Environment http://wnpr.org en Capping Carbon Emissions Could Provide Economic Benefits, Study Finds http://wnpr.org/post/capping-carbon-emissions-could-provide-economic-benefits-study-finds <p>Federal proposals to cap carbon emissions could actually benefit some states economically, according to a new study released on Thursday in Washington, D.C.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:45:24 +0000 Patrick Skahill 25860 at http://wnpr.org Capping Carbon Emissions Could Provide Economic Benefits, Study Finds Staging a War Against West Nile and Eastern Equine Encephalitis http://wnpr.org/post/staging-war-against-west-nile-and-eastern-equine-encephalitis <p>Mosquitoes trapped in East Haven are the first this year to test positive for West Nile Virus.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 13:49:01 +0000 Patrick Skahill 25782 at http://wnpr.org Staging a War Against West Nile and Eastern Equine Encephalitis Gov. Malloy Announces Free State Parks Weekend in Connecticut http://wnpr.org/post/gov-malloy-announces-free-state-parks-weekend-connecticut <p>Have you been to a state park lately? O<span style="line-height: 1.5;">n July 26 and 27, you'll be able to visit any state park in Connecticut&nbsp;for free.</span></p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 17:29:50 +0000 Heather Brandon 25779 at http://wnpr.org Gov. Malloy Announces Free State Parks Weekend in Connecticut Debris From Sandy Targeted in Northeast Marshes http://wnpr.org/post/debris-sandy-targeted-northeast-marshes <p>Nearly two years after Superstorm Sandy pounded the northeast, communities in Connecticut, New York, and Rhode Island are preparing to track down and remove debris from marshland.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:33:37 +0000 Associated Press 25728 at http://wnpr.org Debris From Sandy Targeted in Northeast Marshes Monitoring Marine Life in the Atlantic, From Water and From Orbit http://wnpr.org/post/monitoring-marine-life-atlantic-water-and-orbit <p>NASA has begun a new experiment to monitor plankton off the Atlantic coast using boats, airplanes, and satellites.</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 12:16:00 +0000 Patrick Skahill 25642 at http://wnpr.org Monitoring Marine Life in the Atlantic, From Water and From Orbit World Breaks Monthly Heat Record Two Times in a Row http://wnpr.org/post/world-breaks-monthly-heat-record-two-times-row <p>The globe is on a hot streak, setting a heat record in June.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">That's after the world broke a record in May.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 19:25:57 +0000 Associated Press 25635 at http://wnpr.org World Breaks Monthly Heat Record Two Times in a Row Pipeline Opponents Say Project Is No Longer Economically Justifiable http://wnpr.org/post/pipeline-opponents-say-project-no-longer-economically-justifiable <span style="line-height: 1.5;">A group of opponents of the Vermont Gas Systems pipeline say the cost of Vermont Gas Systems’ pipeline from Colchester to Addison County is no longer justifiable in light of a recently announced cost increase.</span><p>The increase, <a href="http://digital.vpr.net/post/vermont-gas-cost-overruns-raise-questions-about-project-management">announced earlier in July</a>, brings the estimated project cost from $86.6 million up to $121.7 million. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 16:27:58 +0000 Taylor Dobbs 25623 at http://wnpr.org Astronaut Who Walked On The Moon: 'It Was Science Fiction To Us' http://wnpr.org/post/astronaut-who-walked-moon-it-was-science-fiction-us In November of 1969, astronaut Alan Bean became the fourth man to walk on the moon. His mission, Apollo 12, arrived at the moon a few months after Apollo 11 made the first moon landing. That historic event celebrates its 45th anniversary Sunday.<p>Apollo 12 got off to a dramatic start: A storm rolled in as the rocket was scheduled to launch. Sun, 20 Jul 2014 15:13:00 +0000 NPR Staff 25591 at http://wnpr.org Astronaut Who Walked On The Moon: 'It Was Science Fiction To Us' Deploying Drones To Get An Overview Of Factory Farms http://wnpr.org/post/deploying-drones-get-overview-factory-farms An independent journalist says he's found a way around the so-called "ag-gag" laws by flying drones over large livestock operations to document animal welfare problems and pollution.<p>Will Potter, a Washington D.C.-based <a href="http://www.greenisthenewred.com/blog/">author and blogger</a>, recently raised $75,000 <a href="https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1926278254/drone-on-the-farm-an-aerial-expose">on Kickstarter</a> to buy the drones and other equipment to investigate animal agriculture in the U.S.<p>"I was primarily motivated by what's happening outside of those closed doors, but is Sat, 19 Jul 2014 16:20:00 +0000 editor 25566 at http://wnpr.org Deploying Drones To Get An Overview Of Factory Farms Seal Pups Return to Ocean After Rehabbing in Mystic http://wnpr.org/post/seal-pups-return-ocean-after-rehabbing-mystic <p>Two five-month-old seal pups rescued in March have returned to the Atlantic Ocean after recovering from their injuries at the Mystic Aquarium.</p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:48:15 +0000 Heather Brandon 25506 at http://wnpr.org Seal Pups Return to Ocean After Rehabbing in Mystic Ocean Waves As You Have Never Seen Them Before http://wnpr.org/post/ocean-waves-you-have-never-seen-them <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9pXMObfeOcE</p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 13:30:06 +0000 Barbara J. King 25443 at http://wnpr.org Ocean Waves As You Have Never Seen Them Before Everything You Want to Know About Turtles http://wnpr.org/post/everything-you-want-know-about-turtles-0 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">There are currently some 57 turtle species living in the United States and Canada, 12 of which can be found right here in Connecticut -- including some sea turtles!</span></p><p>Chances are, you’ve probably seen a few of them poking around a nearby pond or basking on some sunlit rocks. Perhaps you’ve even rescued a few from the peril of oncoming traffic.</p><p>But there’s a lot more to these terrestrial critters than meets the eye.</p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 John Dankosky, Lydia Brown, Tucker Ives & Catie Talarski 25439 at http://wnpr.org Everything You Want to Know About Turtles A Huge New Crater Is Found In Siberia, And The Theories Fly http://wnpr.org/post/huge-new-crater-found-siberia-and-theories-fly <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kMs05VaOfE</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 15:58:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 25394 at http://wnpr.org A Huge New Crater Is Found In Siberia, And The Theories Fly Nitrogen Pollution in Long Island Sound Continues to Decline http://wnpr.org/post/nitrogen-pollution-long-island-sound-continues-decline <p>A new report says nitrogen pollution discharged into Long Island Sound continues an overall decline. That's good news for marine life because too much nitrogen can fuel the growth of algae, which dies, settles on the ocean floor, and decays, using up oxygen in the process.</p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 16:23:07 +0000 Patrick Skahill 25320 at http://wnpr.org Nitrogen Pollution in Long Island Sound Continues to Decline This Ancient Bird Had the Largest Wingspan Ever http://wnpr.org/post/ancient-bird-had-largest-wingspan-ever <p>An extinct species of bird just discovered may have had the largest wingspan ever. The animal lived 25 million years ago and was found buried at an airport.</p><p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 13:06:20 +0000 Patrick Skahill 25216 at http://wnpr.org This Ancient Bird Had the Largest Wingspan Ever Connecticut Still Waiting for Action on Federal Clean Air Plans http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-still-waiting-action-federal-clean-air-plans <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Connecticut has to wait for more federal action on cross-border pollution, according to a top environmental official who visited Hartford.</span></p><p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 12:49:25 +0000 Patrick Skahill 25084 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Still Waiting for Action on Federal Clean Air Plans New London CEO Guilty of Violating Clean Water Act http://wnpr.org/post/new-london-ceo-guilty-violating-clean-water-act <p>The former CEO of a New London company has pleaded guilty to violating the Clean Water Act. According to federal prosecutors, the infractions date back to 1986 and involve toxic discharges into the city's sewer system.</p><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 13:21:26 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24939 at http://wnpr.org New London CEO Guilty of Violating Clean Water Act Listen Closely: There's Something Hidden in This Hummingbird's Chirp http://wnpr.org/post/listen-closely-theres-something-hidden-hummingbirds-chirp <p>Here's the thing about hummingbirds: Almost nothing they do is like a regular bird. A hummingbird's heart beats about 1,200 times a minute while exercising.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 17:59:12 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24920 at http://wnpr.org Listen Closely: There's Something Hidden in This Hummingbird's Chirp Raw Milk Producers Aim To Regulate Themselves http://wnpr.org/post/raw-milk-producers-aim-regulate-themselves A growing number of Americans are buying raw milk. That's milk that has not been pasteurized to kill bacteria.<p>As we've reported, the legal treatment of raw milk varies state by state. In some places like California, it's sold in stores. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 07:17:00 +0000 editor 24830 at http://wnpr.org Raw Milk Producers Aim To Regulate Themselves Mysterious Donor Leaves Behind an $8 Million Gift http://wnpr.org/post/mysterious-donor-leaves-behind-8-million-gift <p>A reclusive North Stonington resident who died in September has left an approximately $8 million donation to the Community Foundation of Eastern Connecticut. According to the group, it's the largest gift it's ever received.</p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 18:54:46 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24709 at http://wnpr.org Mysterious Donor Leaves Behind an $8 Million Gift In Connecticut, a Crew to Respond to Wildfires Thousands of Miles Away http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-crew-respond-wildfires-thousands-miles-away <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">One year ago, 19 firefighters from the Granite Mountain Hotshots died battling a wildfire. While Connecticut isn't known for its forest fires, it is known for a surprisingly elite group of firefighters: the Connecticut Wildfire Crew.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 17:08:51 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24574 at http://wnpr.org In Connecticut, a Crew to Respond to Wildfires Thousands of Miles Away Feds Delay Listing a Connecticut Bat as Endangered http://wnpr.org/post/feds-delay-listing-connecticut-bat-endangered <p>The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service has announced a six-month delay on whether or not to list the Northern Long-eared Bat as endangered. The delay is so scientists can examine the impact of White-Nose Syndrome.</p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 14:25:13 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24566 at http://wnpr.org Feds Delay Listing a Connecticut Bat as Endangered At 20, Hartford Blooms Continues to Blossom and Grow http://wnpr.org/post/20-hartford-blooms-continues-blossom-and-grow <p>Flower-filled planters appearing on sidewalks and medians all over Hartford are sights long time residents have come to expect in the late spring and early summer. They've long been the most visible aspect of Hartford Blooms, a citywide beautification project, implemented by KNOX, and now celebrating it's 20-year anniversary. In recent years, however, Hartford Blooms' efforts have begun to extend well beyond just planters.</p> Sat, 28 Jun 2014 02:47:44 +0000 J Holt 24404 at http://wnpr.org At 20, Hartford Blooms Continues to Blossom and Grow White House Task Force To Save Bees Stirs Hornet's Nest http://wnpr.org/post/white-house-task-force-save-bees-stirs-hornets-nest When President Obama announced last week that he was creating a <a href="http://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2014/06/20/presidential-memorandum-creating-federal-strategy-promote-health-honey-b">federal task force</a> to investigate the nation's vanishing bee colonies, the moment provided newly minted Press Secretary Josh Earnest an opportunity to crack one of his first jokes on the job.<p>"When I walked out here today, I knew I was going to be handling a range of sensitive issues," he told reporters. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 16:37:00 +0000 Gregory Barber 24400 at http://wnpr.org White House Task Force To Save Bees Stirs Hornet's Nest Rare Sighting of Beluga Whale in Massachusetts http://wnpr.org/post/rare-sighting-beluga-whale-massachusetts <p>In Connecticut, we're used to seeing Beluga whales at Mystic Aquarium, but residents in Fall River, Massachusetts are getting an unusual sight in an unusual place. A Beluga whale was spotted in the Taunton River over the past several days.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 18:12:50 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil & Heather Brandon 24333 at http://wnpr.org Rare Sighting of Beluga Whale in Massachusetts PURA Issues Final Decision on Tree Trimming http://wnpr.org/post/pura-issues-final-decision-tree-trimming <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Connecticut has a lot of trees. Our state leads the nation on this piece of technical jargon from the state forester, "woodland urban interface tree density." That means two things -- one: Connecticut has a lot of old, towering, trees -- and two, when major storms, like the ones in 2011 and 2012, hit those trees can be really vulnerable.</span></p><p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 13:05:30 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24285 at http://wnpr.org PURA Issues Final Decision on Tree Trimming Have You Wondered How Arsenic Enters a Well? You're Not Alone http://wnpr.org/post/have-you-wondered-how-arsenic-enters-well-youre-not-alone <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A new project at Eastern Connecticut State University is looking at arsenic contamination in privately-owned wells. The question of where that arsenic is coming from has attracted surprisingly little&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">attention, until now.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 18:18:26 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24187 at http://wnpr.org Have You Wondered How Arsenic Enters a Well? You're Not Alone As Sea Levels Rise, Norfolk Is Sinking And Planning http://wnpr.org/post/sea-levels-rise-norfolk-sinking-and-planning From the water's edge in Norfolk, Va., the U.S. naval base spans the whole horizon. Aircraft carriers, supply centers, barracks and admirals' homes fill a vast expanse.<p>But Ray Toll, a retired naval oceanographer, says the "majority of [the naval base], if not all of it" is at risk of flooding "because it's so low and it's flat."<p>The Norfolk-Hampton Roads area in Virginia is home to the largest naval operation in the world. This area is particularly vulnerable because the land is sinking as sea levels are rising. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 07:27:00 +0000 Yuki Noguchi 24156 at http://wnpr.org As Sea Levels Rise, Norfolk Is Sinking And Planning Why Osprey Nest Sightings in Connecticut Matter http://wnpr.org/post/why-osprey-nest-sightings-connecticut-matter <p>The Connecticut Audubon Society wants to get a better handle on osprey populations in the state. To do so, the group is launching <a href="http://www.ctaudubon.org/2014/06/osprey-nation/#sthash.Kac4KHyL.dpbs" target="_blank">a new citizen science program called "Osprey Nation."</a></p><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 11:02:00 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24003 at http://wnpr.org Why Osprey Nest Sightings in Connecticut Matter City of Bridgeport Pilots New "Crosswalk Flag" Program http://wnpr.org/post/city-bridgeport-pilots-new-crosswalk-flag-program <p>Let your pedestrian flag fly. That's the message coming from the City of Bridgeport, which is piloting a new <span style="line-height: 1.5;">program in front of the City Hall Annex aimed at increasing pedestrian safety through crosswalk flags.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 20:38:26 +0000 Patrick Skahill 23871 at http://wnpr.org City of Bridgeport Pilots New "Crosswalk Flag" Program