Harriet Jones http://wnpr.org en Connecticut's Share of Insurance Industry Continues to Decline http://wnpr.org/post/connecticuts-share-insurance-industry-continues-decline <p>A new analysis shows employment in the insurance industry is steadily recovering nationally. Connecticut’s share of the industry, however, has continued to decline.</p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 17:28:30 +0000 Harriet Jones 25626 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut's Share of Insurance Industry Continues to Decline Connecticut Companies at World's Biggest Air Show http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-companies-worlds-biggest-air-show <p>Connecticut aerospace companies are front and center at the world’s largest air show on Monday.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">The </span>Farnborough<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Air Show in England alternates with Paris each year to host the biggest names in the world of aerospace.</span></p><p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 13:44:26 +0000 Harriet Jones 25243 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Companies at World's Biggest Air Show The Morgan Sails With Whales Off Cape Cod http://wnpr.org/post/morgan-sails-whales-cape-cod <p>The world's oldest wooden whaling vessel, the Charles W. Morgan, spent the weekend with whales for the first time in 100 years.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 10:48:00 +0000 Harriet Jones 25233 at http://wnpr.org The Morgan Sails With Whales Off Cape Cod Berlin Limousine Firm Ordered to Pay $500,000 in Back Wages http://wnpr.org/post/berlin-limousine-firm-ordered-pay-500000-back-wages <p>A Berlin limousine firm has been ordered to pay its drivers half a million dollars in back wages and damages, after it failed to pay overtime for several years.</p><p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 18:59:50 +0000 Harriet Jones 25044 at http://wnpr.org Berlin Limousine Firm Ordered to Pay $500,000 in Back Wages St. Mary's Hospital Opts for Tenet Healthcare Deal http://wnpr.org/post/st-marys-hospital-opts-tenet-healthcare-deal <p>A fifth hospital in Connecticut has announced plans to give up its not-for-profit status, and join the for-profit Tenet Healthcare group.</p><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 17:58:51 +0000 Harriet Jones 24997 at http://wnpr.org St. Mary's Hospital Opts for Tenet Healthcare Deal Business Climate: Is Connecticut Really That Bad? http://wnpr.org/post/business-climate-connecticut-really-bad <p>A recent study saw Connecticut <a href="http://www.cnbc.com/id/101758236?_cldee=bWVhZ2hhbi5tYWNkb25hbGRAY2JpYS5jb20%3d&amp;utm_source=ClickDimensions&amp;utm_medium=email&amp;utm_campaign=CD_NEWSROOM" target="_blank">drop once again in the ranking of business-friendly states</a>. According to CNBC, we’re now among the bottom five states in the nation in terms of our business climate.</p><p>There is a view out there, however, that things may not be so bad after all.</p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 03:02:59 +0000 Harriet Jones 24674 at http://wnpr.org Business Climate: Is Connecticut Really That Bad? Connecticut Studies Supreme Court Decision on Home Health Aides http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-studies-supreme-court-decision-home-health-aides <p>Governor Dannel Malloy’s office will study the implications of a Supreme Court <a href="http://apps.washingtonpost.com/g/page/politics/supreme-court-decision-on-public-union-dues/1143/" target="_blank">ruling </a>that weakens the power of unions to organize home health care workers.</p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 02:53:50 +0000 Harriet Jones 24579 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Studies Supreme Court Decision on Home Health Aides Fairfield County a Mecca for Foreign Investment http://wnpr.org/post/fairfield-county-mecca-foreign-investment <p>Fairfield County had the highest proportion of employment provided by foreign-owned companies of any metro region in the country. The figures came in a new study on the impact of overseas investment in the U.S.</p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 11:50:52 +0000 Harriet Jones 23976 at http://wnpr.org Fairfield County a Mecca for Foreign Investment Carrier to Install New HVAC System in the Sistine Chapel http://wnpr.org/post/carrier-install-new-hvac-system-sistine-chapel <p>Farmington-based Carrier is to install a new heating, ventilation and air conditioning system in the Sistine Chapel as part of an effort to preserve the frescoes of Michelangelo.</p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 15:58:31 +0000 Harriet Jones 23851 at http://wnpr.org Carrier to Install New HVAC System in the Sistine Chapel Connecticut Creates Deep Water Port Authority http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-creates-deep-water-port-authority <p>Governor Dannel Malloy has signed into law a bill that will create a comprehensive port authority for the state of Connecticut.</p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 13:32:28 +0000 Harriet Jones 23837 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Creates Deep Water Port Authority Connecticut Vaccine Company Gets $50 Million in Federal Funding http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-vaccine-company-gets-50-million-federal-funding <p>Meriden’s Protein Sciences has been awarded a multi-million dollar extension to its contract with the federal government to provide flu vaccines.</p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 13:26:12 +0000 Harriet Jones 23836 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Vaccine Company Gets $50 Million in Federal Funding Helping Manufacturers Save For the Future http://wnpr.org/post/helping-manufacturers-save-future <p>As manufacturing continues its rebound in this country, there’s a lot of discussion about the best ways for government to encourage the trend. One group of manufacturers in Connecticut think they’ve found the perfect policy tool, and they’re pioneering it here in Connecticut.</p><p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 15:09:16 +0000 Harriet Jones 23711 at http://wnpr.org Helping Manufacturers Save For the Future Connecticut Economy: Good News! We're Not Dead Last http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-economy-good-news-were-not-dead-last <p>Connecticut's economy is showing positive growth, but it's very modest, according to newly-revised figures from the federal government.</p><p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 13:21:26 +0000 Harriet Jones 23502 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Economy: Good News! We're Not Dead Last CCAT Installs "World's Most Advanced" 3D Printer http://wnpr.org/post/ccat-installs-worlds-most-advanced-3d-printer <p>The Connecticut Center for Advanced Technology has installed what it says is the world's most advanced 3D printer.</p><p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 18:43:34 +0000 Harriet Jones 23373 at http://wnpr.org CCAT Installs "World's Most Advanced" 3D Printer Liam McGee Steps Down as CEO of The Hartford http://wnpr.org/post/liam-mcgee-steps-down-ceo-hartford <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Liam McGee has announced he will relinquish day-to-day control at The Hartford Financial Services Group, after treatment earlier this year for a brain tumor.</span></p><p></p><p>McGee will be succeeded as CEO by Christopher Swift, who steps up from his position as Chief Financial Officer. Another internal candidate, Douglas Elliot, will become President. McGee will stay on as executive director of the board until the next shareholders' meeting.</p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 16:55:42 +0000 Harriet Jones 23303 at http://wnpr.org Liam McGee Steps Down as CEO of The Hartford Charles W. Morgan Undergoes Sea Trials http://wnpr.org/post/charles-w-morgan-undergoes-sea-trials <p>The world's last wooden whaling ship has taken to the water under her own power for the first time in almost 100 years.</p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 11:57:04 +0000 Harriet Jones 23276 at http://wnpr.org Charles W. Morgan Undergoes Sea Trials Harpsichords Brought to Life at Zuckermann's Stonington Workshop http://wnpr.org/post/harpsichords-brought-life-zuckermanns-stonington-workshop <p>The little seaside town of Stonington has a storied reputation when it comes to one historic instrument. For the last 40 years, it's been a center of harpsichord production.</p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 20:49:57 +0000 Harriet Jones 23131 at http://wnpr.org Harpsichords Brought to Life at Zuckermann's Stonington Workshop Controversial Judge Withdraws Reappointment Request http://wnpr.org/post/controversial-judge-withdraws-reappointment-request <p>A superior court judge whose bid for reappointment had sparked controversy has withdrawn her name from consideration, according to <em>The Hartford Courant.</em></p><p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 16:29:38 +0000 Harriet Jones 23042 at http://wnpr.org Controversial Judge Withdraws Reappointment Request Connecticut Companies Urged to Bid for Navy Work http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-companies-urged-bid-navy-work <p>Local manufacturers are being urged to consider offering their services to Electric Boat as the shipyard ramps up production in coming years.</p><p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 13:47:51 +0000 Harriet Jones 23043 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Companies Urged to Bid for Navy Work Michelle Obama Sponsors New Electric Boat Sub http://wnpr.org/post/michelle-obama-sponsors-new-electric-boat-sub <p>First Lady Michelle Obama visited Rhode Island to help lay the keel for a new submarine being built by Groton's Electric Boat.</p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 16:36:15 +0000 Harriet Jones 22982 at http://wnpr.org Michelle Obama Sponsors New Electric Boat Sub Connecticut Manufacturers Foresee a Hiring Crisis http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-manufacturers-foresee-hiring-crisis <p>Connecticut's manufacturers expect to be doing lots of hiring in the next few years, but a recent survey shows they're worried about where all those new workers are going to come from.</p><p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 14:18:33 +0000 Harriet Jones 22906 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Manufacturers Foresee a Hiring Crisis Insurers Warn Against Complacency In Hurricane Season http://wnpr.org/post/insurers-warn-against-complacency-hurricane-season <p>Hurricane season has just begun, and insurers are gearing up to educate their customers on preparing for the storms ahead.</p><p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 13:17:22 +0000 Harriet Jones 22902 at http://wnpr.org Insurers Warn Against Complacency In Hurricane Season Middlefield Firm Wins Top National Export Award http://wnpr.org/post/middlefield-firm-wins-top-national-export-award <p>A Middlefield company has been presented with the President's Award for Exports at a ceremony in Washington, D.C.</p><p> Thu, 29 May 2014 18:08:05 +0000 Harriet Jones 22727 at http://wnpr.org Middlefield Firm Wins Top National Export Award Reports: Royal Bank of Scotland to Slash Hundreds of U.S. Jobs http://wnpr.org/post/reports-royal-bank-scotland-slash-hundreds-us-jobs <p>The Royal Bank of Scotland could lay off hundreds of its U.S. employees, according to new reports. The company has its North American headquarters in Stamford.</p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 12:45:40 +0000 Harriet Jones 22642 at http://wnpr.org Reports: Royal Bank of Scotland to Slash Hundreds of U.S. Jobs Starwood Gets $30 Million Hospitality Package From State http://wnpr.org/post/starwood-gets-30-million-hospitality-package-state <p>The Starwood Hotel group said it will create 340 new jobs at its Stamford headquarters, bringing its total workforce in the city's Harbor Point to more than 1,300.</p><p> Fri, 23 May 2014 13:24:15 +0000 Harriet Jones 22389 at http://wnpr.org Starwood Gets $30 Million Hospitality Package From State Connecticut Taxi Firms Sue Ride-Share App Companies http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-taxi-firms-sue-ride-share-app-companies <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A group of taxi firms in Connecticut is suing two new ride-share companies, trying to stop them from doing business in the state.</span></p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 18:22:09 +0000 Harriet Jones 22325 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Taxi Firms Sue Ride-Share App Companies U.S. Homeland Security Secretary Delivers Keynote at U.S. Coast Guard Academy http://wnpr.org/post/us-homeland-security-secretary-delivers-keynote-us-coast-guard-academy <p>U.S. Department of Homeland Security Secretary Jeh Johnson delivered the keynote address at the U.S. Coast Guard Academy's 133rd Commencement Exercises on Wednesday.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 20:41:03 +0000 Harriet Jones 22247 at http://wnpr.org U.S. Homeland Security Secretary Delivers Keynote at U.S. Coast Guard Academy Finding a New Business Paradigm For Connecticut Non-Profits http://wnpr.org/post/finding-new-business-paradigm-connecticut-non-profits <p>Giving to good causes is something many of us think about at the end of the year, as we send off a donation to a non-profit that we support. But what if you had the means and business expertise get more deeply involved in the work of your chosen cause? A new organization in Connecticut wants to harness that kind of talent.</p><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 17:45:53 +0000 Harriet Jones 22259 at http://wnpr.org Finding a New Business Paradigm For Connecticut Non-Profits ESPN Opens New Digital Center In Bristol http://wnpr.org/post/espn-opens-new-digital-center-bristol <p>Sports media giant ESPN has opened its new digital media center on its Bristol campus.</p><p> Tue, 20 May 2014 17:17:43 +0000 Harriet Jones 22179 at http://wnpr.org ESPN Opens New Digital Center In Bristol Foxwoods to Shutter Some Pits on Weekdays, Lay Off Employees http://wnpr.org/post/foxwoods-shutter-some-pits-weekdays-lay-employees <p>Foxwoods Resort Casino has announced plans to close parts of one of its casinos on weekdays, and lay off employees. This is the latest bid to brings costs under control as its gaming receipts continue to drop.</p><p> Mon, 19 May 2014 19:59:24 +0000 Harriet Jones 22108 at http://wnpr.org Foxwoods to Shutter Some Pits on Weekdays, Lay Off Employees