Russia http://wnpr.org en Ukrainian Troops Said Poised To Retake Rebel-Held Donetsk http://wnpr.org/post/ukrainian-troops-said-poised-retake-rebel-held-donetsk Ukrainian forces were reportedly advancing on rebel positions near the key eastern town of Donetsk on Saturday, as they try to retake the separatist stronghold.<p>Donetsk is the region where Malaysia Airlines MH17 was shot down on July 17, killing nearly 300 people. Sat, 26 Jul 2014 19:34:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 25961 at http://wnpr.org Ukrainian Troops Said Poised To Retake Rebel-Held Donetsk U.S.: Russia-Based Artillery Targeting Ukrainian Troops http://wnpr.org/post/us-russia-based-artillery-targeting-ukrainian-troops The U.S. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 19:20:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 25853 at http://wnpr.org U.S.: Russia-Based Artillery Targeting Ukrainian Troops Train Carrying MH17 Victims' Remains Arrives In Government-Controlled City http://wnpr.org/post/train-carrying-mh17-victims-remains-arrives-kharkiv A refrigerated train carrying the remains of the people who died aboard the downed Malaysia Airlines plane arrived in Kharkiv, Ukraine, on Tuesday. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 12:12:00 +0000 editor 25679 at http://wnpr.org Train Carrying MH17 Victims' Remains Arrives In Government-Controlled City Flight MH17: Black Boxes And Bodies Handed Over; U.N. Calls For Inquiry http://wnpr.org/post/flight-mh17-black-boxes-and-bodies-handed-over-un-calls-inquiry <strong>This post was last updated at 7:10 p.m. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 21:18:03 +0000 Bill Chappell 25655 at http://wnpr.org Flight MH17: Black Boxes And Bodies Handed Over; U.N. Calls For Inquiry Murphy: Europe Should Impose a "Crippling Round of Sanctions" Against Russia http://wnpr.org/post/murphy-europe-should-impose-crippling-round-sanctions-against-russia <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On Monday at the White House, President Obama urged Russian President </span>Vladmir<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Putin to order Russian separatists in Ukraine to allow international investigators unfettered access to the crash site of Malaysian Airlines Flight </span>MH17<span style="line-height: 1.5;">.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:18:31 +0000 Ray Hardman 25643 at http://wnpr.org Murphy: Europe Should Impose a "Crippling Round of Sanctions" Against Russia Obama Urges Putin to Push for Unhindered Probe of Plane Crash Site in Ukraine http://wnpr.org/post/obama-urges-putin-push-unhindered-probe-plane-crash-site-ukraine <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">President Barack Obama spoke about the downed plane in eastern Ukraine from the White House Monday morning. He called for international investigators to have "immediate and full access" to the site where a passenger jet was shot down last week.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">U.S. officials have been seeking to build a case that the plane was shot down by pro-Russian separatists.</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 14:54:22 +0000 Heather Brandon 25621 at http://wnpr.org Obama Urges Putin to Push for Unhindered Probe of Plane Crash Site in Ukraine Putin: Tragedies Like MH17 Should 'Bring People Together' http://wnpr.org/post/putin-tragedies-mh17-should-bring-people-together <h6><strong>(This post was updated at 12:51 p.m. ET.)</strong></h6><p>Russian President Vladimir Putin says tragedies such as the downing of Malaysia Airlines Flight MH17 last week should "bring people together" rather than "dividing us."<p><a href="http://eng.kremlin.ru/news/22701">Putin issued the written statement</a> a day after the United States outlined its case against Russia. <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/20/333061052/pressure-grows-on-putin-to-secure-access-to-ukraine-crash-site">As we reported</a>, U.S. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 12:18:00 +0000 editor 25613 at http://wnpr.org Putin: Tragedies Like MH17 Should 'Bring People Together' Kerry: Evidence Points Clearly To Rebels Shooting Down MH17 http://wnpr.org/post/kerry-evidence-points-clearly-rebels-shooting-down-mh17 <strong><em>Updated at 4:25 p.m. ET.</em></strong><p>In the most emphatic U.S. statement to date on culpability for the downing of a Malaysian airliner over Eastern Ukraine that killed 298 people, Secretary of State John Kerry says evidence overwhelmingly points to Russian-backed separatists.<p>In an interview with CNN, he says that U.S. Sun, 20 Jul 2014 11:40:00 +0000 editor 25576 at http://wnpr.org Kerry: Evidence Points Clearly To Rebels Shooting Down MH17 Kremlin Blacklists 13 Americans In Tit-For-Tat Over U.S. Sanctions http://wnpr.org/post/kremlin-blacklists-13-americans-tit-tat-over-us-sanctions <strong><em>Updated at 2:55 p.m. ET.</em></strong><p>Moscow has issued a quid pro quo for sanctions imposed on it by Washington, banning a U.S. congressman and 12 other Americans from entering Russia.<p>NPR's Hansi Lo Wang reports that the Foreign Ministry in Moscow says <a href="http://www.mid.ru/brp_4.nsf/newsline/17F7FAE2FCA8AAE644257D1A003F84EF">the new blacklist</a> is in response to U.S. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 19:50:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 25569 at http://wnpr.org Kremlin Blacklists 13 Americans In Tit-For-Tat Over U.S. Sanctions Ukraine Accuses Rebels Of Destroying Evidence At MH17 Crash Site http://wnpr.org/post/ukraine-accuses-rebels-destroying-evidence-mh17-crash-site <strong><em>Updated at 4:35 p.m. ET.</em></strong><p>International investigators say armed rebels have limited their inspection of the Eastern Ukraine site of the downed Malaysian Airlines flight that killed nearly 300 passengers and crew, as Kiev accused pro-Russian separatists of destroying evidence at the scene.<p>Malaysia Airlines on Saturday released a <a href="http://media.npr.org/assets/img/2014/07/19/mh17-pax-and-crew-manifest.pdf">list of names of the dead</a> from Thursday's crash. All 298 aboard the Boeing 777 were killed. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 18:27:00 +0000 L. Carol Ritchie 25549 at http://wnpr.org Ukraine Accuses Rebels Of Destroying Evidence At MH17 Crash Site Obama: Evidence MH17 Hit By Missile From Rebel-Held Area Of Ukraine http://wnpr.org/post/obama-evidence-mh17-hit-missile-rebel-held-area-ukraine <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BbyZYgSXdyw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPu1dhje3Po</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 16:50:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 25498 at http://wnpr.org Obama: Evidence MH17 Hit By Missile From Rebel-Held Area Of Ukraine Obama Calls for a Ceasefire in Ukraine http://wnpr.org/post/obama-calls-ceasefire-ukraine <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">President Barack Obama said one American was killed on a downed plane in Ukraine on Thursday, and that the airliner was shot down by a surface-to-air missile in an area controlled by Russian-backed separatists. He called for an immediate ceasefire in Ukraine, where he said heavily armed and trained separatists receive Russian support.</span></p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:36:55 +0000 Heather Brandon 25517 at http://wnpr.org Obama Calls for a Ceasefire in Ukraine U.S. Officials: Malaysian Airliner Likely Shot Down http://wnpr.org/post/us-officials-malaysian-airliner-likely-shot-down <strong>This post was last updated at 6:40 p.m. ET.</strong><p>A Malaysia Airlines Boeing 777 with 298 passengers and crew aboard has crashed in eastern Ukraine in an area of the country that has been wracked by a separatist insurgency.<p>The airline's senior vice president and European chief, Huib Gorter, told reporters the plane was carrying at least 154 Dutch, 27 Australians, 23 Malaysians, 11 Indonesians, six Britons, four Germans, four Belgians, three Filipinos and one Canadian. The nationalities of 47 passengers had yet to be determined. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 22:40:52 +0000 Bill Chappell 25456 at http://wnpr.org U.S. Officials: Malaysian Airliner Likely Shot Down Ukraine Says Russia Shot Down One Of Its Warplanes http://wnpr.org/post/ukraine-says-russia-shot-down-one-its-warplanes <strong>This post updated at 10:15 a.m. ET.</strong><p>A Ukrainian government spokesman says one of its warplanes was shot down in the country's east by a Russian air force jet, as the U.S. and Europe stepped up sanctions on Moscow over its support of separatist rebels.<p>Ukraine says a ground-attack <a href="http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/world/russia/su-25.htm">Su-25</a> was downed by an air-to-air missile Wednesday evening over the eastern region of Luhansk. The pilot reportedly safely ejected before the plane crashed. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 13:30:12 +0000 Scott Neuman 25444 at http://wnpr.org Ukraine Says Russia Shot Down One Of Its Warplanes U.S. Sanctions Major Russian Banks And Energy Companies http://wnpr.org/post/us-sanctions-major-russian-banks-and-energy-companies President Obama outlined a new package of sanctions against Russian firms and individuals on Wednesday.<p>"These sanctions are significant but also targeted," Obama said. "Russia will see that its actions in Ukraine have consequences."<p>The administration targeted large banks, as well as energy and defense firms. The sanctions stopped short of covering entire sectors of the Russian economy.<p>Obama said they were designed to inflict pain on Russia without harming U.S. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 21:46:00 +0000 editor 25421 at http://wnpr.org U.S. Sanctions Major Russian Banks And Energy Companies A Huge New Crater Is Found In Siberia, And The Theories Fly http://wnpr.org/post/huge-new-crater-found-siberia-and-theories-fly <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kMs05VaOfE</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 15:58:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 25394 at http://wnpr.org A Huge New Crater Is Found In Siberia, And The Theories Fly Reports Of New Fighting Rattle Ukraine's Truce As Kerry Urges Russia To Help http://wnpr.org/post/reports-new-fighting-rattle-ukraines-truce-kerry-urges-russia-help An exchange of mortar fire has been reported in eastern Ukraine, where government troops and pro-Russian separatist forces had been observing an uneasy cease-fire in the past week. The news comes as Secretary of State John Kerry says Russia could face sanctions if it doesn't help end the violence.<p>Russian state news media are reporting explosions near the airport in the eastern Ukrainian city of Kramatorsk, where the armed groups reportedly absorbed and returned mortar fire. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 11:31:44 +0000 Bill Chappell 24310 at http://wnpr.org Reports Of New Fighting Rattle Ukraine's Truce As Kerry Urges Russia To Help Obama Seeks $1 Billion To Boost U.S. Military Presence In Europe http://wnpr.org/post/obama-seeks-1-billion-boost-us-military-presence-europe President Obama said today [Tuesday] that he wants to boost the U.S. military presence in Europe amid simmering tensions with Russia over its actions in <a href="http://www.npr.org/tags/126978660/ukraine" target="_blank">Ukraine</a>.<p>"Today I'm announcing a new initiative to bolster the security of our NATO allies here in Europe," he said in Warsaw, Poland, at the start of a four-day trip to Europe. "Under this effort, and with the support of Congress, the United States will pre-position more equipment in Europe. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 12:43:49 +0000 Krishnadev Calamur 22962 at http://wnpr.org Obama Seeks $1 Billion To Boost U.S. Military Presence In Europe Downed Ukraine Helicopter Had General On Board; 14 Die In Attack http://wnpr.org/post/downed-ukraine-helicopter-had-general-board-14-die-attack Militants in Ukraine shot down a military helicopter near the eastern city of Slovyansk Wednesday, killing 14 soldiers that included an Army general. The incident comes days after Ukraine stepped up its operations against pro-Russian rebels this week.<p>From Kiev, NPR's Peter Kenyon reports for our Newscast unit:<p><blockquote><p>After suffering heavy losses in Dontesk earlier this week, pro-Russian insurgents struck back with anti-aircraft fire that brought down a Ukrainian helicopter. Thu, 29 May 2014 14:22:16 +0000 Bill Chappell 22718 at http://wnpr.org Downed Ukraine Helicopter Had General On Board; 14 Die In Attack Ukraine Retakes Airport, After Airstrikes And Dozens Of Deaths http://wnpr.org/post/ukraine-retakes-airport-after-airstrikes-and-dozens-deaths Pro-Russian rebels who had taken over an international airport in Donetsk have been pushed back, Ukraine's government says. Violent clashes erupted Monday and Tuesday; at least 35 people have died.<p>From Kiev, NPR's Peter Kenyon reports for our Newscast unit:<p><blockquote><p>"The battle for Donetsk airport appears to symbolize the government's tougher stance on the pro-Russian insurgents in the east. Tue, 27 May 2014 11:52:53 +0000 Bill Chappell 22563 at http://wnpr.org Ukraine Retakes Airport, After Airstrikes And Dozens Of Deaths Ukrainian Soldiers Killed In Attack By Separatists http://wnpr.org/post/ukrainian-soldiers-die-attack-separatists Pro-Russian separatists attacked a military checkpoint in eastern Ukraine on Thursday, killing at least 13 soldiers and wounding about 30, according to Ukraine's acting prime minister. Thu, 22 May 2014 12:34:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 22307 at http://wnpr.org Ukrainian Soldiers Killed In Attack By Separatists Former Ambassador To Russia: Putin Has No Master Plan For Ukraine http://wnpr.org/post/former-ambassador-russia-putin-has-no-master-plan-ukraine When Russian President Vladimir Putin started vilifying the U.S., and state-controlled media took his cue, Michael McFaul was portrayed as one of the American villains. McFaul was the American ambassador to Russia from January 2012 to February of this year. He planned to leave just after the Sochi Olympics, which ended up coinciding with the Ukrainian Parliament voting to remove President Viktor Yanukovych from office, leading to Russia's annexation of Crimea.<p>McFaul is a Russian scholar who has returned to his teaching job at Stanford University. Thu, 15 May 2014 21:25:00 +0000 editor 21931 at http://wnpr.org Former Ambassador To Russia: Putin Has No Master Plan For Ukraine Russia's Energy Giant Turns Up The Heat On Ukraine http://wnpr.org/post/russias-energy-giant-turns-heat-ukraine If Russia was aiming to target one of Ukraine's vulnerabilities, natural gas would be the bull's-eye. Ukraine gets about 60 percent of its gas from Russia.<p>Clifford Gaddy, a Russia specialist at the Brookings Institution, says as the dispute between the two countries grows, Moscow is more willing to use natural gas as a weapon.<p>"The ways in which Russia can play with this gas lever, how it can use it, these are not things that they just think of from one day to the next," Gaddy says. Wed, 14 May 2014 19:49:00 +0000 Jackie Northam 21843 at http://wnpr.org Russia's Energy Giant Turns Up The Heat On Ukraine Separatists Vote To Split From Ukraine; Russia 'Respects' Decision http://wnpr.org/post/separatists-vote-split-ukraine-russia-respects-decision A referendum on independence from Ukraine shows strong support for secession, according to separatist leaders in the districts where Sunday's vote was held. Mon, 12 May 2014 11:56:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 21682 at http://wnpr.org Separatists Vote To Split From Ukraine; Russia 'Respects' Decision Russia Shows Off Military In Red Square Victory Day Parade http://wnpr.org/post/russia-shows-military-red-square-victory-day-parade It's a day for patriots in Russia, where the country is celebrating Victory Day to commemorate the World War II defeat of Nazi Germany. Fri, 09 May 2014 11:34:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 21547 at http://wnpr.org Russia Shows Off Military In Red Square Victory Day Parade Ukraine: Pro-Russia Crowd Surrounds Police Station In Odessa http://wnpr.org/post/ukraine-pro-russia-crowd-surrounds-police-station-odessa Urging the release of separatists detained during Friday's unrest that left dozens dead, more than 100 pro-Russia activists surrounded a police station in the southern Ukrainian port city of Odessa Sunday.<p><strong>Update at 4:30 p.m. Sun, 04 May 2014 14:38:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 21264 at http://wnpr.org Ukraine: Pro-Russia Crowd Surrounds Police Station In Odessa Russia Condemns Ukraine With Comparisons To Nazis http://wnpr.org/post/russia-condemns-ukraine-comparisons-nazis The Ukrainian government is describing its offensive against pro-Russian separatists in the eastern part of the country as an "anti-terrorist operation," language that offends the separatists and Russia.<p>In turn, Russia is using even stronger language, saying that the Ukrainian military has launched a "punitive operation." While that may not carry any special meaning to Western ears, it has far more sinister implications for Russians.<p>A Russian friend of mine, professional interpreter Alevtina Potemkina, points out that the expression being used is <em>karatelnaya operatsiya</em>, a phrase Sat, 03 May 2014 21:19:00 +0000 Corey Flintoff 21242 at http://wnpr.org Russia Condemns Ukraine With Comparisons To Nazis Blaze In Odessa Kills 31, Marking Escalation In Ukraine Crisis http://wnpr.org/post/blaze-odessa-kills-31-marking-escalation-ukraine-crisis <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1b05Xkgudg</p> Fri, 02 May 2014 23:21:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 21217 at http://wnpr.org Blaze In Odessa Kills 31, Marking Escalation In Ukraine Crisis U.S. Announces New Sanctions On Russia Over Ukraine Unrest http://wnpr.org/post/us-eu-announce-new-sanctions-russia-over-ukraine-unrest <strong>Update at 9 a.m. ET:</strong><p>The White House announced sanctions Monday against seven top Russian officials with links to President Vladimir Putin, including freezing their assets and banning them from obtaining U.S. visas. Mon, 28 Apr 2014 11:17:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 20907 at http://wnpr.org U.S. Announces New Sanctions On Russia Over Ukraine Unrest Russia Wants To Start World War III, Ukrainian Leader Charges http://wnpr.org/post/russia-wants-start-world-war-iii-ukrainian-leader-charges The crisis in Ukraine showed no signs of cooling Friday. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 11:03:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 20773 at http://wnpr.org Russia Wants To Start World War III, Ukrainian Leader Charges