Lucy Nalpathanchil http://wnpr.org en Sandy Hook Mother Remains Committed to Ending Gun Violence http://wnpr.org/post/sandy-hook-mother-remains-committed-ending-gun-violence <p>A mother who lost her son in the Newtown school shootings remains committed to ending gun violence. Nicole Hockley is Communications Director for Sandy Hook Promise and mother of Dylan, a first grader who was killed at Sandy Hook Elementary School in 2012.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 14:22:27 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 25914 at http://wnpr.org Sandy Hook Mother Remains Committed to Ending Gun Violence Connecticut Child Advocate Criticizes DCF for Care of Transgender Teen http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-child-advocate-criticizes-dcf-care-transgender-teen <p>The Office of the Child Advocate is criticizing the Connecticut Department of Children and Families for its "public shaming" of Jane Doe after a recent incident at the state locked unit for troubled girls. Child advocate Sarah Eagan is also&nbsp;concerned about how often&nbsp;DCF staff is restraining youth at the state's locked facilities for girls and boys.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 17:58:35 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 25775 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Child Advocate Criticizes DCF for Care of Transgender Teen Bridgeport and New Haven Weigh Whether to House Migrant Children http://wnpr.org/post/bridgeport-and-new-haven-weigh-whether-house-migrant-children <p>The mayors of&nbsp;Connecticut's cities will take part in a conference call this week to discuss whether their communities have space to host some of the children from&nbsp;Central America&nbsp;who have been flooding the U.S. border.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 19:15:11 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 25704 at http://wnpr.org Bridgeport and New Haven Weigh Whether to House Migrant Children UConn Settles Sexual Assault Lawsuit http://wnpr.org/post/uconn-settles-sexual-assault-lawsuit <p>The University of Connecticut has settled a federal lawsuit filed by five women who claimed the school responded to their sexual assault complaints with indifference.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 18:39:02 +0000 Heather Brandon & Lucy Nalpathanchil 25508 at http://wnpr.org UConn Settles Sexual Assault Lawsuit Connecticut Colleges Vary on Policies to Handle Dating Violence http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-colleges-vary-policies-handle-dating-violence <p>One in three women nationwide say they've been in an abusive dating relationship while in college.</p><p>With that in mind, the Connecticut Coalition Against Domestic Violence, the Injury Prevention Center at Connecticut Children's Medical Center, and Hartford Hospital <a href="http://mediad.publicbroadcasting.net/p/wnpr/files/2014_campus_report.pdf" target="_blank">have released a report examining what policies exist at state colleges and universities to address the problem</a>.</p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 10:40:00 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 25482 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Colleges Vary on Policies to Handle Dating Violence Transgender Community Watching Connecticut's Jane Doe Case http://wnpr.org/post/transgender-community-watching-connecticuts-jane-doe-case <p>The transgender community has been watching Connecticut and its handling of a 16-year-old transgender girl, who's in the custody of the state Department of Children and Families.</p><p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 12:54:45 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 25344 at http://wnpr.org Transgender Community Watching Connecticut's Jane Doe Case Transgender Girl Moved to Male Facility in Middletown http://wnpr.org/post/transgender-girl-moved-male-facility-middletown <p></p><p>The attorneys for a transgender teen in the custody of Connecticut's Department of Children and Families want a judge to oversee her care. This comes after DCF moved her to an all-boys facility after she allegedly assaulted a youth and staff member&nbsp;over the weekend.</p><p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 19:06:48 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 25251 at http://wnpr.org Transgender Girl Moved to Male Facility in Middletown Hartford Delivers Summer Meals to Kids in Libraries http://wnpr.org/post/hartford-delivers-summer-meals-kids-libraries <p>All children look forward to summer vacation, but when they're not in class, some of these kids also miss out on free meals and snacks. To feed more children, Hartford Public Schools has expanded its summer food program to libraries.</p><p> Sat, 12 Jul 2014 09:58:00 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 25143 at http://wnpr.org Hartford Delivers Summer Meals to Kids in Libraries Combining Food Stamps and Job Training in Connecticut http://wnpr.org/post/combining-food-stamps-and-job-training-connecticut <p>One of Connecticut's community colleges has received additional funding to help food stamp recipients get jobs.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 10:56:00 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 25016 at http://wnpr.org Combining Food Stamps and Job Training in Connecticut Wait Times for VA Health Care Growing in Connecticut http://wnpr.org/post/wait-times-va-health-care-growing-connecticut <div><div>U.S. Senator Richard Blumenthal wants the VA to explain why veterans are waiting longer than 30 days to be seen in Connecticut and nationwide.</div> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 20:48:00 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 24865 at http://wnpr.org Wait Times for VA Health Care Growing in Connecticut Rare Sighting of Beluga Whale in Massachusetts http://wnpr.org/post/rare-sighting-beluga-whale-massachusetts <p>In Connecticut, we're used to seeing Beluga whales at Mystic Aquarium, but residents in Fall River, Massachusetts are getting an unusual sight in an unusual place. A Beluga whale was spotted in the Taunton River over the past several days.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 18:12:50 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil & Heather Brandon 24333 at http://wnpr.org Rare Sighting of Beluga Whale in Massachusetts Renewal Process Begins For Undocumented "DACA" Program http://wnpr.org/post/renewal-process-begins-undocumented-daca-program <p>So far, nearly 3,300 children of undocumented immigrants living in Connecticut have been approved for deferred action.</p><p>This means the young people are allowed to live and work in the U.S. without getting deported. They must re-apply every two years, though, to the program known as DACA, and the first renewals are just coming due.</p><p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 17:37:40 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 24185 at http://wnpr.org Renewal Process Begins For Undocumented "DACA" Program Jane Doe Will Be Transferred to Middletown Girls Unit http://wnpr.org/post/jane-doe-will-be-transferred-middletown-girls-unit <p>A 16-year-old transgender girl who was placed at York women's prison in April will be moved next week.</p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 20:52:47 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 24015 at http://wnpr.org Jane Doe Will Be Transferred to Middletown Girls Unit Recent Homicides Lead Advocates to Discuss Prevention http://wnpr.org/post/recent-homicides-lead-advocates-discuss-prevention <p>The recent murders of two Connecticut women spurred a roundtable discussion Thursday organized by <span style="line-height: 1.5;">the state child advocate and the Connecticut Coalition Against Domestic Violence.</span></p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 17:25:18 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 23991 at http://wnpr.org Recent Homicides Lead Advocates to Discuss Prevention "A Self-Made Man" Screens at Long Wharf Theatre This Weekend http://wnpr.org/post/self-made-man-screens-long-wharf-theatre-weekend <p>Tony Ferraiolo&nbsp;knew from a young age that he was born into the wrong body. It would be years before he was comfortable enough to transition from a female to male transgender person.&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Ferraiolo's&nbsp;</span>story is told in the award-winning documentary, "<a href="http://aselfmademanfilm.com/About.html" target="_blank">A Self-Made Man</a>." The film's screening is sold out on Saturday, June 21 at Long Wharf Theatre in New Haven.</p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 11:10:00 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 23758 at http://wnpr.org "A Self-Made Man" Screens at Long Wharf Theatre This Weekend Connecticut Law to Help Veterans Connect to Jobs, College Credit http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-law-help-veterans-connect-jobs-college-credit <p>Connecticut is joining a number of states that have passed laws to consider military training when veterans apply for certain jobs or college credit.&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The law stems from recommendations of a legislative task force and a report by the <a href="http://ctveteranslegal.org/" target="_blank">Connecticut Veterans Legal Center</a>.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 19:27:17 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 23457 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Law to Help Veterans Connect to Jobs, College Credit Actress Speaks About Her Mother's Dementia http://wnpr.org/post/actress-speaks-about-her-mothers-dementia <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">You probably recognize actor Kimberly Williams-Paisley. She got her start in the Steve Martin movie, "Father of the Bride," and has starred in multiple TV sitcoms, including "Two and A Half Men" and "Nashville." </span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Williams-Paisley is a writer, too, and she recently shared the challenges her family faced after her mother was diagnosed with primary progressive aphasia in 2005.</span></p><p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 19:37:12 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 23381 at http://wnpr.org Actress Speaks About Her Mother's Dementia Transgender Teen Could Be Moved to Massachusetts Facility http://wnpr.org/post/transgender-teen-could-be-moved-massachusetts-facility <p>A 16-year-old transgender girl who's been held at Connecticut's women's prison for almost two months could be moved to a Massachusetts facility in the next couple of weeks.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 19:24:42 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 23142 at http://wnpr.org Transgender Teen Could Be Moved to Massachusetts Facility Talks Continue to Place Jane Doe With Foster Family http://wnpr.org/post/talks-continue-place-jane-doe-foster-family <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Advocates for a 16-year-old transgender girl at York women’s prison are working with the Department of Children and Families to find a foster family for Jane Doe. Her story continues to attract national attention.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 19:09:41 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 22924 at http://wnpr.org Talks Continue to Place Jane Doe With Foster Family Blumenthal Wants Justice Department to Investigate Veterans Affairs http://wnpr.org/post/blumenthal-wants-justice-department-investigate-veterans-affairs <p>Connecticut's congressional delegation has yet to hear from VA officials on how long veterans are waiting for appointments at the agency's hospitals and outpatient clinics in the state.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 29 May 2014 19:11:04 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 22742 at http://wnpr.org Blumenthal Wants Justice Department to Investigate Veterans Affairs Connecticut Could Be First In U.S. to Have a Law Tracking Taser Use http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-could-be-first-us-have-law-tracking-taser-use <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The use of </span>Tasers<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> by police has been controversial in communities nationwide after isolated deaths and reports of misuse. In Connecticut, lawmakers have approved a bill that would make it the first state in the country to require police to report how the weapons are being used.</span></p><p> Tue, 20 May 2014 18:29:54 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 22184 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Could Be First In U.S. to Have a Law Tracking Taser Use Dust Off Your Bird-Watching Binoculars http://wnpr.org/post/dust-your-bird-watching-binoculars <p>If you're a birder, now is the time to grab your binoculars. The Connecticut Audubon Society said May is turning out to be a great time to watch birds.</p><p> Mon, 19 May 2014 12:12:13 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil & Heather Brandon 21996 at http://wnpr.org Dust Off Your Bird-Watching Binoculars When States Can't Control Violent Youth, Is Prison The Answer? http://wnpr.org/post/when-states-cant-control-violent-youth-prison-answer More than 4,000 children are in the custody of Connecticut's Department of Children and Families. But it's one girl, known as Jane Doe, who has galvanized advocates for juvenile justice reform and LGBT youth.<strong> </strong><p>Last month, a Connecticut judge approved a rare request from the state's child welfare agency: to move the 16-year-old transgender girl to an adult women's prison. She has not been charged with any crimes, but the state says she's too violent for a juvenile facility. Thu, 15 May 2014 21:01:00 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 21925 at http://wnpr.org When States Can't Control Violent Youth, Is Prison The Answer? Transgender Teen at York Moved to Different Part of Prison http://wnpr.org/post/transgender-teen-york-moved-different-part-prison <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A 16-year-old transgender girl who has been detained at the state women's prison for more than a month has been moved to another location at the prison.</span></p><p> Tue, 13 May 2014 16:23:18 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil & Patrick Skahill 21763 at http://wnpr.org Transgender Teen at York Moved to Different Part of Prison Governor Malloy Pressures DCF to Move Transgender Teen Out of Prison http://wnpr.org/post/governor-malloy-pressures-dcf-move-transgender-teen-out-prison <p>Governor Dannel Malloy is calling for quick action to remove a 16-year-old transgender teen out of&nbsp;Connecticut's women's prison.</p><p> Fri, 09 May 2014 20:26:08 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 21588 at http://wnpr.org Governor Malloy Pressures DCF to Move Transgender Teen Out of Prison Transgender Teen Asks Governor Malloy For Help http://wnpr.org/post/transgender-teen-asks-governor-malloy-help <p><a href="http://wnpr.org/post/transgender-teen-sent-connecticut-adult-prison" target="_blank">It's been one month since a 16-year-old transgender teen was sent to York Correctional Institution </a>after DCF&nbsp;told a court she was too violent to remain in its custody.</p><p> Thu, 08 May 2014 20:44:44 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 21496 at http://wnpr.org Transgender Teen Asks Governor Malloy For Help A Bill to Protect Connecticut Horse Owners Heads to Governor's Desk http://wnpr.org/post/bill-protect-connecticut-horse-owners-heads-governors-desk <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Governor Dannel Malloy plans on signing a bill into law that says horses are not inherently vicious. Both the Senate and House unanimously passed the bill in recent days. It was first introduced by </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Malloy in response to a court decision involving a horse named </span>Scuppy<span style="line-height: 1.5;">,</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> who bit a child.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 07 May 2014 15:02:00 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 21399 at http://wnpr.org A Bill to Protect Connecticut Horse Owners Heads to Governor's Desk Lawsuit Filed Against VA On Behalf of Military Sexual Trauma Survivors http://wnpr.org/post/lawsuit-filed-against-va-behalf-military-sexual-trauma-survivors <p>Veterans' advocacy groups are suing the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, alleging the VA discriminates against veterans who file PTSD disability claims based on being raped, assaulted, or sexually harassed while in the military.</p><p> Thu, 01 May 2014 12:27:42 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 21079 at http://wnpr.org Lawsuit Filed Against VA On Behalf of Military Sexual Trauma Survivors Connecticut Lt. Governor Opposes Federal Budget Cuts to National Guard http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-lt-governor-opposes-federal-budget-cuts-national-guard <p>Connecticut's Lieutenant Governor joined her counterparts nationwide to express concerns over possible federal budget cuts to the National Guard.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 18:29:34 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 20994 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Lt. Governor Opposes Federal Budget Cuts to National Guard Malloy's Tax Rebate Plan Is Dead http://wnpr.org/post/malloys-tax-rebate-plan-dead <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Governor </span>Dannel<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Malloy is reversing his proposal to give each taxpayer a $55.00 refund.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The administration said revenue from capital gains taxes last year is hundreds of millions of dollars below what was expected.</span></p><p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 17:02:30 +0000 Lucy Nalpathanchil 20926 at http://wnpr.org Malloy's Tax Rebate Plan Is Dead