manufacturing http://wnpr.org en Where Does All Our Trash Go? http://wnpr.org/post/where-does-all-our-trash-go <p>Ever wonder what happens to all the stuff you throw away?</p><p>Chances are, you've watched it get hurled into the back of a garbage or recycling truck. But what happens after it leaves the curb? Well, the story of trash is a lot more fascinating and complex than you probably think.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 08 Aug 2014 13:00:00 +0000 John Dankosky, Lydia Brown, Tucker Ives & Catie Talarski 26643 at http://wnpr.org Where Does All Our Trash Go? Stafford Springs Textile Mills Back in Action http://wnpr.org/post/stafford-springs-textile-mills-back-action <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Textiles are once again being produced in Stafford Springs. Eight months after the Warren Corporation mills closed, ending the industry in Connecticut, the newly-reopened company has taken its first work order.</span></p><p> Thu, 07 Aug 2014 18:12:50 +0000 Harriet Jones & J Holt 26594 at http://wnpr.org Stafford Springs Textile Mills Back in Action Manufacturers Optimistic About Economic Outlook http://wnpr.org/post/manufacturers-optimistic-about-economic-outlook <p>Manufacturers are increasingly bullish about the state of the economy,<a href="http://mcgladrey.com/content/dam/mcgladrey/pdf_download/2014_manufacturing_distribution_monitor_report_media_edition.pdf" target="_blank"> according to a new survey</a>.</p> Thu, 31 Jul 2014 17:16:09 +0000 Harriet Jones 26219 at http://wnpr.org Manufacturers Optimistic About Economic Outlook Connecticut Leading on 3D Printing in Industry http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-leading-3d-printing-industry <p>Additive manufacturing — what’s commonly known as 3D printing — has technology geeks buzzing about its potential to turn your desk into a mini-factory. It’s actually not as new as you might think -- 3D printing traces its roots back to the 1980s, and it's been the subject of industry research ever since.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">What effect is it having now on manufacturing in Connecticut?</span></p><p> Wed, 30 Jul 2014 20:40:25 +0000 Harriet Jones 26167 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Leading on 3D Printing in Industry Craft: Why Making Things Matters http://wnpr.org/post/craft-why-making-things-matters-0 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Carving birds? Knitting sweaters? Paper cutting? Blowing glass? If you're a crafts person, paid or unpaid, please call and tell us what it adds to your life.</span></p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 18:53:58 +0000 Faith Middleton, Lori Mack & Jonathan McNicol 25851 at http://wnpr.org Craft: Why Making Things Matters What's Behind the Connecticut-Made Brand? http://wnpr.org/post/whats-behind-connecticut-made-brand <p>What consumer product comes to mind when you&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">think of Vermont? Maple syrup, Cabot cheese, or Ben &amp; Jerry’s, perhaps? If that's what comes up in a kind of consumer word association, marketing gurus would nod their heads knowingly. </span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A strong product is great, but if you don’t build a strong brand, it won't sell. How are businesses and policy makers branding Connecticut-made products?</span></p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 17:51:25 +0000 Sujata Srinivasan 25666 at http://wnpr.org What's Behind the Connecticut-Made Brand? Voices From the Hardware City http://wnpr.org/post/voices-hardware-city <p><a href="http://wnpr.org/post/when-it-comes-paying-stadium-hartford-changes-course" target="_blank">New Britain may lose its baseball team to Hartford</a>,&nbsp;another blow to a city that, over the years, has lost many of its jobs, and many of the the iconic brands associated with the city. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 18:48:21 +0000 Catie Talarski 24575 at http://wnpr.org Voices From the Hardware City Carrier to Install New HVAC System in the Sistine Chapel http://wnpr.org/post/carrier-install-new-hvac-system-sistine-chapel <p>Farmington-based Carrier is to install a new heating, ventilation and air conditioning system in the Sistine Chapel as part of an effort to preserve the frescoes of Michelangelo.</p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 15:58:31 +0000 Harriet Jones 23851 at http://wnpr.org Carrier to Install New HVAC System in the Sistine Chapel The Second Amendment, Colt, and Tracing Guns http://wnpr.org/post/second-amendment-colt-and-tracing-guns <p>The Second Amendment is just 27 words long, but it has caused more debate than just about anything else in the Constitution. "It’s confusing and self-contradictory and we spend a lot of time trying to figure out what its clauses and commas mean," said <a href="http://www.brennancenter.org/expert/michael-waldman" target="_blank">Michael Waldman, author of the new book <em>The Second Amendment: A Biography</em>.</a> We talk to him about the history and odd syntax of this Amendment and the debate over it that was renewed by the tragedy in Newtown.</p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 13:00:00 +0000 John Dankosky, Tucker Ives, Lydia Brown & Catie Talarski 23850 at http://wnpr.org The Second Amendment, Colt, and Tracing Guns Connecticut Vaccine Company Gets $50 Million in Federal Funding http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-vaccine-company-gets-50-million-federal-funding <p>Meriden’s Protein Sciences has been awarded a multi-million dollar extension to its contract with the federal government to provide flu vaccines.</p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 13:26:12 +0000 Harriet Jones 23836 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Vaccine Company Gets $50 Million in Federal Funding Helping Manufacturers Save For the Future http://wnpr.org/post/helping-manufacturers-save-future <p>As manufacturing continues its rebound in this country, there’s a lot of discussion about the best ways for government to encourage the trend. One group of manufacturers in Connecticut think they’ve found the perfect policy tool, and they’re pioneering it here in Connecticut.</p><p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 15:09:16 +0000 Harriet Jones 23711 at http://wnpr.org Helping Manufacturers Save For the Future How Connecticut Manufacturing Businesses Have Beat the Odds For 100 Years http://wnpr.org/post/how-connecticut-manufacturing-businesses-have-beat-odds-100-years <p>The odds were never in favor of small businesses. Data from the Small Business Administration shows that only about one-third of all start-ups make it beyond the first ten years.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 13:27:12 +0000 Sujata Srinivasan 23576 at http://wnpr.org How Connecticut Manufacturing Businesses Have Beat the Odds For 100 Years CCAT Installs "World's Most Advanced" 3D Printer http://wnpr.org/post/ccat-installs-worlds-most-advanced-3d-printer <p>The Connecticut Center for Advanced Technology has installed what it says is the world's most advanced 3D printer.</p><p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 18:43:34 +0000 Harriet Jones 23373 at http://wnpr.org CCAT Installs "World's Most Advanced" 3D Printer Harpsichords Brought to Life at Zuckermann's Stonington Workshop http://wnpr.org/post/harpsichords-brought-life-zuckermanns-stonington-workshop <p>The little seaside town of Stonington has a storied reputation when it comes to one historic instrument. For the last 40 years, it's been a center of harpsichord production.</p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 20:49:57 +0000 Harriet Jones 23131 at http://wnpr.org Harpsichords Brought to Life at Zuckermann's Stonington Workshop Connecticut Companies Urged to Bid for Navy Work http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-companies-urged-bid-navy-work <p>Local manufacturers are being urged to consider offering their services to Electric Boat as the shipyard ramps up production in coming years.</p><p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 13:47:51 +0000 Harriet Jones 23043 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Companies Urged to Bid for Navy Work Michelle Obama Sponsors New Electric Boat Sub http://wnpr.org/post/michelle-obama-sponsors-new-electric-boat-sub <p>First Lady Michelle Obama visited Rhode Island to help lay the keel for a new submarine being built by Groton's Electric Boat.</p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 16:36:15 +0000 Harriet Jones 22982 at http://wnpr.org Michelle Obama Sponsors New Electric Boat Sub Connecticut Faith Leaders Press Gun Manufacturers On Safety and Weapons Distribution http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-faith-leaders-press-gun-manufacturers-safety-and-weapons-distribution <p>Following the recent mass killing in California, faith leaders in Connecticut gathered on&nbsp;Monday to call on gun manufacturers to take steps aimed at reducing gun violence.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 00:36:41 +0000 Diane Orson & Heather Brandon 22903 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Faith Leaders Press Gun Manufacturers On Safety and Weapons Distribution Connecticut Manufacturers Foresee a Hiring Crisis http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-manufacturers-foresee-hiring-crisis <p>Connecticut's manufacturers expect to be doing lots of hiring in the next few years, but a recent survey shows they're worried about where all those new workers are going to come from.</p><p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 14:18:33 +0000 Harriet Jones 22906 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Manufacturers Foresee a Hiring Crisis DIY Dulcimer Kits Are a Musical Hit in Connecticut http://wnpr.org/post/diy-dulcimer-kits-are-musical-hit-connecticut <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The word dulcimer means "sweet sound." T</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">here’s no better way to describe this American folk instrument.</span></p><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 12:20:00 +0000 Diane Orson 22689 at http://wnpr.org DIY Dulcimer Kits Are a Musical Hit in Connecticut Bringing Manufacturing Jobs Back to Connecticut http://wnpr.org/post/bringing-manufacturing-jobs-back-connecticut-0 <p>This hour, we kick off our year-long <a href="http://wnpr.org/topic/manufacturing" target="_blank">Made in Connecticut series</a> with a conversation about keeping jobs in and bringing jobs back to Connecticut. Senator Chris Murphy joined us, along with WNPR’s Harriet Jones, and some folks from the local manufacturing industry, to take an in-depth look at the present and future of manufacturing in our state.</p><p> Mon, 26 May 2014 13:00:00 +0000 John Dankosky, Lydia Brown, Tucker Ives & Catie Talarski 22405 at http://wnpr.org Bringing Manufacturing Jobs Back to Connecticut Hospital Disinfects Phones to Tackle "Major Threat" to Patients http://wnpr.org/post/hospital-disinfects-phones-tackle-major-threat-patients <p>Sometimes people go to a hospital, and they leave with an infection.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">A&nbsp;</span><a href="http://readydock.net/solutions/readydockuv-for-mobile-devices/" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">new device being tested at St. Francis Hospital</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;might reduce those infections.</span></p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 18:00:40 +0000 Alan Yu 21774 at http://wnpr.org Hospital Disinfects Phones to Tackle "Major Threat" to Patients Organ Company In Hartford Still Pulling Out All the Stops After 100 Years http://wnpr.org/post/organ-company-hartford-still-pulling-out-all-stops-after-100-years <p>If you ask Michael&nbsp;Fazio&nbsp;how long he’s been in the pipe organ business, he’ll say, “How do I get out of it?”</p><p> Fri, 16 May 2014 16:18:48 +0000 Alan Yu 21951 at http://wnpr.org Organ Company In Hartford Still Pulling Out All the Stops After 100 Years Guitarist Joel Weik Has a Unique Perspective On Ovation Guitars http://wnpr.org/post/guitarist-joel-weik-has-unique-perspective-ovation-guitars <p>Last month, Fender Musical Instruments announced it will close the Ovation guitar factory in New Hartford in the coming weeks. For now, that means all Ovation guitars will be made in factories overseas.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 08 May 2014 17:24:08 +0000 Ray Hardman 21492 at http://wnpr.org Guitarist Joel Weik Has a Unique Perspective On Ovation Guitars Connecticut Aerospace Companies Face Technological Leap http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-aerospace-companies-face-technological-leap <p>Companies that supply planes and engines to commercial airlines are about to see a boom in business unlike anything that the industry can remember. There are more customers than ever before for airline flights, and alongside that, engine technology has taken a big leap forward. That means unprecedented investment, and&nbsp;Connecticut is at the epicenter of that change.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 07 May 2014 15:56:22 +0000 Harriet Jones 21444 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Aerospace Companies Face Technological Leap Fuel Cell Industry Still Strong, Say Advocates http://wnpr.org/post/fuel-cell-industry-still-strong-say-advocates <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The market for fuel cells is growing, according to industry experts, despite the recent bankruptcy of one of Connecticut's largest fuel cell manufacturers.</span></p><p> Wed, 07 May 2014 15:04:29 +0000 Harriet Jones 21441 at http://wnpr.org Fuel Cell Industry Still Strong, Say Advocates Electric Boat Celebrates Historic Contract http://wnpr.org/post/electric-boat-celebrates-historic-contract <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Electric Boat expects to hire more than 500 extra employees as it gets ready to work on the largest contract ever awarded by the U.S. Navy. The workforce can still expect pain in the short term.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The contract for ten Virginia class submarines represents five years of steady work building two submarines a year at the Groton yard, something that's been hard to come by in recent decades.</span></p> Tue, 06 May 2014 15:45:08 +0000 Harriet Jones 21384 at http://wnpr.org Electric Boat Celebrates Historic Contract Reshoring Reaches Connecticut Manufacturers http://wnpr.org/post/reshoring-reaches-connecticut-manufacturers <p>As World War II came to a close, manufacturing in Connecticut employed close to half the state's working population. Now it accounts for only eleven percent of employment. That dramatic decline over half a century is due to one irresistible force:&nbsp;off-shoring, and the loss of work to cheaper labor markets in Asia. But that force may not be so irresistible after all.</p><p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 14:56:00 +0000 Harriet Jones 20648 at http://wnpr.org Reshoring Reaches Connecticut Manufacturers Electric Boat Snags Biggest-Ever Navy Contract http://wnpr.org/post/electric-boat-snags-biggest-ever-navy-contract <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The U.S. Navy has given Groton shipyard Electric Boat the largest shipbuilding contract ever awarded.</span></p><p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 13:20:28 +0000 Harriet Jones 20977 at http://wnpr.org Electric Boat Snags Biggest-Ever Navy Contract Electric Boat, Labor Union Agree to New Contract http://wnpr.org/post/electric-boat-labor-union-agree-new-contract <p>A labor union for 2,200 workers at submarine maker Electric Boat has agreed to a new, five-year contract through 2019 that includes annual pay raises of three percent or more.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 24 Apr 2014 19:05:37 +0000 Associated Press 20728 at http://wnpr.org Electric Boat, Labor Union Agree to New Contract Ovation Guitars to Cease Production in Connecticut http://wnpr.org/post/ovation-guitars-cease-production-connecticut <p>Connecticut's historic Ovation guitars will no longer be made in the state. The New Hartford factory will close this summer.</p><p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 19:46:51 +0000 Harriet Jones 20659 at http://wnpr.org Ovation Guitars to Cease Production in Connecticut