident-alleged-bomb-plot <p>Federal officials said they arrested a Moroccan national living in Connecticut in an alleged plot to fly bombs on drone-like devices into a school and a federal building.</p><p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 15:26:21 +0000 Heather Brandon 19773 at http://wnpr.org Feds Arrest Bridgeport Resident in Alleged Bomb Plot Connecticut to Open First P-TECH School in Norwalk http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-open-first-p-tech-school-norwalk <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">State officials are to announce today that Connecticut’s first P-TECH model school will open in September.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">P-TECH stands for Pathways in Technology Early College High School, and by the start of the next academic year there will be about 27 of these schools across the country.</span></p><p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 12:57:31 +0000 Diane Orson 19586 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut to Open First P-TECH School in Norwalk Connecticut State Board of Education Approves Four New Charter Schools http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-state-board-education-approves-four-new-charter-schools <p>The Connecticut State Board of Education has approved four new charter schools, including two in Bridgeport.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 15:24:21 +0000 Associated Press 19529 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut State Board of Education Approves Four New Charter Schools Bridgeport Town Council Gives OK to Solar Project http://wnpr.org/post/bridgeport-town-council-gives-ok-solar-project <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">With a 15-5 vote, Bridgeport's City Council approved a massive solar energy project this week that could bring thousands of solar panels to a former city landfill. Since dumps are no longer allowed in Connecticut, that's left a lot of city leaders wondering what to do with that old space.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 15:59:09 +0000 Patrick Skahill 18811 at http://wnpr.org Bridgeport Town Council Gives OK to Solar Project Volunteer-Built Playground in Hartford Celebrates Sandy Hook Shooting Victim http://wnpr.org/post/volunteer-built-playground-hartford-celebrates-sandy-hook-shooting-victim <p><font size="2">A corner of a Hartford's Elizabeth Park became a construction site last weekend, but this wasn't just any ordinary project. </font></p><p><font size="2">Even on a chilly day in March, hundreds of people came to watch. The organizers hope the community will continue to feel a strong connection to the playground that was built.</font></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0in"><font size="2">A group called the Sandy Ground Project <a href="http://www.thesandygroundproject.org/" target="_blank">is building 26 playgrounds as living memorials</a> to the children who died in the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School in 2012.&nbsp;</font></p><p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 10:02:00 +0000 Alan Yu 18569 at http://wnpr.org Volunteer-Built Playground in Hartford Celebrates Sandy Hook Shooting Victim There Are Over 1,000 Billionaires Worldwide -- and Connecticut Has 13 of Them http://wnpr.org/post/there-are-over-1000-billionaires-worldwide-and-connecticut-has-13-them <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Thirteen Connecticut residents appear on<a href="http://www.forbes.com/billionaires/" target="_blank"> this year's list of the nation's billionaires</a>, compiled by Forbes Magazine. The list, released annually, includes 1,645 billionaires worldwide.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 15:02:58 +0000 Heather Brandon & Tess Aaronson & Anna Novak 17930 at http://wnpr.org There Are Over 1,000 Billionaires Worldwide -- and Connecticut Has 13 of Them Metro-North Improvement Plans Emerge; Keno Repeal Gets a Hearing http://wnpr.org/post/metro-north-improvement-plans-emerge-keno-repeal-gets-hearing <p><iframe allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/_3bAHUjw6nE?list=UUdeV_lmPe3Ne21BmkhTb1xw" width="560"></iframe></p><p>Metro-North President Joseph Giulietti sent his 100-day plan to state Transportation Commissioner James Redeker on Monday. Giulietti is promising to rebuild a culture of safety at Metro-North to serve as the railroad’s "unshakeable foundation." He agreed to a 100-day plan to improve the railroad’s safety and operational performance in meeting with Governor Dannel Malloy last month.</p><p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 23:12:34 +0000 Teri McCready 17897 at http://wnpr.org