Technology http://wnpr.org en Self-Published Authors Make A Living — And Sometimes A Fortune http://wnpr.org/post/unknown-authors-make-living-self-publishing Five years ago, printing your own book was stigmatized and was seen as a mark of failure.<p>"But now," says Dana Beth Weinberg, a sociologist at Queens College who is studying the industry, "the self-published authors walk into the room, and they say, oh, well, 'I made a quarter million dollars last year, or $100,000, or made $10,000.' And it is still more than what some of these authors are making with their very prestigious contracts."<p>Weinberg says there is still a strong financial case to be made for publishing books the old-fashioned way, but there are now many well-known independent au Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:10:11 +0000 editor 25890 at http://wnpr.org Self-Published Authors Make A Living — And Sometimes A Fortune TicketNetwork Agrees To Fix "Unfair Trade Practices" http://wnpr.org/post/ticketnetwork-agrees-fix-unfair-trade-practices <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A settlement has been reached between South Windsor-based </span>TicketNetwork<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;and the State of Connecticut. In the deal, </span>TicketNetwork<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> agreed to clearly disclose that it is a ticket resale company, and not an official box office outlet.</span></p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 18:49:39 +0000 Tucker Ives 25848 at http://wnpr.org TicketNetwork Agrees To Fix "Unfair Trade Practices" The Challenge Of Keeping Tabs On The NSA's Secretive Work http://wnpr.org/post/challenge-keeping-tabs-nsas-secretive-work Here's a question with no easy answer: How do you hold the nation's spy agencies accountable — when they control the secrets?<p>Former National Security Agency contractor Edward Snowden apparently thought the answer was to blow the lid off some of the NSA's highly classified programs. He took documents and shared them with journalists.<p>But what about Congress? It's supposed to oversee the NSA — and other spy agencies. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 David Welna 25747 at http://wnpr.org The Challenge Of Keeping Tabs On The NSA's Secretive Work The Culture and Design of Podcasts http://wnpr.org/post/culture-and-design-podcasts <p><span style="font-family: Arial; font-size: 19px; white-space: pre-wrap; line-height: 1;">Radio has a very long and storied history, and is influenced by -- some might say ruled by -- some long-held, traditional practices.</span></p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 John Dankosky, Lydia Brown, Tucker Ives & Catie Talarski 25683 at http://wnpr.org The Culture and Design of Podcasts Astronaut Who Walked On The Moon: 'It Was Science Fiction To Us' http://wnpr.org/post/astronaut-who-walked-moon-it-was-science-fiction-us In November of 1969, astronaut Alan Bean became the fourth man to walk on the moon. His mission, Apollo 12, arrived at the moon a few months after Apollo 11 made the first moon landing. That historic event celebrates its 45th anniversary Sunday.<p>Apollo 12 got off to a dramatic start: A storm rolled in as the rocket was scheduled to launch. Sun, 20 Jul 2014 15:13:00 +0000 NPR Staff 25591 at http://wnpr.org Astronaut Who Walked On The Moon: 'It Was Science Fiction To Us' Deploying Drones To Get An Overview Of Factory Farms http://wnpr.org/post/deploying-drones-get-overview-factory-farms An independent journalist says he's found a way around the so-called "ag-gag" laws by flying drones over large livestock operations to document animal welfare problems and pollution.<p>Will Potter, a Washington D.C.-based <a href="http://www.greenisthenewred.com/blog/">author and blogger</a>, recently raised $75,000 <a href="https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1926278254/drone-on-the-farm-an-aerial-expose">on Kickstarter</a> to buy the drones and other equipment to investigate animal agriculture in the U.S.<p>"I was primarily motivated by what's happening outside of those closed doors, but is Sat, 19 Jul 2014 16:20:00 +0000 editor 25566 at http://wnpr.org Deploying Drones To Get An Overview Of Factory Farms Microsoft Will Cut As Many As 18,000 Jobs http://wnpr.org/post/microsoft-will-cut-many-18000-jobs A large layoff is under way at Microsoft, as the technology company says it will cut 13,000 jobs in the next six months. All but 500 of the layoffs are related to the Nokia phone division the company acquired in April. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 12:33:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 25440 at http://wnpr.org Visa Makes Big Move To Boost Consumer Spending Online http://wnpr.org/post/visa-makes-big-move-boost-consumer-spending-online Here's an experience many of us have had: You're shopping on your smartphone. You click on the shoes or books you want. But then, when you get to the shopping cart, you abandon ship.<p>Visa says that's a big problem for retailers. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 21:16:00 +0000 editor 25420 at http://wnpr.org Visa Makes Big Move To Boost Consumer Spending Online Company Experiments With 3D-Printed Car http://wnpr.org/post/company-experiments-3d-printed-car 3D printers are capable of producing a variety of consumer products, from children’s toys to prosthetic limbs. Now, a company in the Phoenix area is trying to take the technology to the next level with cars. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 19:20:00 +0000 editor 25410 at http://wnpr.org Company Experiments With 3D-Printed Car Don't Fire The Comcast Guy, Says Caller Who Tried To Cancel http://wnpr.org/post/dont-fire-comcast-guy-says-caller-who-tried-cancel Ryan Block, whose hilariously tedious <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/2014/07/15/331681041/comcast-embarrassed-by-the-service-call-making-internet-rounds">customer service experience</a> with Comcast struck a chord with millions, says the customer service rep who harangued him should not be fired.<p>In a <a href="https://soundcloud.com/ryan-block-10/comcastic-service">phone call that went viral</a> (more than 4 million audio plays and counting), Block tries and nearly fails to cancel his Internet service because Comcast's unnamed customer service rep is frustratingly persis Wed, 16 Jul 2014 18:32:00 +0000 Elise Hu 25403 at http://wnpr.org Don't Fire The Comcast Guy, Says Caller Who Tried To Cancel House Votes to Extend Moratorium on State, Local Taxes for Internet Access http://wnpr.org/post/house-votes-extend-moratorium-state-local-taxes-internet-access <p>The House has voted to make permanent a moratorium that prevents state and local governments from taxing access to the Internet.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 17:41:18 +0000 Associated Press 25340 at http://wnpr.org House Votes to Extend Moratorium on State, Local Taxes for Internet Access Comcast 'Embarrassed' By The Service Call Making Internet Rounds http://wnpr.org/post/comcast-embarrassed-service-call-making-internet-rounds When a customer service call is described as <a href="http://gawker.com/hellish-comcast-call-sets-new-standard-for-shitty-custo-1605200994">"Kafkaesque" and "hellish,"</a> you pretty much know how it's going to go down before even taking a listen. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 17:15:00 +0000 Elise Hu 25325 at http://wnpr.org Comcast 'Embarrassed' By The Service Call Making Internet Rounds Tech Giants Make Net Neutrality Case As Deadline Nears http://wnpr.org/post/tech-giants-make-net-neutrality-case-deadline-nears It's not just comedian <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/2014/06/03/318458496/john-oliver-helps-rally-45-000-net-neutrality-comments-to-fcc">John Oliver coming out against</a> cable companies to support net neutrality. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 18:16:00 +0000 Elise Hu 25264 at http://wnpr.org Tech Giants Make Net Neutrality Case As Deadline Nears Emojis Make The Nose :) http://wnpr.org/post/emojis-make-nose <p></p><p>It's time for our cultural roundtable, The Nose! Insert smiling cat face with heart-shaped eyes. With 250 new emoji coming to a phone near you, we think it's time to give these tiny additions to our written language a face with stuck-out tongue and winking eye. Don't go all Hear No Evil Monkey on us! Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Chion Wolf, Betsy Kaplan & Colin McEnroe 25049 at http://wnpr.org Emojis Make The Nose :) What's Right And Wrong In The World Of Texting http://wnpr.org/post/whats-right-and-wrong-world-texting In the past decade, texting has become more and more popular, and is even a primary means of communication for many people. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 18:35:07 +0000 editor 24862 at http://wnpr.org What's Right And Wrong In The World Of Texting Sumptuous Silence Transcription http://wnpr.org/post/sumptuous-silence-transcription <p></p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 18:56:34 +0000 Colin McEnroe, Betsy Kaplan & Chion Wolf 24584 at http://wnpr.org Sumptuous Silence Transcription Can Technology Save the World? http://wnpr.org/post/can-technology-save-world <p>Let's take the most dire problem facing humankind: Climate change has so many negative implications it would take all day to list them. Meanwhile, there's the possibility of a sudden acceleration of a problem caused by the melting of Arctic ice, which exposes more ocean water to warming, which causes more melting, which causes more...well, you get the picture.</p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 14:02:45 +0000 Colin McEnroe, Betsy Kaplan & Chion Wolf 24567 at http://wnpr.org Can Technology Save the World? Preschoolers Outsmart College Students In Figuring Out Gadgets http://wnpr.org/post/preschoolers-outsmart-college-students-figuring-out-gadgets <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vMaCtapBduU</p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 07:26:00 +0000 Michelle Trudeau 24491 at http://wnpr.org Preschoolers Outsmart College Students In Figuring Out Gadgets Facebook's Diversity Numbers Are Out, And They're What You Expect http://wnpr.org/post/facebooks-diversity-numbers-are-out-and-theyre-what-you-expect The summer of tech company demographic data dumps continues apace. Facebook is the latest big firm to share its staff's racial and gender breakdowns, following similar releases from <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/2014/05/29/317024113/googles-white-male-heavy-staff-underlines-techs-diversity-problem">Google</a> and <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/2014/06/17/323040120/how-yahoos-diversity-numbers-compare-to-googles">Yahoo</a>. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 14:57:00 +0000 Elise Hu 24321 at http://wnpr.org Facebook's Diversity Numbers Are Out, And They're What You Expect Aereo's TV Streaming Service Is Illegal, Supreme Court Says http://wnpr.org/post/aereos-tv-streaming-service-illegal-supreme-court-says Aereo, the company that lets subscribers watch TV stations' video that it routes onto the Internet, violates U.S. copyright law, the Supreme Court has ruled. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 14:35:15 +0000 Bill Chappell 24246 at http://wnpr.org Aereo's TV Streaming Service Is Illegal, Supreme Court Says Redefining What It Means To Talk In The Age Of Smartphones http://wnpr.org/post/redefining-what-it-means-talk-age-smartphones Of all of the things that were a big deal as a sprouting toddler, learning to talk was one of the major milestones.<p>"Ma-Ma," we uttered, wide-eyed, to camcorder lenses and disbelieving parents. "Da-Da."<p>Talking is a big part of who we are as humans: as families, as business partners — as a society. It's arguably one of the most powerful forms of expression, alongside writing and art. We use our voices to ask questions, to deliver bad news, to tell someone we love them.<p>But the way we talk to each other is changing. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 14:04:39 +0000 editor 24097 at http://wnpr.org Redefining What It Means To Talk In The Age Of Smartphones Yo Is The Buzzy App Of The Moment, Whether Yo Like It Or Not http://wnpr.org/post/yo-buzzy-app-moment-whether-yo-it-or-not <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BeLZCy-_m3s</p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 15:27:00 +0000 Elise Hu 23987 at http://wnpr.org Yo Is The Buzzy App Of The Moment, Whether Yo Like It Or Not In War Against AIDS, a New Potential Weapon: Video Games http://wnpr.org/post/war-against-aids-new-potential-weapon-video-games <p>It's not something you'd immediately associate with staying healthy: video games. A <span style="line-height: 1.5;">professor at Quinnipiac University is exploring whether or not digital avatars can encourage gay men in Mexico City to get tested regularly for HIV.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 20:04:24 +0000 Patrick Skahill 23938 at http://wnpr.org In War Against AIDS, a New Potential Weapon: Video Games Carrier to Install New HVAC System in the Sistine Chapel http://wnpr.org/post/carrier-install-new-hvac-system-sistine-chapel <p>Farmington-based Carrier is to install a new heating, ventilation and air conditioning system in the Sistine Chapel as part of an effort to preserve the frescoes of Michelangelo.</p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 15:58:31 +0000 Harriet Jones 23851 at http://wnpr.org Carrier to Install New HVAC System in the Sistine Chapel British Terror Suspects Imprisoned in Connecticut to Be Sentenced in July http://wnpr.org/post/british-terror-suspects-imprisoned-connecticut-be-sentenced-july <p>Federal prosecutors filed court papers this week in advance of the July sentencing of two British citizens imprisoned in Connecticut for supporting terrorism.</p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 13:33:23 +0000 Diane Orson 23911 at http://wnpr.org British Terror Suspects Imprisoned in Connecticut to Be Sentenced in July Facebook Ad Targeting Will Use Even More Of Your Data http://wnpr.org/post/facebook-ad-targeting-will-use-even-more-your-data Facebook says it will pull from more user data, including browsing histories, to better target ads to consumers. As the changes roll out over the next few weeks, users will also have more control over their own data profiles, the ones that help determine which ads they see.<p>Ads on the site were already targeted to users based on individuals' activity on the site: for instance, what a person "liked" on Facebook. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 17:14:00 +0000 editor 23519 at http://wnpr.org Facebook Ad Targeting Will Use Even More Of Your Data CCAT Installs "World's Most Advanced" 3D Printer http://wnpr.org/post/ccat-installs-worlds-most-advanced-3d-printer <p>The Connecticut Center for Advanced Technology has installed what it says is the world's most advanced 3D printer.</p><p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 18:43:34 +0000 Harriet Jones 23373 at http://wnpr.org CCAT Installs "World's Most Advanced" 3D Printer Call Center Worker on Leave for Access Health CT Data Breach http://wnpr.org/post/call-center-worker-leave-access-health-ct-data-breach <p>Connecticut's health insurance exchange said the owner of a backpack found on a Hartford street containing Social Security numbers and other data works for a call center vendor, and has been placed on administrative leave.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 13:16:28 +0000 Associated Press 23277 at http://wnpr.org Call Center Worker on Leave for Access Health CT Data Breach @CIA Tweets; Internet Explodes In Not-So-Covert Sarcasm http://wnpr.org/post/cia-tweets-internet-explodes-not-so-covert-sarcasm The CIA has <a href="http://www.npr.org/2011/11/07/142111403/how-does-the-cia-use-social-media" target="_blank">probably been on Twitter before</a>, but this was the agency's first tweet (or the first it has publicly acknowledged):<p>Much of the response to the clever tweet from the covert agency was, as you might expect, dripping with overt sarcasm. Here's a selection:<p>The CIA has closely monitored social media worldwide as part of its intelligence gathering. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 19:17:00 +0000 Krishnadev Calamur 23198 at http://wnpr.org @CIA Tweets; Internet Explodes In Not-So-Covert Sarcasm Listen: How the Internet Works http://wnpr.org/post/listen-how-internet-works <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Have you ever wondered how your favorite cat video reaches your computer? Some questions stump even the most techno-savvy adults.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 16:53:35 +0000 Heather Brandon & Patrick Skahill 23184 at http://wnpr.org Listen: How the Internet Works