Business http://wnpr.org en Sen. Murphy Urges Support for Bring Jobs Home Act http://wnpr.org/post/sen-murphy-urges-support-bring-jobs-home-act <p>U.S. Senator Chris Murphy hopes for a strong vote in the Senate <a href="https://www.govtrack.us/congress/bills/113/s2569" target="_blank">this week on the Bring Jobs Home Act</a>. The bill would take away the ability for businesses to get a tax break for sending jobs overseas, and instead incentivizes companies to bring jobs back to the United States.</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 15:33:06 +0000 Diane Orson 25903 at http://wnpr.org Sen. Murphy Urges Support for Bring Jobs Home Act Hungry for Variety? Hartford Has a Taste http://wnpr.org/post/hungry-variety-hartford-has-taste <p>Food lovers have a chance to savor unique culinary dishes from over 30 restaurants in the capital city this weekend as the annual Taste of Hartford continues.</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 13:00:09 +0000 Katherine Peikes 25861 at http://wnpr.org Hungry for Variety? Hartford Has a Taste Self-Published Authors Make A Living — And Sometimes A Fortune http://wnpr.org/post/unknown-authors-make-living-self-publishing Five years ago, printing your own book was stigmatized and was seen as a mark of failure.<p>"But now," says Dana Beth Weinberg, a sociologist at Queens College who is studying the industry, "the self-published authors walk into the room, and they say, oh, well, 'I made a quarter million dollars last year, or $100,000, or made $10,000.' And it is still more than what some of these authors are making with their very prestigious contracts."<p>Weinberg says there is still a strong financial case to be made for publishing books the old-fashioned way, but there are now many well-known independent au Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:10:11 +0000 editor 25890 at http://wnpr.org Self-Published Authors Make A Living — And Sometimes A Fortune TicketNetwork Agrees To Fix "Unfair Trade Practices" http://wnpr.org/post/ticketnetwork-agrees-fix-unfair-trade-practices <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A settlement has been reached between South Windsor-based </span>TicketNetwork<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;and the State of Connecticut. In the deal, </span>TicketNetwork<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> agreed to clearly disclose that it is a ticket resale company, and not an official box office outlet.</span></p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 18:49:39 +0000 Tucker Ives 25848 at http://wnpr.org TicketNetwork Agrees To Fix "Unfair Trade Practices" What's Behind the Connecticut-Made Brand? http://wnpr.org/post/whats-behind-connecticut-made-brand <p>What consumer product comes to mind when you&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">think of Vermont? Maple syrup, Cabot cheese, or Ben &amp; Jerry’s, perhaps? If that's what comes up in a kind of consumer word association, marketing gurus would nod their heads knowingly. </span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A strong product is great, but if you don’t build a strong brand, it won't sell. How are businesses and policy makers branding Connecticut-made products?</span></p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 17:51:25 +0000 Sujata Srinivasan 25666 at http://wnpr.org What's Behind the Connecticut-Made Brand? Connecticut's Share of Insurance Industry Continues to Decline http://wnpr.org/post/connecticuts-share-insurance-industry-continues-decline <p>A new analysis shows employment in the insurance industry is steadily recovering nationally. Connecticut’s share of the industry, however, has continued to decline.</p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 17:28:30 +0000 Harriet Jones 25626 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut's Share of Insurance Industry Continues to Decline States That Raised Minimum Wage See Faster Job Growth, Report Says http://wnpr.org/post/states-raised-minimum-wage-see-faster-job-growth-report-says New data released by the Department of Labor suggests that raising the minimum wage in some states might have spurred job growth, contrary to what critics said would happen.<p>In a report on Friday, the 13 states that raised their minimum wages on Jan. 1 have added jobs at a faster pace than those that did not. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 16:25:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 25564 at http://wnpr.org States That Raised Minimum Wage See Faster Job Growth, Report Says Microsoft Will Cut As Many As 18,000 Jobs http://wnpr.org/post/microsoft-will-cut-many-18000-jobs A large layoff is under way at Microsoft, as the technology company says it will cut 13,000 jobs in the next six months. All but 500 of the layoffs are related to the Nokia phone division the company acquired in April. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 12:33:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 25440 at http://wnpr.org Visa Makes Big Move To Boost Consumer Spending Online http://wnpr.org/post/visa-makes-big-move-boost-consumer-spending-online Here's an experience many of us have had: You're shopping on your smartphone. You click on the shoes or books you want. But then, when you get to the shopping cart, you abandon ship.<p>Visa says that's a big problem for retailers. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 21:16:00 +0000 editor 25420 at http://wnpr.org Visa Makes Big Move To Boost Consumer Spending Online Company Experiments With 3D-Printed Car http://wnpr.org/post/company-experiments-3d-printed-car 3D printers are capable of producing a variety of consumer products, from children’s toys to prosthetic limbs. Now, a company in the Phoenix area is trying to take the technology to the next level with cars. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 19:20:00 +0000 editor 25410 at http://wnpr.org Company Experiments With 3D-Printed Car Don't Fire The Comcast Guy, Says Caller Who Tried To Cancel http://wnpr.org/post/dont-fire-comcast-guy-says-caller-who-tried-cancel Ryan Block, whose hilariously tedious <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/2014/07/15/331681041/comcast-embarrassed-by-the-service-call-making-internet-rounds">customer service experience</a> with Comcast struck a chord with millions, says the customer service rep who harangued him should not be fired.<p>In a <a href="https://soundcloud.com/ryan-block-10/comcastic-service">phone call that went viral</a> (more than 4 million audio plays and counting), Block tries and nearly fails to cancel his Internet service because Comcast's unnamed customer service rep is frustratingly persis Wed, 16 Jul 2014 18:32:00 +0000 Elise Hu 25403 at http://wnpr.org Don't Fire The Comcast Guy, Says Caller Who Tried To Cancel Comcast 'Embarrassed' By The Service Call Making Internet Rounds http://wnpr.org/post/comcast-embarrassed-service-call-making-internet-rounds When a customer service call is described as <a href="http://gawker.com/hellish-comcast-call-sets-new-standard-for-shitty-custo-1605200994">"Kafkaesque" and "hellish,"</a> you pretty much know how it's going to go down before even taking a listen. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 17:15:00 +0000 Elise Hu 25325 at http://wnpr.org Comcast 'Embarrassed' By The Service Call Making Internet Rounds Connecticut Companies at World's Biggest Air Show http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-companies-worlds-biggest-air-show <p>Connecticut aerospace companies are front and center at the world’s largest air show on Monday.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">The </span>Farnborough<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Air Show in England alternates with Paris each year to host the biggest names in the world of aerospace.</span></p><p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 13:44:26 +0000 Harriet Jones 25243 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Companies at World's Biggest Air Show Citigroup Agrees To Pay $7 Billion To Resolve Mortgage Probe http://wnpr.org/post/citigroup-agrees-pay-7b-resolve-mortgage-investigation <a href="http://www.citigroup.com/citi/news/2014/140714a.htm">Citigroup said Monday</a> it had agreed to pay $7 billion to settle a federal investigation into subprime mortgages it sold in the run-up to the financial meltdown of 2008.<p>The deal covers mortgage-backed securities and collateralized debt obligations issued, structured or underwritten by Citi between 2003 and 2008, the company said in a statement on its website.<p>Citi said it would pay $4.5 billion in cash and $2.5 billion in consumer relief, which will be in the form of financing for affordable rental housing, principal reducti Mon, 14 Jul 2014 11:53:00 +0000 editor 25238 at http://wnpr.org Citigroup Agrees To Pay $7 Billion To Resolve Mortgage Probe Hartford Pulls Out of $60 Million Bond Plan For New Stadium http://wnpr.org/post/hartford-pulls-out-60-million-bond-plan-new-stadium <p>Hartford Mayor Pedro Segarra has withdrawn a resolution that would have bonded up to $60 million for a new minor league baseball stadium in Hartford.</p><p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 20:24:03 +0000 Ray Hardman 25144 at http://wnpr.org Hartford Pulls Out of $60 Million Bond Plan For New Stadium Berlin Limousine Firm Ordered to Pay $500,000 in Back Wages http://wnpr.org/post/berlin-limousine-firm-ordered-pay-500000-back-wages <p>A Berlin limousine firm has been ordered to pay its drivers half a million dollars in back wages and damages, after it failed to pay overtime for several years.</p><p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 18:59:50 +0000 Harriet Jones 25044 at http://wnpr.org Berlin Limousine Firm Ordered to Pay $500,000 in Back Wages The Amistad Bows Out of Sailfest, Citing Local News Coverage http://wnpr.org/post/amistad-bows-out-sailfest-citing-local-news-coverage <p>As New London gathers for its annual Sailfest, the operators of The Amistad say the famed schooner will no longer take part in the annual event.</p><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 18:47:03 +0000 Tucker Ives 24999 at http://wnpr.org The Amistad Bows Out of Sailfest, Citing Local News Coverage St. Mary's Hospital Opts for Tenet Healthcare Deal http://wnpr.org/post/st-marys-hospital-opts-tenet-healthcare-deal <p>A fifth hospital in Connecticut has announced plans to give up its not-for-profit status, and join the for-profit Tenet Healthcare group.</p><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 17:58:51 +0000 Harriet Jones 24997 at http://wnpr.org St. Mary's Hospital Opts for Tenet Healthcare Deal Pentagon Grounds All F-35s Amid Fire Investigation http://wnpr.org/post/pentagon-grounds-all-f-35s-amid-fire-investigation The Pentagon has grounded all of its <a href="http://www.npr.org/tags/133807265/f-35-joint-strike-fighter">F-35s</a> while it investigates the cause of a fire last month involving one of the jets.<p>In a statement late Thursday, <a href="http://www.defense.gov/Releases/Release.aspx?ReleaseID=16815">the Defense Department said</a> the decision was made based on initial findings from a runway fire incident June 23 at the Eglin Air Force Base in Florida. No one was hurt.<p>"The root cause of the incident remains under investigation," the statement said. Fri, 04 Jul 2014 15:37:00 +0000 editor 24754 at http://wnpr.org Pentagon Grounds All F-35s Amid Fire Investigation Business Climate: Is Connecticut Really That Bad? http://wnpr.org/post/business-climate-connecticut-really-bad <p>A recent study saw Connecticut <a href="http://www.cnbc.com/id/101758236?_cldee=bWVhZ2hhbi5tYWNkb25hbGRAY2JpYS5jb20%3d&amp;utm_source=ClickDimensions&amp;utm_medium=email&amp;utm_campaign=CD_NEWSROOM" target="_blank">drop once again in the ranking of business-friendly states</a>. According to CNBC, we’re now among the bottom five states in the nation in terms of our business climate.</p><p>There is a view out there, however, that things may not be so bad after all.</p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 03:02:59 +0000 Harriet Jones 24674 at http://wnpr.org Business Climate: Is Connecticut Really That Bad? Connecticut Studies Supreme Court Decision on Home Health Aides http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-studies-supreme-court-decision-home-health-aides <p>Governor Dannel Malloy’s office will study the implications of a Supreme Court <a href="http://apps.washingtonpost.com/g/page/politics/supreme-court-decision-on-public-union-dues/1143/" target="_blank">ruling </a>that weakens the power of unions to organize home health care workers.</p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 02:53:50 +0000 Harriet Jones 24579 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Studies Supreme Court Decision on Home Health Aides Voices From the Hardware City http://wnpr.org/post/voices-hardware-city <p><a href="http://wnpr.org/post/when-it-comes-paying-stadium-hartford-changes-course" target="_blank">New Britain may lose its baseball team to Hartford</a>,&nbsp;another blow to a city that, over the years, has lost many of its jobs, and many of the the iconic brands associated with the city. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 18:48:21 +0000 Catie Talarski 24575 at http://wnpr.org Voices From the Hardware City Can Technology Save the World? http://wnpr.org/post/can-technology-save-world <p>Let's take the most dire problem facing humankind: Climate change has so many negative implications it would take all day to list them. Meanwhile, there's the possibility of a sudden acceleration of a problem caused by the melting of Arctic ice, which exposes more ocean water to warming, which causes more melting, which causes more...well, you get the picture.</p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 14:02:45 +0000 Colin McEnroe, Betsy Kaplan & Chion Wolf 24567 at http://wnpr.org Can Technology Save the World? Facebook's Diversity Numbers Are Out, And They're What You Expect http://wnpr.org/post/facebooks-diversity-numbers-are-out-and-theyre-what-you-expect The summer of tech company demographic data dumps continues apace. Facebook is the latest big firm to share its staff's racial and gender breakdowns, following similar releases from <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/2014/05/29/317024113/googles-white-male-heavy-staff-underlines-techs-diversity-problem">Google</a> and <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/2014/06/17/323040120/how-yahoos-diversity-numbers-compare-to-googles">Yahoo</a>. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 14:57:00 +0000 Elise Hu 24321 at http://wnpr.org Facebook's Diversity Numbers Are Out, And They're What You Expect Yo Is The Buzzy App Of The Moment, Whether Yo Like It Or Not http://wnpr.org/post/yo-buzzy-app-moment-whether-yo-it-or-not <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BeLZCy-_m3s</p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 15:27:00 +0000 Elise Hu 23987 at http://wnpr.org Yo Is The Buzzy App Of The Moment, Whether Yo Like It Or Not Fairfield County a Mecca for Foreign Investment http://wnpr.org/post/fairfield-county-mecca-foreign-investment <p>Fairfield County had the highest proportion of employment provided by foreign-owned companies of any metro region in the country. The figures came in a new study on the impact of overseas investment in the U.S.</p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 11:50:52 +0000 Harriet Jones 23976 at http://wnpr.org Fairfield County a Mecca for Foreign Investment Carrier to Install New HVAC System in the Sistine Chapel http://wnpr.org/post/carrier-install-new-hvac-system-sistine-chapel <p>Farmington-based Carrier is to install a new heating, ventilation and air conditioning system in the Sistine Chapel as part of an effort to preserve the frescoes of Michelangelo.</p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 15:58:31 +0000 Harriet Jones 23851 at http://wnpr.org Carrier to Install New HVAC System in the Sistine Chapel Connecticut Creates Deep Water Port Authority http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-creates-deep-water-port-authority <p>Governor Dannel Malloy has signed into law a bill that will create a comprehensive port authority for the state of Connecticut.</p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 13:32:28 +0000 Harriet Jones 23837 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Creates Deep Water Port Authority Connecticut Vaccine Company Gets $50 Million in Federal Funding http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-vaccine-company-gets-50-million-federal-funding <p>Meriden’s Protein Sciences has been awarded a multi-million dollar extension to its contract with the federal government to provide flu vaccines.</p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 13:26:12 +0000 Harriet Jones 23836 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Vaccine Company Gets $50 Million in Federal Funding SunTrust To Pay Nearly $1 Billion For Mortgage Practices http://wnpr.org/post/suntrust-pay-nearly-1-billion-mortgage-practices SunTrust has agreed to pay $968 million as part of a settlement with the government over charges that it failed to comply with standards required for federally backed mortgages.<p>The settlement between SunTrust Mortgage and the Justice Department and other agencies includes money for homeowners and a requirement that the company improve its procedures for mortgage loans and foreclosures.<p><a href="http://online.wsj.com/articles/u-s-reaches-968m-settlement-with-suntrust-banks-over-mortgage-issues-1403033015"><em>The Wall Street Journal</em> reports:</a><p><blockquote><p>"The pact announced Tu Tue, 17 Jun 2014 22:51:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 23817 at http://wnpr.org