Harriet Jones http://wnpr.org en Rowland's Woes Ripple Through 2014 Campaigns http://wnpr.org/post/rowlands-woes-ripple-through-2014-campaigns <p>John Rowland may have been out of office for years, but both Democrats and Republicans are still calculating what his latest troubles may mean for this year's campaigns.</p><p>It didn't take long for the positioning to begin -- just a few hours after Rowland was indicted, the Connecticut Democratic Party <a href="http://ctdems.org/2014/04/dinardo-to-foley-did-you-compensate-john-rowland-for-campaign-help/" target="_blank">issued a press release</a> trying to tie Republican front runner Tom Foley to the former Governor's alleged wrongdoing.</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 19:35:44 +0000 Harriet Jones 20013 at http://wnpr.org Rowland's Woes Ripple Through 2014 Campaigns UConn Partners With Comcast on Cyber Security http://wnpr.org/post/uconn-partners-comcast-cyber-security <p>UConn will partner with cable giant Comcast on a new center to study cyber security.</p><p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 19:28:41 +0000 Harriet Jones 20011 at http://wnpr.org UConn Partners With Comcast on Cyber Security UConn Bonds See Record Orders http://wnpr.org/post/uconn-bonds-see-record-orders <p>UConn's basketball dominance is great for school spirit, but it's also helping raise money the university puts towards improving its facilities.</p><p>Each year, the state treasurer's office issues UConn Bonds. If you buy them, you're investing in things like the improvements to the university's health center, or building new dorms or study halls on its various campuses.</p><p>Assistant Treasurer Sarah Sanders said they've always sold well each year since they were first issued in 1995. But this year was special.</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 19:19:48 +0000 Harriet Jones 20007 at http://wnpr.org UConn Bonds See Record Orders E-Cigarette Bill Would Ban Marketing to Kids http://wnpr.org/post/e-cigarette-bill-would-ban-marketing-kids <p>Two members of Connecticut's congressional delegation have launched a bill that would ban companies from marketing e-cigarettes to children.</p><p>But they ran into some vocal opposition during a press conference to launch the legislation.</p><p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 17:26:15 +0000 Harriet Jones 19782 at http://wnpr.org E-Cigarette Bill Would Ban Marketing to Kids Bill Could Net the State $100 Million a Year From Low-Wage Employers http://wnpr.org/post/bill-could-net-state-100-million-year-low-wage-employers <p>A new analysis says large companies that allow their workers to rely on state assistance could be heavily penalized by a law currently being considered by the state legislature.</p><p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 15:59:55 +0000 Harriet Jones 19712 at http://wnpr.org Bill Could Net the State $100 Million a Year From Low-Wage Employers Manufacturers in Connecticut Continue to Seek Qualified Workers http://wnpr.org/post/manufacturers-connecticut-continue-seek-qualified-workers <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Connecticut’s manufacturers have a lot more confidence in the future of their companies, according to a new survey. But they're more cautious about the future of the state.</span></p><p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 19:43:35 +0000 Harriet Jones 19605 at http://wnpr.org Manufacturers in Connecticut Continue to Seek Qualified Workers Pfizer to Host Bioscience Incubator http://wnpr.org/post/pfizer-host-bioscience-incubator <p>A new bioscience incubator will be created in an empty building on the Groton campus of drug giant Pfizer. The state will also move its data center to the site.</p><p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 20:50:20 +0000 Harriet Jones 19495 at http://wnpr.org Pfizer to Host Bioscience Incubator New Limits Proposed for Connecticut's Independent Electric Suppliers http://wnpr.org/post/new-limits-proposed-connecticuts-independent-electric-suppliers <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">P</span>roposed new legislation would set new limits on Connecticut's independent electric suppliers, curbing what state officials are calling deceptive practices. The bill was introduced by Governor Dannel Malloy, Attorney General George Jepsen, and Consumer Counsel Elin Katz.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 18:33:27 +0000 Harriet Jones 19470 at http://wnpr.org New Limits Proposed for Connecticut's Independent Electric Suppliers Sikorsky Pays Millions to Settle Pricing Allegations http://wnpr.org/post/sikorsky-pays-millions-settle-pricing-allegations <p>Helicopter maker Sikorsky has agreed to pay $3.5 million to settle allegations that it overcharged the military for spare parts.</p><p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 17:23:01 +0000 Harriet Jones 19392 at http://wnpr.org Sikorsky Pays Millions to Settle Pricing Allegations Manufacturing World Coming to Hartford http://wnpr.org/post/manufacturing-world-coming-hartford <p>This spring Hartford will once again play host to the biggest names in the world of manufacturing, as the <a href="http://www.mfg4event.com/2014/public/mainhall.aspx" target="_blank">MFG4 conference comes to town</a>.</p><p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 15:09:59 +0000 Harriet Jones 19208 at http://wnpr.org Manufacturing World Coming to Hartford Governor Malloy Signs Minimum Wage Law in New Britain http://wnpr.org/post/governor-malloy-signs-minimum-wage-law-new-britain <p>President Obama has congratulated Connecticut for becoming the first state to officially endorse his goal for the minimum wage. The General Assembly on Wednesday night passed a bill that will raise the wage to $10.10 an hour by 2017.</p><p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 11:51:45 +0000 Harriet Jones 19129 at http://wnpr.org Governor Malloy Signs Minimum Wage Law in New Britain Connecticut General Assembly Passes Minimum Wage Bill http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-general-assembly-passes-minimum-wage-bill <p>The Connecticut General Assembly passed a bill that would raise Connecticut's minimum wage to $10.10 an hour by 2017. The legislation makes the state the first in the nation to endorse President Barack Obama's goal for the national minimum wage.</p><p>Republican senators offered a variety of amendments to the bill, but all were been defeated. &nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 23:22:22 +0000 Harriet Jones 19052 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut General Assembly Passes Minimum Wage Bill Minimum Wage Hike Has Mixed Effects http://wnpr.org/post/minimum-wage-hike-has-mixed-effects <p>A new analysis from UConn claims that Connecticut may suffer some real economic pain from the minimum wage increase that went into effect this year.</p><p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 17:49:53 +0000 Harriet Jones 19000 at http://wnpr.org Minimum Wage Hike Has Mixed Effects Bill Aims to Strike Obsolete Regulations http://wnpr.org/post/bill-aims-strike-obsolete-regulations <p>Governor Dannel Malloy <a href="http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&amp;bill_num=5049&amp;which_year=2014&amp;SUBMIT1.x=0&amp;SUBMIT1.y=0&amp;SUBMIT1=Normal" target="_blank">has submitted a bill</a> that would eliminate about a thousand pages of regulation that's currently on the state's books.&nbsp;</p><p>The regulations dealt with in the bill are pretty obscure. Malloy's office has dubbed them obsolete, duplicative or excessively burdensome.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 17:39:32 +0000 Harriet Jones 18999 at http://wnpr.org Bill Aims to Strike Obsolete Regulations Effects of Potential Connecticut Tribal Recognitions in Debate http://wnpr.org/post/effects-potential-connecticut-tribal-recognitions-debate <p>Federal authorities are considering changes to tribal recognition procedures and it could have a unique impact on Connecticut. But it's unclear exactly what rights any newly recognized tribes would have.</p><p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 15:44:34 +0000 Harriet Jones 18619 at http://wnpr.org Effects of Potential Connecticut Tribal Recognitions in Debate Jackson Labs "On Schedule and On Budget" http://wnpr.org/post/jackson-labs-schedule-and-budget <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Connecticut officials have welcomed a report on the progress of the Jackson Laboratory site in Farmington. Jackson Labs said its </span><a href="http://www.jax.org/ct/jax-genomic-medicine-webcam.html" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">new facility</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> is on schedule and on budget.</span></p><p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 14:49:07 +0000 Harriet Jones 18620 at http://wnpr.org Jackson Labs "On Schedule and On Budget" Connecticut Job Numbers Tell a Complicated Story http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-job-numbers-tell-complicated-story <p><a href="http://www1.ctdol.state.ct.us/lmi/laborsit.asp" target="_blank">The latest employment report from the state Department of Labor</a> showed a hopeful pick-up in job creation in Connecticut last year. But it also revealed a big loss in jobs in the first month of this year.</p><p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 14:24:19 +0000 Harriet Jones 18550 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Job Numbers Tell a Complicated Story Legislature Hears Testimony on "Aid in Dying" http://wnpr.org/post/legislature-hears-testimony-aid-dying <p>The legislature's Public Health Committee is slated to hear testimony Monday on a bill which would allow physicians to help terminally ill patients to end their lives.</p><p>The so called aid-in-dying legislation is likely to draw impassioned advocates on both sides.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 13:40:43 +0000 Harriet Jones 18549 at http://wnpr.org Legislature Hears Testimony on "Aid in Dying" Hospitals Plead for Tax Phase-Out http://wnpr.org/post/hospitals-plead-tax-phase-out <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Hospital executives and employees spoke out at a legislative hearing about the imposition of a tax that they said has had a detrimental effect on patient care in recent years.</span></p><p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 14:04:10 +0000 Harriet Jones 18428 at http://wnpr.org Hospitals Plead for Tax Phase-Out Youth Unemployment Remains at Record Levels http://wnpr.org/post/youth-unemployment-remains-record-levels <p>Youth unemployment has persisted at record levels since the recession, in Connecticut and around the nation. That’s the finding of a new study which takes a look at the issues of young people trying to enter the workforce in the last decade.</p><p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 13:54:47 +0000 Harriet Jones 18427 at http://wnpr.org Youth Unemployment Remains at Record Levels State-Sponsored Retirement Plan Attracts Supporters, Critics http://wnpr.org/post/state-sponsored-retirement-plan-attracts-supporters-critics <p>Legislators want to create a state-sponsored retirement plan for private sector workers in Connecticut.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">A bill before lawmakers would task the state treasurer with administering a low-cost plan that residents could pay into.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 14:16:47 +0000 Harriet Jones 18365 at http://wnpr.org State-Sponsored Retirement Plan Attracts Supporters, Critics Connecticut Housing Market Posts Best Year Since 2005 http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-housing-market-posts-best-year-2005 <p>Connecticut's housing market continued to improve in January, and market-watchers said it's possible the state could see big gains in the spring selling season.</p><p>The state also saw distinct improvement in its housing market activity for the full year of 2013, with sales up six percent and prices rising&nbsp;8.3 percent over the year. The numbers come from the Warren Group, a real estate data firm, and it marks the best full year results for the Connecticut market since 2005, before the market crash.</p><p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 13:58:52 +0000 Harriet Jones 18362 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Housing Market Posts Best Year Since 2005 UTC Deal Questioned Over Lack of Hiring Demands http://wnpr.org/post/utc-deal-questioned-over-lack-hiring-demands <p>The deal offered to United Technologies to redeem extra tax credits could be extended to other corporations in Connecticut. A&nbsp;legislative hearing Monday revealed more details about the huge economic development agreement.</p><p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 15:54:44 +0000 Harriet Jones 18228 at http://wnpr.org UTC Deal Questioned Over Lack of Hiring Demands Independent Electric Suppliers Hit Back at Critics http://wnpr.org/post/independent-electric-suppliers-hit-back-critics <p>Connecticut's independent electric suppliers have come in for some stiff criticism this winter, after it was revealed that some were charging customers astronomical rates for power. But the suppliers themselves&nbsp;claim there's another side to the story.</p><p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 17:49:54 +0000 Harriet Jones 18163 at http://wnpr.org Independent Electric Suppliers Hit Back at Critics Campaign Aims to Improve Business Climate in Connecticut http://wnpr.org/post/campaign-aims-improve-business-climate-connecticut <p>The state's poor business climate is a perennial complaint for Connecticut's largest business organization. And now it's launched a campaign to make it an urgent priority.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 19:40:12 +0000 Harriet Jones 18057 at http://wnpr.org Campaign Aims to Improve Business Climate in Connecticut Business Audience Quizzes Malloy on Minimum Wage http://wnpr.org/post/business-audience-quizzes-malloy-minimum-wage <p>Before he traveled to New Britain for this afternoon’s event with President Obama, Governor Dannel Malloy faced what might be his most skeptical audience on the issue of minimum wage.</p><p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 18:14:01 +0000 Harriet Jones 17937 at http://wnpr.org Business Audience Quizzes Malloy on Minimum Wage Connecticut Wrestles With "Financial Tapeworm" http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-wrestles-financial-tapeworm <p>Warren Buffett has added his voice to the growing chorus of concern over public pension obligations. In his <a href="http://www.berkshirehathaway.com/letters/2013ltr.pdf" target="_blank">annual letter to shareholders</a>, the legendary investing guru calls underfunded public pension plans a "gigantic financial tapeworm."</p><p>Buffett said he anticipates lots of bad news in the coming decade about public pensions, and he stresses the need for prompt remedial action where problems exist.</p><p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 17:15:27 +0000 Harriet Jones 17869 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Wrestles With "Financial Tapeworm" Majority Supports Minimum Wage Hike, According to Q Poll http://wnpr.org/post/majority-supports-minimum-wage-hike-according-q-poll <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;"><a href="http://www.quinnipiac.edu/institutes-and-centers/polling-institute/search-releases/search-results/release-detail?ReleaseID=2015&amp;What=&amp;strArea=1;&amp;strTime=0" target="_blank">A new poll from Quinnipiac University shows that a majority of Connecticut residents want to see a raise in the minimum wage</a>. The poll comes as the City of New London voted to raise the minimum wage for its own workers to $10.10 an hour, the governor's statewide target for 2017.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Q Poll shows that 71 percent of Connecticut residents support raising the minimum wage, while 25 percent oppose the change.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 15:12:24 +0000 Harriet Jones & Jayne Ashley 17856 at http://wnpr.org Majority Supports Minimum Wage Hike, According to Q Poll State Strikes Major Tax Credit Deal With United Technologies http://wnpr.org/post/state-strikes-major-tax-credit-deal-united-technologies <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The state of Connecticut has struck a multi-million dollar deal with United Technologies, which it hopes will safeguard the future of research and manufacturing operations here.</span></p><p><a href="http://www.utc.com/StaticFiles/UTC/StaticFiles/2014-02-26_connecticut_aerospace.pdf" target="_blank">Under the agreement</a>, the state will allow UTC to exercise tax credits it has already built up. The conglomerate can exchange $20 million in tax credits each year, up to a maximum of $400 million.</p><p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 00:59:07 +0000 Harriet Jones 17600 at http://wnpr.org State Strikes Major Tax Credit Deal With United Technologies Revere Approves Mohegan Sun Casino Plan http://wnpr.org/post/revere-approves-mohegan-sun-casino-plan <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Residents in Revere, Massachusetts approved on Tuesday a plan by </span>Mohegan<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Sun to build a $1.3 billion resort casino in the town.<em> <a href="http://www.courant.com/business/hc-mohegan-sun-revere-vote-20140225,0,5783349.story" target="_blank">The Hartford Courant</a></em><a href="http://www.courant.com/business/hc-mohegan-sun-revere-vote-20140225,0,5783349.story" target="_blank"> reported that the proposal</a> won 63 percent of the vote.</span></p><p>It's the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority's second attempt at the new gaming market in Massachusetts -- voters in Palmer recently rejected a casino plan there.</p><p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 12:50:50 +0000 Harriet Jones 17514 at http://wnpr.org Revere Approves Mohegan Sun Casino Plan