Patrick Skahill http://wnpr.org en Staging a War Against West Nile and Eastern Equine Encephalitis http://wnpr.org/post/staging-war-against-west-nile-and-eastern-equine-encephalitis <p>Mosquitoes trapped in East Haven are the first this year to test positive for West Nile Virus.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 13:49:01 +0000 Patrick Skahill 25782 at http://wnpr.org Staging a War Against West Nile and Eastern Equine Encephalitis Monitoring Marine Life in the Atlantic, From Water and From Orbit http://wnpr.org/post/monitoring-marine-life-atlantic-water-and-orbit <p>NASA has begun a new experiment to monitor plankton off the Atlantic coast using boats, airplanes, and satellites.</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 12:16:00 +0000 Patrick Skahill 25642 at http://wnpr.org Monitoring Marine Life in the Atlantic, From Water and From Orbit Foley, McKinney Face Off in Republican Primary Debate http://wnpr.org/post/foley-mckinney-face-republican-primary-debate <p>The two Republican candidates for Connecticut governor faced off in a primary debate on Thursday at <em>The Hartford Courant</em>.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 16:50:54 +0000 Patrick Skahill & Heather Brandon 25446 at http://wnpr.org Foley, McKinney Face Off in Republican Primary Debate Nitrogen Pollution in Long Island Sound Continues to Decline http://wnpr.org/post/nitrogen-pollution-long-island-sound-continues-decline <p>A new report says nitrogen pollution discharged into Long Island Sound continues an overall decline. That's good news for marine life because too much nitrogen can fuel the growth of algae, which dies, settles on the ocean floor, and decays, using up oxygen in the process.</p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 16:23:07 +0000 Patrick Skahill 25320 at http://wnpr.org Nitrogen Pollution in Long Island Sound Continues to Decline This Ancient Bird Had the Largest Wingspan Ever http://wnpr.org/post/ancient-bird-had-largest-wingspan-ever <p>An extinct species of bird just discovered may have had the largest wingspan ever. The animal lived 25 million years ago and was found buried at an airport.</p><p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 13:06:20 +0000 Patrick Skahill 25216 at http://wnpr.org This Ancient Bird Had the Largest Wingspan Ever Connecticut Still Waiting for Action on Federal Clean Air Plans http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-still-waiting-action-federal-clean-air-plans <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Connecticut has to wait for more federal action on cross-border pollution, according to a top environmental official who visited Hartford.</span></p><p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 12:49:25 +0000 Patrick Skahill 25084 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Still Waiting for Action on Federal Clean Air Plans New London CEO Guilty of Violating Clean Water Act http://wnpr.org/post/new-london-ceo-guilty-violating-clean-water-act <p>The former CEO of a New London company has pleaded guilty to violating the Clean Water Act. According to federal prosecutors, the infractions date back to 1986 and involve toxic discharges into the city's sewer system.</p><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 13:21:26 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24939 at http://wnpr.org New London CEO Guilty of Violating Clean Water Act Listen Closely: There's Something Hidden in This Hummingbird's Chirp http://wnpr.org/post/listen-closely-theres-something-hidden-hummingbirds-chirp <p>Here's the thing about hummingbirds: Almost nothing they do is like a regular bird. A hummingbird's heart beats about 1,200 times a minute while exercising.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 17:59:12 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24920 at http://wnpr.org Listen Closely: There's Something Hidden in This Hummingbird's Chirp Mysterious Donor Leaves Behind an $8 Million Gift http://wnpr.org/post/mysterious-donor-leaves-behind-8-million-gift <p>A reclusive North Stonington resident who died in September has left an approximately $8 million donation to the Community Foundation of Eastern Connecticut. According to the group, it's the largest gift it's ever received.</p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 18:54:46 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24709 at http://wnpr.org Mysterious Donor Leaves Behind an $8 Million Gift For Pelto, Union Endorsements (and Conversations) Prove Elusive http://wnpr.org/post/pelto-union-endorsements-and-conversations-prove-elusive <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Connecticut's largest union announced it will support Governor </span>Dannel<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Malloy in this fall's upcoming election. The Service Employees International Union represents more than 65,000 workers in the state, but those potential voters didn’t get to hear from another candidate running against Malloy.</span></p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 20:54:28 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24653 at http://wnpr.org For Pelto, Union Endorsements (and Conversations) Prove Elusive In Connecticut, a Crew to Respond to Wildfires Thousands of Miles Away http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-crew-respond-wildfires-thousands-miles-away <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">One year ago, 19 firefighters from the Granite Mountain Hotshots died battling a wildfire. While Connecticut isn't known for its forest fires, it is known for a surprisingly elite group of firefighters: the Connecticut Wildfire Crew.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 17:08:51 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24574 at http://wnpr.org In Connecticut, a Crew to Respond to Wildfires Thousands of Miles Away Feds Delay Listing a Connecticut Bat as Endangered http://wnpr.org/post/feds-delay-listing-connecticut-bat-endangered <p>The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service has announced a six-month delay on whether or not to list the Northern Long-eared Bat as endangered. The delay is so scientists can examine the impact of White-Nose Syndrome.</p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 14:25:13 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24566 at http://wnpr.org Feds Delay Listing a Connecticut Bat as Endangered Listen: My Job is to Make People Cry http://wnpr.org/post/listen-my-job-make-people-cry <p>Have you wondered what work is like for the producer of a reality television show? Rebecca Hertz, based in Los Angeles, <a href="http://wnpr.org/post/naked-afraid-and-mercy-producers-0" target="_blank">has worked on a number of shows, and to hear her describe it</a>, sometimes the job is pretty harrowing.</p><p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 15:54:36 +0000 Heather Brandon & Patrick Skahill 24391 at http://wnpr.org Listen: My Job is to Make People Cry PURA Issues Final Decision on Tree Trimming http://wnpr.org/post/pura-issues-final-decision-tree-trimming <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Connecticut has a lot of trees. Our state leads the nation on this piece of technical jargon from the state forester, "woodland urban interface tree density." That means two things -- one: Connecticut has a lot of old, towering, trees -- and two, when major storms, like the ones in 2011 and 2012, hit those trees can be really vulnerable.</span></p><p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 13:05:30 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24285 at http://wnpr.org PURA Issues Final Decision on Tree Trimming Have You Wondered How Arsenic Enters a Well? You're Not Alone http://wnpr.org/post/have-you-wondered-how-arsenic-enters-well-youre-not-alone <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A new project at Eastern Connecticut State University is looking at arsenic contamination in privately-owned wells. The question of where that arsenic is coming from has attracted surprisingly little&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">attention, until now.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 18:18:26 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24187 at http://wnpr.org Have You Wondered How Arsenic Enters a Well? You're Not Alone Listen: Five Ways to Make Connecticut Better http://wnpr.org/post/listen-five-ways-make-connecticut-better <p>Known as The Land of Steady Habits, the Nutmeg State, and somewhere you can be "Still Revolutionary," Connecticut is ever-changing, if sometimes very slowly.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 20:04:21 +0000 Patrick Skahill & Heather Brandon 24124 at http://wnpr.org Listen: Five Ways to Make Connecticut Better Why Osprey Nest Sightings in Connecticut Matter http://wnpr.org/post/why-osprey-nest-sightings-connecticut-matter <p>The Connecticut Audubon Society wants to get a better handle on osprey populations in the state. To do so, the group is launching <a href="http://www.ctaudubon.org/2014/06/osprey-nation/#sthash.Kac4KHyL.dpbs" target="_blank">a new citizen science program called "Osprey Nation."</a></p><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 11:02:00 +0000 Patrick Skahill 24003 at http://wnpr.org Why Osprey Nest Sightings in Connecticut Matter In War Against AIDS, a New Potential Weapon: Video Games http://wnpr.org/post/war-against-aids-new-potential-weapon-video-games <p>It's not something you'd immediately associate with staying healthy: video games. A <span style="line-height: 1.5;">professor at Quinnipiac University is exploring whether or not digital avatars can encourage gay men in Mexico City to get tested regularly for HIV.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 20:04:24 +0000 Patrick Skahill 23938 at http://wnpr.org In War Against AIDS, a New Potential Weapon: Video Games City of Bridgeport Pilots New "Crosswalk Flag" Program http://wnpr.org/post/city-bridgeport-pilots-new-crosswalk-flag-program <p>Let your pedestrian flag fly. That's the message coming from the City of Bridgeport, which is piloting a new <span style="line-height: 1.5;">program in front of the City Hall Annex aimed at increasing pedestrian safety through crosswalk flags.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 20:38:26 +0000 Patrick Skahill 23871 at http://wnpr.org City of Bridgeport Pilots New "Crosswalk Flag" Program Mating Season in Long Island Sound Is Prime Time for Horseshoe Crab Researchers http://wnpr.org/post/mating-season-long-island-sound-prime-time-horseshoe-crab-researchers <p>It’s mating season for Long Island Sound’s horseshoe crabs. Every year, a group of biologists from Sacred Heart University scour Connecticut’s beaches to track and tag these ancient creatures. I met up with one group in Milford, under a full moon at midnight, to learn more.</p><p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 15:04:29 +0000 Patrick Skahill 23776 at http://wnpr.org Mating Season in Long Island Sound Is Prime Time for Horseshoe Crab Researchers Fracking Waste Moratorium Signed Into Law http://wnpr.org/post/fracking-waste-moratorium-signed-law <p>Governor Dannel Malloy has signed a bill imposing a moratorium on bringing fracking waste into Connecticut. The moratorium will extend to at least to July 2017. In the meantime, the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection will draft regulations about what, if any, fracking waste can come to Connecticut.</p><p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 11:15:00 +0000 Patrick Skahill 23599 at http://wnpr.org Fracking Waste Moratorium Signed Into Law Listen to a Beatboxer Explain How He Jams With the Hartford Symphony Orchestra http://wnpr.org/post/listen-beatboxer-explain-how-he-jams-hartford-symphony-orchestra <p>Beatboxer Shodekeh has&nbsp;the skills to improvise along with a symphony. How does he do it?</p><p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 19:15:43 +0000 Heather Brandon & Patrick Skahill 23583 at http://wnpr.org Listen to a Beatboxer Explain How He Jams With the Hartford Symphony Orchestra Could Tolls End the I-95 Traffic Nightmare Through Connecticut? http://wnpr.org/post/could-tolls-end-i-95-traffic-nightmare-through-connecticut <p>Highway tolls are again being discussed in Connecticut as part of an <a href="http://www.ct-congestion-relief.com/study_overview.html" target="_blank">18-month study conducted by the state Department of Transportation</a>. It's got road planners asking an interesting question, can one type of toll actually reduce traffic?</p><p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 18:55:02 +0000 Patrick Skahill 23517 at http://wnpr.org Could Tolls End the I-95 Traffic Nightmare Through Connecticut? The Fate of Connecticut Cicadas, One Year Later http://wnpr.org/post/fate-connecticut-cicadas-one-year-later <p>Last June, Connecticut played host to an emergence of periodical 17-year cicadas. For many, promises of bug swarms covering neighborhoods never came to pass.</p><p>For others, in places like Meriden and North Branford, millions of cicadas did take over, lining roads, trees, and mailboxes. One year later, I met up with an entomologist to see what those bugs have left behind.</p><p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 16:20:04 +0000 Patrick Skahill 23361 at http://wnpr.org The Fate of Connecticut Cicadas, One Year Later Malloy Says He'll Sign Adoption Rights Bill http://wnpr.org/post/malloy-says-hell-sign-adoption-rights-bill <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Governor Dannel Malloy said he'll sign a bill that could allow adoptees access to their birth records. Under the proposal, anyone 18 or older would be able to request a copy of their original birth certificate if they were adopted after October 1, 1983.</span></p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 21:01:49 +0000 Patrick Skahill 23204 at http://wnpr.org Malloy Says He'll Sign Adoption Rights Bill Listen: How the Internet Works http://wnpr.org/post/listen-how-internet-works <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Have you ever wondered how your favorite cat video reaches your computer? Some questions stump even the most techno-savvy adults.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 16:53:35 +0000 Heather Brandon & Patrick Skahill 23184 at http://wnpr.org Listen: How the Internet Works What Can a Tanning Bed Do to Your Brain? http://wnpr.org/post/what-can-tanning-bed-do-your-brain <p>The Food and Drug Administration will now require tanning beds carry a warning label saying they shouldn't be used by persons under the age of 18. Tanning beds emit UV radiation that may cause skin cancer. But the beds may also cause changes to the brain.</p><p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 12:20:41 +0000 Patrick Skahill 23008 at http://wnpr.org What Can a Tanning Bed Do to Your Brain? How Did Glass Eel Prices Get So High? http://wnpr.org/post/how-did-glass-eel-prices-get-so-high <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Governor </span>Dannel<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Malloy has vetoed a bill that could have brought a glass eel fishing season to Connecticut. Glass eels are a juvenile species of American eel that can sell for hundreds of dollars per pound, but how did those prices get so high?</span></p><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 21:26:23 +0000 Patrick Skahill 22820 at http://wnpr.org How Did Glass Eel Prices Get So High? In Connecticut, a Summit to Explore, and Maybe Expand Narcan Use http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-summit-explore-and-maybe-expand-narcan-use <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Earlier this year, Attorney General Eric Holder issued a rare memo&nbsp;</span><a href="http://wnpr.org/post/us-attorney-general-suggests-police-carry-narcan" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">calling on more first responders to carry Narcan</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">, a drug that reverses the effects of opiate overdoses. Connecticut held its first-ever "overdose prevention summit" on Thursday to explore ways to expand </span>Narcan's<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> reach.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 14:04:49 +0000 Patrick Skahill 22760 at http://wnpr.org In Connecticut, a Summit to Explore, and Maybe Expand Narcan Use Can More Environmental Violations Actually Be a Good Thing? http://wnpr.org/post/can-more-environmental-violations-actually-be-good-thing <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Council on Environmental Quality </span><a href="http://www.ct.gov/ceq/cwp/view.asp?a=4608&amp;q=541398" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">issued its annual report on state environmental data</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> on Wednesday, and one number seems to be at the center of some questions: 72.</span></p><p> Thu, 29 May 2014 19:41:59 +0000 Patrick Skahill 22720 at http://wnpr.org Can More Environmental Violations Actually Be a Good Thing?