Heather Brandon http://wnpr.org en Gov. Malloy Announces Free State Parks Weekend in Connecticut http://wnpr.org/post/gov-malloy-announces-free-state-parks-weekend-connecticut <p>Have you been to a state park lately? O<span style="line-height: 1.5;">n July 26 and 27, you'll be able to visit any state park in Connecticut&nbsp;for free.</span></p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 17:29:50 +0000 Heather Brandon 25779 at http://wnpr.org Gov. Malloy Announces Free State Parks Weekend in Connecticut Stonington State Sen. Andrew Maynard in Serious Condition After Injury http://wnpr.org/post/stonington-state-sen-andrew-maynard-serious-condition-after-injury <p>A state senator from Stonington is in serious condition at a Rhode Island hospital after falling from an outside staircase at his home.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 12:55:17 +0000 Heather Brandon 25684 at http://wnpr.org Stonington State Sen. Andrew Maynard in Serious Condition After Injury Obama Urges Putin to Push for Unhindered Probe of Plane Crash Site in Ukraine http://wnpr.org/post/obama-urges-putin-push-unhindered-probe-plane-crash-site-ukraine <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">President Barack Obama spoke about the downed plane in eastern Ukraine from the White House Monday morning. He called for international investigators to have "immediate and full access" to the site where a passenger jet was shot down last week.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">U.S. officials have been seeking to build a case that the plane was shot down by pro-Russian separatists.</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 14:54:22 +0000 Heather Brandon 25621 at http://wnpr.org Obama Urges Putin to Push for Unhindered Probe of Plane Crash Site in Ukraine UConn Settles Sexual Assault Lawsuit http://wnpr.org/post/uconn-settles-sexual-assault-lawsuit <p>The University of Connecticut has settled a federal lawsuit filed by five women who claimed the school responded to their sexual assault complaints with indifference.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 18:39:02 +0000 Heather Brandon & Lucy Nalpathanchil 25508 at http://wnpr.org UConn Settles Sexual Assault Lawsuit Obama Calls for a Ceasefire in Ukraine http://wnpr.org/post/obama-calls-ceasefire-ukraine <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">President Barack Obama said one American was killed on a downed plane in Ukraine on Thursday, and that the airliner was shot down by a surface-to-air missile in an area controlled by Russian-backed separatists. He called for an immediate ceasefire in Ukraine, where he said heavily armed and trained separatists receive Russian support.</span></p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:36:55 +0000 Heather Brandon 25517 at http://wnpr.org Obama Calls for a Ceasefire in Ukraine Seal Pups Return to Ocean After Rehabbing in Mystic http://wnpr.org/post/seal-pups-return-ocean-after-rehabbing-mystic <p>Two five-month-old seal pups rescued in March have returned to the Atlantic Ocean after recovering from their injuries at the Mystic Aquarium.</p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:48:15 +0000 Heather Brandon 25506 at http://wnpr.org Seal Pups Return to Ocean After Rehabbing in Mystic Foley, McKinney Face Off in Republican Primary Debate http://wnpr.org/post/foley-mckinney-face-republican-primary-debate <p>The two Republican candidates for Connecticut governor faced off in a primary debate on Thursday at <em>The Hartford Courant</em>.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 16:50:54 +0000 Patrick Skahill & Heather Brandon 25446 at http://wnpr.org Foley, McKinney Face Off in Republican Primary Debate Drone Use Over George Washington Bridge Leads to Two Arrests http://wnpr.org/post/drone-use-over-george-washington-bridge-leads-two-arrests <p>Police in New York City arrested two people for operating a drone over the George Washington Bridge that came within 800 feet of a police helicopter.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 13:22:25 +0000 Heather Brandon 24907 at http://wnpr.org Drone Use Over George Washington Bridge Leads to Two Arrests Teens Savor Hartford Comic Con, "a Divine Experience" http://wnpr.org/post/teens-savor-hartford-comic-con-divine-experience <p>Students from the <a href="http://jma.hartfordschools.org/">Journalism and Media Academy&nbsp;Magnet School</a> Satellite Campus at the <a href="http://www.cpbn.org/program/learning-lab-test">CPBN&nbsp;Learning Lab</a> in Hartford had a chance to visit <a href="http://hartfordcomiccon.com/" target="_blank">Comic Con in the capital city</a> recently. One described it as a "divine experience."</p><p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 16:00:53 +0000 Heather Brandon 24399 at http://wnpr.org Teens Savor Hartford Comic Con, "a Divine Experience" Listen: My Job is to Make People Cry http://wnpr.org/post/listen-my-job-make-people-cry <p>Have you wondered what work is like for the producer of a reality television show? Rebecca Hertz, based in Los Angeles, <a href="http://wnpr.org/post/naked-afraid-and-mercy-producers-0" target="_blank">has worked on a number of shows, and to hear her describe it</a>, sometimes the job is pretty harrowing.</p><p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 15:54:36 +0000 Heather Brandon & Patrick Skahill 24391 at http://wnpr.org Listen: My Job is to Make People Cry Rare Sighting of Beluga Whale in Massachusetts http://wnpr.org/post/rare-sighting-beluga-whale-massachusetts <p>In Connecticut, we're used to seeing Beluga whales at Mystic Aquarium, but residents in Fall River, Massachusetts are getting an unusual sight in an unusual place. A Beluga whale was spotted in the Taunton River over the past several days.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 18:12:50 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil & Heather Brandon 24333 at http://wnpr.org Rare Sighting of Beluga Whale in Massachusetts New Documentary Highlights the Work of Frederick Law Olmsted http://wnpr.org/post/new-documentary-highlights-work-frederick-law-olmsted <p></p><p>Frederick Law Olmsted, recognized as one of the greatest landscape architects from the U.S., is perhaps best known for contributing to the design of New York City's Central Park. He was also a Connecticut native, and was raised in Hartford's North End -- where he is also interred, in Old North Cemetery.</p><p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 11:16:00 +0000 Heather Brandon & Allison Ehrenreich 24181 at http://wnpr.org New Documentary Highlights the Work of Frederick Law Olmsted Listen: Five Ways to Make Connecticut Better http://wnpr.org/post/listen-five-ways-make-connecticut-better <p>Known as The Land of Steady Habits, the Nutmeg State, and somewhere you can be "Still Revolutionary," Connecticut is ever-changing, if sometimes very slowly.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 20:04:21 +0000 Patrick Skahill & Heather Brandon 24124 at http://wnpr.org Listen: Five Ways to Make Connecticut Better Boughton Drops Out of Race for Governor http://wnpr.org/post/boughton-drops-out-race-governor <p>Danbury Mayor Mark Boughton&nbsp;announced on Wednesday that he is dropping out of the race for Connecticut governor. Instead, he's supporting endorsed Republican candidate Tom Foley.</p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 19:39:19 +0000 Heather Brandon 23866 at http://wnpr.org Boughton Drops Out of Race for Governor Listen to a Beatboxer Explain How He Jams With the Hartford Symphony Orchestra http://wnpr.org/post/listen-beatboxer-explain-how-he-jams-hartford-symphony-orchestra <p>Beatboxer Shodekeh has&nbsp;the skills to improvise along with a symphony. How does he do it?</p><p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 19:15:43 +0000 Heather Brandon & Patrick Skahill 23583 at http://wnpr.org Listen to a Beatboxer Explain How He Jams With the Hartford Symphony Orchestra Massachusetts Gaming Commission Tentatively Awards Casino License to MGM http://wnpr.org/post/massachusetts-gaming-commission-tentatively-awards-casino-license-mgm <p>The Massachusetts Gaming Commission voted on Friday to award a western Massachusetts casino license to MGM Springfield, as soon as a repeal issue is resolved. Springfield Mayor Domenic Sarno called the casino one of three essential ingredients to revive the city's "urban core."</p><p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 16:51:54 +0000 Heather Brandon 23586 at http://wnpr.org Massachusetts Gaming Commission Tentatively Awards Casino License to MGM Foley Reacts to Pelto's Announcement; Agrees on Education and "Corporate Welfare" http://wnpr.org/post/foley-reacts-peltos-announcement-agrees-education-and-corporate-welfare <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Tom Foley, Republican candidate for Connecticut governor, </span><a href="http://wnpr.org/post/where-we-vote-2014-tom-foley" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">said on WNPR's <em>Where We Live</em></a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> that he agrees with third-party candidate Jonathan </span>Pelto<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> on education policy and his approach to corporate welfare, and doesn't see a threat from him in the upcoming election.</span></p><p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 13:50:45 +0000 Heather Brandon 23497 at http://wnpr.org Foley Reacts to Pelto's Announcement; Agrees on Education and "Corporate Welfare" Gambling Regulators in Massachusetts Begin Review of Proposed Springfield Casino http://wnpr.org/post/gambling-regulators-massachusetts-begin-review-proposed-springfield-casino <p>State gambling regulators considering awarding the state's first casino license to MGM Resorts International have given its proposed $800 million casino in Springfield high marks for its finances and its building and site design.</p><p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 18:26:46 +0000 Heather Brandon 23371 at http://wnpr.org Gambling Regulators in Massachusetts Begin Review of Proposed Springfield Casino The Bodyguard Blanket: Sensible, or a Sign of Resignation? http://wnpr.org/post/bodyguard-blanket-sensible-or-sign-resignation <p>A new product is out called the <a href="http://bodyguardblanket.com/" target="_blank">Bodyguard blanket</a>, designed to provide protection for children and teachers while at school. It's a bullet and tornado-projectile resistant item, resembling a yoga mat, that a child or adult can fasten around the shoulders and waist.</p><p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 18:12:25 +0000 Heather Brandon 23369 at http://wnpr.org The Bodyguard Blanket: Sensible, or a Sign of Resignation? Mark Boughton and Mark Lauretti Face Ballot Signature Deadline http://wnpr.org/post/mark-boughton-and-mark-lauretti-face-ballot-signature-deadline <p>Shelton Mayor Mark Lauretti&nbsp;faced a looming deadline Tuesday to submit thousands of signatures from registered Republicans in order to appear as a lieutenant governor candidate on the GOP primary ballot.</p><p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 17:08:01 +0000 Heather Brandon 23358 at http://wnpr.org Mark Boughton and Mark Lauretti Face Ballot Signature Deadline Malloy Pledges Bridge Operations Review to Address Metro-North Disruptions http://wnpr.org/post/malloy-pledges-bridge-operations-review-address-metro-north-disruptions <p>Governor Dannel Malloy, Senator Richard Blumenthal and other leaders met in New York City on Monday to discuss the latest problem for Connecticut rail travel.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">The 118-year-old Walk Bridge in Norwalk has gotten stuck in the open position twice in recent days, leading to major Metro-North and Amtrak delays.</span></p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 19:13:40 +0000 Heather Brandon 23295 at http://wnpr.org Malloy Pledges Bridge Operations Review to Address Metro-North Disruptions "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder" Wins Best New Musical Tony Award http://wnpr.org/post/gentlemans-guide-love-and-murder-wins-best-new-musical-tony-award <p>"A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder," originally a Hartford Stage production, received the best new musical Tony Award on Sunday night.</p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 14:02:19 +0000 Heather Brandon 23289 at http://wnpr.org "A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder" Wins Best New Musical Tony Award Listen: How the Internet Works http://wnpr.org/post/listen-how-internet-works <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Have you ever wondered how your favorite cat video reaches your computer? Some questions stump even the most techno-savvy adults.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 16:53:35 +0000 Heather Brandon & Patrick Skahill 23184 at http://wnpr.org Listen: How the Internet Works Should the Rock Cats Move to Hartford? http://wnpr.org/post/should-rock-cats-move-hartford <p>Hartford city officials held a news conference on Wednesday to discuss what Mayor Pedro Segarra&nbsp;called a "major sports announcement." A deal is in place to move the New Britain Rock Cats minor league baseball team to Hartford.</p><p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 16:26:10 +0000 Heather Brandon 23040 at http://wnpr.org Should the Rock Cats Move to Hartford? UConn, City of Hartford Mark Development Agreement http://wnpr.org/post/uconn-city-hartford-mark-development-agreement <p>UConn officials and the city of Hartford marked a development agreement milestone on Tuesday. The university is capping an effort to move its West Hartford campus to a new location called UConn Hartford.</p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 18:13:10 +0000 Heather Brandon 22978 at http://wnpr.org UConn, City of Hartford Mark Development Agreement John McKinney Wants to Retain Connecticut's Young Population http://wnpr.org/post/john-mckinney-wants-retain-connecticuts-young-population <p>Why is John McKinney running for governor? "Because I love Connecticut," <a href="http://wnpr.org/post/where-we-vote-2014-john-mckinney" target="_blank">he said Tuesday on WNPR's <em>Where We Live</em></a>, adding that he wants his three children to be able to stay in Connecticut, too.</p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 13:30:41 +0000 Heather Brandon 22963 at http://wnpr.org John McKinney Wants to Retain Connecticut's Young Population East Haven Students Produce Short Film On Energy Conservation Lessons From Birds http://wnpr.org/post/east-haven-students-produce-short-film-energy-conservation-lessons-birds <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A group of students at East Haven High School created a short documentary, “Weaving the Way: Lessons From the Weaver Bird.” The film recently won outstanding documentary short at the </span><a href="http://filmfest.skills21.org/" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">Connecticut Student Film Festival</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 11:45:58 +0000 Heather Brandon 22926 at http://wnpr.org East Haven Students Produce Short Film On Energy Conservation Lessons From Birds Connecticut Faith Leaders Press Gun Manufacturers On Safety and Weapons Distribution http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-faith-leaders-press-gun-manufacturers-safety-and-weapons-distribution <p>Following the recent mass killing in California, faith leaders in Connecticut gathered on&nbsp;Monday to call on gun manufacturers to take steps aimed at reducing gun violence.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 00:36:41 +0000 Diane Orson & Heather Brandon 22903 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Faith Leaders Press Gun Manufacturers On Safety and Weapons Distribution Philadelphia Inquirer Co-Owner Dead in Boston-Area Plane Crash http://wnpr.org/post/philadelphia-inquirer-co-owner-dead-boston-area-plane-crash <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Lewis Katz, co-owner of <em>The Philadelphia Inquirer</em>, is among the seven people killed in a plane crash Saturday night in Bedford, Massachusetts,&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">according to the paper's editor.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Bill&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Marimow</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;confirmed Katz's death to Philly.com on Sunday, saying he learned the news from close associates.</span></p><p> Sun, 01 Jun 2014 14:06:16 +0000 Heather Brandon 22878 at http://wnpr.org Philadelphia Inquirer Co-Owner Dead in Boston-Area Plane Crash Bridgeport Police Respond to Arrest Video http://wnpr.org/post/bridgeport-police-respond-arrest-video <p>Bridgeport police are defending the actions of a police officer shown in an Internet video forcefully arresting a teenager.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 17:28:01 +0000 John Dankosky & Heather Brandon 22654 at http://wnpr.org Bridgeport Police Respond to Arrest Video