Morning Edition http://wnpr.org en Police Trace Heavy-Breathing Emergency Caller http://wnpr.org/post/police-trace-heavy-breathing-emergency-caller Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm David Greene. Police near London received a troubling emergency call. All the dispatcher could hear was heavy breathing. Cops rushed out to investigate and found the caller running through a yard. It was a dog with a wireless phone in its mouth. The Belgian Malinois named Layton must've tooth-dialed 999 - Britain's version of 911 - after snatching the phone from its owner. The owner told the Daily Mirror: He's downright naughty but I would never swap him. You're listening to MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 10:55:00 +0000 editor 20231 at http://wnpr.org Sad Panda In China Gets Her Own Play Area http://wnpr.org/post/sad-panda-china-gets-her-own-play-area Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Kelly McEvers, with news of a sad panda in China. Si Jia got depressed after her only companion moved to another zoo. She's now a happy panda. The zoo where she lives built her a mini-amusement park. And now the staff at the Yunnan Safari Park in Southwest China has given her a plasma TV, where she can watch other pandas at play. Si Jia was one of three giant pandas rescued after the 2008 Sichuan earthquake.<p>It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 10:36:00 +0000 editor 20228 at http://wnpr.org Tank Movement Increases Tensions In Eastern Ukraine http://wnpr.org/post/latest-eastern-ukraine Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Tensions remain very high this morning in Eastern Ukraine, where pro-Russia demonstrators stormed the city hall in the city of Donetsk. And there are now reports this morning of several Ukrainian armored personnel carriers on the move in some cities flying Russian flags. To try and sort out what's going on, we have NPR's Ari Shapiro on the line. He is in the Eastern Ukrainian city of Kramatorsk. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 10:14:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 20229 at http://wnpr.org Minority Tartars Consider Pragmatic Approach To Crimea Annexation http://wnpr.org/post/minority-tartars-consider-pragmatic-approach-crimea-annexation People in the newly annexed territory of Crimea are trying to figure out how to deal with their new status as part of Russia, rather than Ukraine. Tatars were vocal in their opposition to the Russian takeover of Crimea. That's because they remember their history of maltreatment under the Russian Empire and the Soviet Union. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 09:08:00 +0000 editor 20225 at http://wnpr.org Ex-Defense Secretary Rumsfeld Criticizes Tax System http://wnpr.org/post/last-word-business-25 Donald Rumsfeld has made complaining to the IRS a bit of a tradition. In this year's letter to the IRS he writes: I have absolutely no idea whether our tax returns and our tax payments are accurate. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 09:08:00 +0000 editor 20226 at http://wnpr.org Tremendously Gratifying To Win 2 Pulitzers, 'Post' Editor Says http://wnpr.org/post/tremendously-gratifying-win-2-pulitzer-prizes-post-editor-says Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>The Washington Post is celebrating a pair of Pulitzer Prizes this week. One is for a series on Americans who rely on food stamps. The other, a Public Service medal for stories based on the documents from former National Security Agency contractor Edward Snowden.<p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>The Post has won the Public Service medal many times before, including for its legendary Watergate coverage. But after years of circulation declines and painful staffing cuts, this year's prizes are especially sweet. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 09:08:00 +0000 editor 20227 at http://wnpr.org NBA's Regular Season Ends Wednesday, NHL Playoffs Begin http://wnpr.org/post/nbas-regular-season-ends-wednesday-nhl-playoffs-begin Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>It is time for sports now. March Madness is over. The Masters Golf Tournament is over. But there's absolutely no time at all for sports fans to catch their collective breath, not with the National Hockey League playoffs starting tonight and the NBA playoffs starting this weekend.<p>NPR's Tom Goldman is here to set the proverbial table for us. Tom, good morning.<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: Good morning, David.<p>GREENE: Let's start with hockey. I know you're as excited as I am about the NHL playoffs. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 09:08:00 +0000 editor 20223 at http://wnpr.org NYPD To Disband Controversial Unit That Spied On Muslims http://wnpr.org/post/nypd-disband-controversial-unit-spied-muslims The Demographics Unit was trying to root out terrorist threats, but never produced a usable lead. Kelly McEvers talks to journalist Matt Apuzzo, who won a Pulitzer Prize for his reporting on the unit. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 09:08:00 +0000 editor 20224 at http://wnpr.org Astronauts Will Soon Be Able To Eat Fresh Veggies In Space http://wnpr.org/post/astronauts-will-soon-be-able-eat-fresh-vegggies-space A plant growth chamber is headed to the International Space Station. It's called Veggie and it sort of looks like a pillow that you can see through, all lit up in pink, with lettuce inside. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 10:58:00 +0000 editor 20166 at http://wnpr.org 'Captain Underpants' 2013's Most Vilified Book http://wnpr.org/post/captain-underpants-2013s-most-vilified-book Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Kelly McEvers.<p>The top spot on the American Library Association's annual list of most challenged books goes to "The Adventures of Captain Underpants," for the second year in a row. The series got the most formal complaints in a list compiled by librarians across the country. The graphic children's novels feature a superhero in his skivvies fighting villains like Dr. Diaper, which, believe it or not, earned the books more complaints than the very adult book "Fifty Shades of Grey."<p>It's MORNING EDITION. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 10:51:00 +0000 editor 20167 at http://wnpr.org Empathy: How Should We Care About One Another? http://wnpr.org/post/empathy-how-should-we-care-about-one-another Kelly McEvers talks to Leslie Jamison, author of the new essay collection, The Empathy Exams: Essays. The book takes the writer on a quest to figure out how others feel empathy. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 09:17:00 +0000 editor 20160 at http://wnpr.org Florida's Freshwater Springs Attract Vacationers http://wnpr.org/post/floridas-freshwater-springs-attract-spring-breakers Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>All right. If I say Florida and Spring Break, you might be conjuring images of beaches, cocktails, theme parks. Well, some of our reporters have been sending suggestions for more off-the-beaten-path destinations and NPR's Greg Allen takes us to Florida and the state's fresh waters springs.<p>GREG ALLEN, BYLINE: There are several hundred springs in Florida. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 09:17:00 +0000 Greg Allen 20161 at http://wnpr.org Russia's Move Into Ukraine Turns Allies Into Adversaries http://wnpr.org/post/russias-move-ukraine-turns-allies-adversaries Russia and Ukraine were the major contributors to the Soviet army. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, Moscow and Kiev continued to cooperate. The recent crisis transformed friend into foe. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 09:17:00 +0000 editor 20162 at http://wnpr.org 'Washington Post' And 'Guardian' Win Pulitzer For NSA Stories http://wnpr.org/post/washington-post-and-guardian-win-pulitzer-nsa-stories Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>The Pulitzer Prizes for Journalism were announced yesterday. The prestigious award was given out for coverage of the Boston Marathon bombing, also stories on coal miners and photos of a terrorist attack in Kenya.<p>And as NPR's Mandalit del Barco reports, also singled out was coverage of the leaking of top secret government documents.<p>MANDALIT DEL BARCO, BYLINE: This year's Pulitzer Prize for Public Service rewarded news coverage about government spying based on illegal leaks from former National Security Agency contractor Edward Snowden. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 09:17:00 +0000 editor 20163 at http://wnpr.org Boston To Pay Tribute To Victims Of Last Year's Bombing http://wnpr.org/post/boston-pay-tribute-victims-last-years-bombing Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Kelly McEvers.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene, good morning.<p>One year ago today, the Boston Marathon became more than just one of the world's major sporting events. It became a target. As runners crossed the finish line just before 3:00 in the afternoon, two bombs exploded. Three people were killed and dozens more were wounded. This year the marathon is scheduled for next week. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 09:17:00 +0000 Jeff Brady 20164 at http://wnpr.org Retailers Want Your Tax Refund http://wnpr.org/post/last-word-business-24 It's the deadline to file your taxes. And if you're getting a money back, retailers want it. They're offering sales and promotions to separate you from your hard-earned refund. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 09:17:00 +0000 editor 20168 at http://wnpr.org Treadmill Users Can Use App To Run London Marathon http://wnpr.org/post/treadmill-users-can-use-app-run-london-marathon Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>Good morning, I'm Kelly McEvers. So the London Marathon happened yesterday, but runners who missed it will soon be able to run it from the gym. Race organizers are releasing an app for treadmill users creating a high definition virtual reality London marathon experience. The app senses your pace and sends you down the route in real time, past some famous landmarks, Buckingham palace and all that and spares you from London's famous rain. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 11:33:00 +0000 editor 20107 at http://wnpr.org Waste Treatment Plant Boasts It's Pefect For Weddings http://wnpr.org/post/waste-treatment-plant-boasts-its-pefect-weddings The plant in King County, Wash., is billed as offering beautiful landscape, a dance floor, catering, and space for guests. All at a fifth of the price of competing venues. It promises zero odor. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 11:18:00 +0000 editor 20104 at http://wnpr.org Don Draper, The Truth Is: You Lied http://wnpr.org/post/don-draper-truth-you-lied <em>***For </em>Mad Men<em> fans who missed Sunday night's Season 7 premiere, be warned: There are spoilers below. </em><p>Don Draper finally told the truth, and it ruined his life.<p>Perhaps that shouldn't have been such a surprise. Because Don has mostly been a master of the lie — especially in the form of an ad pitch. And he never lost his touch: He suckered everyone last season with one of his best pitches for Hershey's chocolate bars.<p>Facing a roomful of Hershey's executives, he told a heartwarming story of getting one of their candy bars as a reward for mowing the lawn. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 10:41:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 20105 at http://wnpr.org Don Draper, The Truth Is: You Lied Despite Havoc, Syrian War Sparks Hope Among Kurdish Minority http://wnpr.org/post/despite-violence-syrian-war-sparks-hope-among-kurdish-minority With Syria in chaos, minority Kurds there hope they can realize long-standing ambitions for autonomy. Kurds who fled to northern Iraq from Syria will press those demands when they finally go home. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 08:59:00 +0000 editor 20100 at http://wnpr.org Ahead Of Midterm Elections, Obama Focuses On Voting Rights http://wnpr.org/post/politics-news-6 President Obama's weekly address dealt with the question of women and equal pay. On Friday, he went to a forum organized by civil rights activist Al Sharpton where he talked about voting rights. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 08:59:00 +0000 editor 20101 at http://wnpr.org Ukraine Vows To Reclaim Occupied Towns By Force http://wnpr.org/post/ukraine-vows-reclaim-occupied-towns-force Tensions are growing between pro-Russian militants and Ukrainian forces in eastern Ukraine. The new Ukrainian government has pledged a "very tough" response to those occupying government buildings. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 08:59:00 +0000 editor 20102 at http://wnpr.org Breakup Text Is Evidence In Engagement Ring Lawsuit http://wnpr.org/post/breakup-text-evidence-engagement-ring-lawsuit A judge in Buffalo, N.Y., ruled a woman can keep her engagement ring after her fiance broke things off with a text. Jokingly or not, the man wrote she could keep the "$50,000 parting ring." Fri, 11 Apr 2014 11:37:00 +0000 editor 19978 at http://wnpr.org When It Comes To Presidential Libraries, Size Matters http://wnpr.org/post/when-it-comes-presidential-libraries-size-matters George W. Bush explained to a crowd gathered at the LBJ presidential library in Austin, Texas, why the libraries are a competitive thing for former presidents. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 11:37:00 +0000 editor 19979 at http://wnpr.org Tech Alternatives To Passwords Could Help Thwart Hackers http://wnpr.org/post/tech-alternatives-passwords-could-help-thwart-hackers A bug called Heartbleed has revealed a hole in one of the most popular encryption programs online. Tech professionals are working on other ways to protect your data beside needing a password. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 10:51:00 +0000 editor 19974 at http://wnpr.org Obama, Bush Mark Passage Of 1964 Civil Rights Act http://wnpr.org/post/obama-bush-mark-passage-1964-civil-rights-act Barack Obama and George W. Bush, two U.S. presidents with little in common in terms of policy, personal style and politics, each paid tribute to the legacy of President Lyndon Johnson. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 10:44:00 +0000 Don Gonyea 19975 at http://wnpr.org A Trip Into Odessa's Rich, Dark History http://wnpr.org/post/trip-odessas-rich-dark-history As Ukraine seeks international help to bring Crimea back from Russian control, residents of Odessa watching warily. The historic Black Sea port has been conquered repeatedly throughout history. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 10:11:00 +0000 Peter Kenyon 19973 at http://wnpr.org Health Secretary Kathleen Sebelius To Step Down http://wnpr.org/post/health-secretary-kathleen-sebelius-step-down The move comes about 6 months after the disastrous roll out of the health insurance website. It was eventually fixed, but not before delivering a severe blow to the president's approval ratings. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 09:20:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 19970 at http://wnpr.org Groups Disagree Over How To Aid Syrians Caught In Civil War http://wnpr.org/post/groups-disagree-over-how-aid-syrians-caught-civil-war Aid has only trickled into Syria since the U.N. Security Council passed a resolution calling for more access to the country. Aid workers say bureaucratic obstacles continue to be a major problem. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 09:20:00 +0000 editor 19971 at http://wnpr.org Amazon Buys Digital Comics Company ComiXology http://wnpr.org/post/last-word-business-23 The company makes a mobile app for buying and reading digital comics, including titles from Marvel and DC Comics. The terms of the deal have not been disclosed. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 09:20:00 +0000 editor 19972 at http://wnpr.org