Here and Now http://wnpr.org en Recipes To Make The Most Of Summer Tomatoes http://wnpr.org/post/recipes-make-most-summer-tomatoes <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now</a></em> resident chef <strong>Kathy Gunst</strong> joins hosts Jeremy Hobson and Meghna Chakrabarti with the summer&#8217;s bounties from her garden &#8212; tomatoes of all shapes and sizes. Thu, 21 Aug 2014 18:19:00 +0000 editor 27326 at http://wnpr.org Recipes To Make The Most Of Summer Tomatoes The Challenges Of Recruiting An All-Volunteer Army http://wnpr.org/post/challenges-recruiting-all-volunteer-army The U.S. Army has been an all-volunteer force for more than 40 years because there is no military draft anymore. That means the service has to attract young men and women to sign up.<p>And according to the Army&#8217;s numbers they&#8217;re pretty good at it. Thu, 21 Aug 2014 18:19:00 +0000 editor 27327 at http://wnpr.org The Challenges Of Recruiting An All-Volunteer Army CDC Director On Release Of American Ebola Patients http://wnpr.org/post/cdc-director-release-american-ebola-patients As both American Ebola patients who were brought from Liberia to Atlanta for treatment are released, <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#8217;</a></em>s Jeremy Hobson speaks to <strong>Tom Frieden</strong>, director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).<p><ul> <li><strong>Related:</strong> <a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/2014/08/21/ebola-patients-released" target="_blank">American Ebola Patients Released From Hospital</a></li> </ul> <h4>Guest</h4> <ul> <li><a href="http://www.cdc.gov/about/leadership/director.htm" target="_blank"><strong>Tom Frieden</st Thu, 21 Aug 2014 18:19:00 +0000 editor 27328 at http://wnpr.org CDC Director On Release Of American Ebola Patients Modern-Day Dust Bowl Isn't Easy, But It Beats The 1930s http://wnpr.org/post/modern-day-dust-bowl-isnt-easy-it-beats-1930s The historic drought that continues to hammer the West shows no signs off abating. Most of California remains in severe drought conditions, with its groundwater aquifers in danger of being depleted. Officials in Los Angeles have beefed up their use of &#8220;water cops&#8221; to make sure people aren&#8217;t wasting water.<p>Meanwhile, in the plains and on the panhandle, it's been drier than it was during the Dust Bowl of the 1930s. And yet, many farmers are surviving. Wed, 20 Aug 2014 19:13:00 +0000 editor 27273 at http://wnpr.org Modern-Day Dust Bowl Isn't Easy, But It Beats The 1930s Bumper U.S. Corn Yield Could Top Records http://wnpr.org/post/bumper-us-corn-yield-could-top-records Early rains, cooler temperatures and hardier seeds have led to projections of a record harvest of corn this year. Wed, 20 Aug 2014 19:07:00 +0000 editor 27272 at http://wnpr.org In Liberia, Ebola Quarantine Sparks Riots http://wnpr.org/post/liberia-ebola-quarantine-sparks-riots In Liberia this morning, security forces attempted to quarantine the West Point neighborhood in the capital Monrovia, but residents broke out in a riot.<p>The Ebola holding center in West Point has been keeping residents on edge. Wed, 20 Aug 2014 19:07:00 +0000 editor 27274 at http://wnpr.org In Liberia, Ebola Quarantine Sparks Riots Man Dead After Officer-Involved Shooting In St. Louis http://wnpr.org/post/man-dead-after-officer-involved-shooting-st-louis Authorities in St. Louis say a man has been shot dead by police after brandishing a knife at officers. The shooting took place in the north St. Tue, 19 Aug 2014 19:53:00 +0000 editor 27219 at http://wnpr.org How Flight Changed The World - And What Might Be Next http://wnpr.org/post/how-flight-changed-world-and-what-might-be-next Today is National Aviation Day, the date chosen in part because it&#8217;s the birthday of Orville Wright, who flew the very first airplane in 1903, with his brother Wilbur Wright.<p>Astronaut Neil Armstrong carried at piece of wood and some fabric from the Wright brothers&#8217; 1903 flyer to the moon, connecting the first airplane flight to space exploration.<p><strong>Tom Crouch</strong> of the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum told <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#8217;</a></em>s Jeremy Hobson that Wilbur and Orville Wright changed the human mind with the inven Tue, 19 Aug 2014 18:16:00 +0000 editor 27209 at http://wnpr.org How Flight Changed The World - And What Might Be Next California Tries To Lure Film Industry Back Home http://wnpr.org/post/california-tries-lure-film-industry-back-home California has watched its dominance over the film and TV industry wane as other states, and even other countries, offer producers lucrative tax incentives. This has cost the state thousands of jobs and millions of dollars in lost economic output.<p>Now California is fighting back. Tue, 19 Aug 2014 18:16:00 +0000 editor 27210 at http://wnpr.org Home Construction Jumps, Even As Housing Market Cools http://wnpr.org/post/home-construction-jumps-even-housing-market-cools <a href="http://www.census.gov/construction/nrc/pdf/newresconst.pdf" target="_blank">New data</a> from the Commerce Department on home construction shows new construction climbed more than 15 percent in July from the previous month, and applications for building permits jumped 8 percent.<p>Home sales are down in the U.S., surprising many economists who predicted an improved housing market would help spur the economy. Foreclosures have slowed, and some of the country&#8217;s hottest markets have cooled after a two-year rebound. Tue, 19 Aug 2014 18:16:00 +0000 editor 27211 at http://wnpr.org Dollar General Makes $9.7 Billion Bid For Family Dollar http://wnpr.org/post/dollar-general-makes-97-billion-bid-family-dollar Today, Dollar General said it wants to buy Family Dollar in an all-cash deal worth $9.7 billion. Mon, 18 Aug 2014 18:45:00 +0000 editor 27157 at http://wnpr.org Dollar General Makes $9.7 Billion Bid For Family Dollar Revisiting Tom Hardy's Solo Performance In 'Locke' http://wnpr.org/post/revisiting-tom-hardys-solo-performance-locke &#8220;Locke,&#8221; a film about a construction manager whose life unravels as he drives from Birmingham to London, was one of the top DVD rentals of the weekend, according to Redbox.<p>The film&#8217;s star, <strong>Tom Hardy</strong>, is the sole actor to appear onscreen. Mon, 18 Aug 2014 18:45:00 +0000 editor 27155 at http://wnpr.org One Key To Getting A Green Card: Luck http://wnpr.org/post/one-key-getting-green-card-luck Last year, while the president and Congress were arguing over the future of comprehensive immigration reform, nearly a million people got a green card &#8212; permission to live legally and permanently &#8212; in the United States.<p>A green card is the ultimate prize for would-be immigrants across the globe, but getting one is very difficult. Mon, 18 Aug 2014 18:45:00 +0000 editor 27156 at http://wnpr.org One Key To Getting A Green Card: Luck Phoenix Public Schools Compete For Students http://wnpr.org/post/phoenix-public-schools-compete-students It&#8217;s still August, but school has already started up in some parts of the country. And even though classes may be underway, the effort to get more students enrolled continues at full speed.<p>It&#8217;s not only private schools that are marketing themselves to prospective students and their parents. Fri, 15 Aug 2014 23:14:00 +0000 editor 27050 at http://wnpr.org Phoenix Public Schools Compete For Students Panama Canal Turns 100 http://wnpr.org/post/panama-canal-turns-100 The Panama Canal opened 100 years ago today. As it celebrates its centennial, the canal is also undergoing an expansion. Fri, 15 Aug 2014 23:14:00 +0000 editor 27051 at http://wnpr.org Panama Canal Turns 100 Malls On The Decline Find New Ways To Stay Relevant http://wnpr.org/post/malls-decline-find-new-ways-stay-relevant Shopping malls are a part of American culture &#8212; people go to malls to socialize, eat and, of course, buy. Fri, 15 Aug 2014 19:03:48 +0000 editor 27035 at http://wnpr.org Malls On The Decline Find New Ways To Stay Relevant Self Portraits, Nashville Style http://wnpr.org/post/self-portraits-nashville-style Most people aren't in the habit of making self portraits, especially not with rubber stamps and an ink pad. Thu, 14 Aug 2014 18:36:00 +0000 editor 26963 at http://wnpr.org Self Portraits, Nashville Style Eventful Summer For Women In Male Sports http://wnpr.org/post/eventful-summer-women-male-sports It&#8217;s been an eventful summer so far for women in male sports.<p>The San Antonio Spurs just hired Becky Hammon as a full-time assistant coach. Thu, 14 Aug 2014 18:36:00 +0000 editor 26964 at http://wnpr.org Eventful Summer For Women In Male Sports Virginia Sen. Kaine On The U.S. Intervention In Iraq http://wnpr.org/post/virginia-sen-kaine-us-intervention-iraq The Pentagon now says a large-scale refugee operation to save people stranded on Mt. Sinjar in northern Iraq probably won&#8217;t be needed. That&#8217;s because a U.S. team on the ground there found fewer refugees than first thought, and said that thousands of Yazidis, a religious minority, had already fled.<p>The United Nation has declared its highest level of emergency in northern Iraq, where more than one million people have been displaced by the Islamic State, the Sunni-led militant group that has taken over large swaths of northern Iraq. The U.S. Thu, 14 Aug 2014 18:36:00 +0000 editor 26965 at http://wnpr.org Virginia Sen. Kaine On The U.S. Intervention In Iraq DJ Sessions: Country's Vast Age Range http://wnpr.org/post/dj-sessions-countrys-vast-age-range <strong>Marcia Campbell</strong> of &#8220;The WSM All Nighter&#8221; show on 650 AM WSM in Nashville joins <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now&#8217;</a></em>s Jeremy Hobson for the latest installment of DJ Sessions.<p>She tells us about a number of young up-and-coming artists, including Emi Sunshine, who is just 10 years old. Tue, 12 Aug 2014 19:36:00 +0000 editor 26850 at http://wnpr.org DJ Sessions: Country's Vast Age Range Red Tide Approaches Florida http://wnpr.org/post/red-tide-approaches-florida A massive algae bloom known as red tide is encroaching on the Gulf Coast of Florida.<p>Researchers say it&#8217;s killing thousands of fish and other sea animals.<p>The algae are a natural part of life in the gulf &#8212; the blood-red blooms have been showing up in the water around Florida for centuries. This newest tide is the largest the state has seen in nearly 10 years. Tue, 12 Aug 2014 19:36:00 +0000 editor 26851 at http://wnpr.org Red Tide Approaches Florida Gaza Protests In Germany Stir Debate Over Anti-Semitism http://wnpr.org/post/gaza-protests-germany-stir-debate-over-anti-semitism Across Europe, the conflict between Israel and Gaza has sparked large protests, including in Germany, home to around four million Muslims, or 5 percent of the population. Dozens of demonstrations against Israel&#8217;s policy in Gaza have been held across the country over the last few weeks.<p>But because Nazi Germany engineered the Holocaust, many Germans today feel uncomfortable criticizing Israel.<p>And the protests have sparked a fierce debate about whether the country is a seeing a rise in anti-Semitism. Tue, 12 Aug 2014 19:36:00 +0000 editor 26852 at http://wnpr.org Gaza Protests In Germany Stir Debate Over Anti-Semitism 30 Rockefeller Plaza To Get A Facelift http://wnpr.org/post/30-rockefeller-plaza-get-facelift One of the most recognizable buildings in New York City is getting a makeover.<p>The art deco building at 30 Rockefeller Plaza (&#8220;30 Rock&#8221;) &#8212; the headquarters of NBC &#8212; will be getting new LED-lit signs on three of its facades bearing the name of Comcast, NBC&#8217;s latest corporate owner.<p>This will replace the neon G.E. Mon, 11 Aug 2014 19:28:00 +0000 editor 26778 at http://wnpr.org 30 Rockefeller Plaza To Get A Facelift Waiters Not The Only Ones Paid Below Minimum Wage http://wnpr.org/post/waiters-not-only-ones-paid-below-minimum-wage Not every worker makes minimum wage. Waiters, for instance, rely on tips to round out much of their pay.<p>From the <em><a href="http://hereandnow.wbur.org/">Here & Now</a></em> Contributors Network, <strong>Wilson Sayre</strong> of WLRN brings us a story about another type of worker that relies on tips: airport wheelchair pushers, who also make less than minimum wage. Mon, 11 Aug 2014 19:28:00 +0000 editor 26779 at http://wnpr.org Waiters Not The Only Ones Paid Below Minimum Wage FBI To Investigate Fatal Shooting Of Teen In St. Louis Suburb http://wnpr.org/post/fbi-investigate-fatal-shooting-teen-st-louis-suburb The FBI has said it will investigate the fatal police shooting of Michael Brown, an African American 18-year-old. Authorities say a police officer shot the unarmed Brown after the teen allegedly attacked him.<p>The incident sparked protests, violence and looting. Today, more than 100 protesters gathered outside the Ferguson, Mo. police station in suburban St. Louis to demand answers.<p>Teachers called Brown a &#8220;gentle giant&#8221; who was to begin college in a few days. Mon, 11 Aug 2014 19:28:00 +0000 editor 26780 at http://wnpr.org FBI To Investigate Fatal Shooting Of Teen In St. Louis Suburb Will Marijuana Follow In The Steps Of Big Tobacco? http://wnpr.org/post/will-marijuana-follow-steps-big-tobacco The New York Times this week carried its first-ever <a href="http://blog.sfgate.com/smellthetruth/files/2014/08/nytweedad.jpg" target="_blank">full-page ad for a marijuana company</a>. It&#8217;s a Seattle-based firm called Leafly, which is like &#8220;Yelp&#8221; for pot, giving reviews of different strains of cannabis and places where you can buy it.<p>The ad is renewing the debate over how marijuana advertising should be regulated, as medical and recreational marijuana becomes legal in more states. Fri, 08 Aug 2014 18:55:00 +0000 editor 26667 at http://wnpr.org Tropical Storm Iselle Makes Landfall On Hawaii http://wnpr.org/post/tropical-storm-iselle-makes-landfall-hawaii The National Weather Service says the eye of Tropical Storm Iselle has made landfall on Hawaii&#8217;s Big Island.<p>It is the first hurricane or tropical storm to hit the state in 22 years, and another hurricane is following in its path. Hurricane Julio, a Category 3 storm, is about 1,000 miles behind in the Pacific.<p>Iselle&#8217;s eye swept onto shore about 5 miles east of Pahala with winds at 60 mph at 2:30 a.m. Fri, 08 Aug 2014 18:55:00 +0000 The Associated Press 26668 at http://wnpr.org Tropical Storm Iselle Makes Landfall On Hawaii On Stage: Christian Rap At Rap Fest http://wnpr.org/post/stage-christian-rap-rap-fest &#8220;On Stage&#8221; is our weekly look at what&#8217;s happening on the boards across the country, from comedy shows to poetry slams to music festivals.<p>Today, we turn now to <a href="http://www.rapfestinc.com/" target="_blank">Rap Fest</a>, a Christian rap outreach festival tomorrow in the Bronx in Vidalia Park. Fri, 08 Aug 2014 18:55:00 +0000 editor 26666 at http://wnpr.org On Stage: Christian Rap At Rap Fest 'Brokeback Mountain' Composer Releases New Album, 'Camino' http://wnpr.org/post/brokeback-mountain-composer-releases-new-album-camino The haunting theme music from the 2005 film &#8220;Brokeback Mountain&#8221; earned musician <strong>Gustavo Santaolalla</strong> the first of his two Oscars. He got a second the following year for his work on &#8220;Babel.&#8221; The Argentine composer, who moved to the U.S. Thu, 07 Aug 2014 18:37:00 +0000 editor 26598 at http://wnpr.org 'Brokeback Mountain' Composer Releases New Album, 'Camino' Company Seeks Approval For Experimental Ebola Drug http://wnpr.org/post/company-seeks-approval-experimental-ebola-drug There is no known cure for the Ebola virus, but a number of labs have been working on one. The two American relief workers recently flown back from Liberia have been receiving an experimental treatment produced by a company in San Diego.<p>Another company, Cambridge, Mass.-based Sarepta Therapeutics, also has an experimental drug. Thu, 07 Aug 2014 18:37:00 +0000 editor 26599 at http://wnpr.org Company Seeks Approval For Experimental Ebola Drug