Ray Hardman http://wnpr.org en Hartford's FUSE Scandal Has Advocates Taking a Closer Look at How Charter Schools Operate http://wnpr.org/post/hartfords-fuse-scandal-has-advocates-taking-closer-look-how-charter-schools-operate <p>As the FBI continues its investigation of a disgraced Hartford-based charter school company, some education advocates think it's time to take a closer look at charter school accountability in the state.</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 13:43:22 +0000 Ray Hardman 25874 at http://wnpr.org Hartford's FUSE Scandal Has Advocates Taking a Closer Look at How Charter Schools Operate New Study Reveals Marked Increase in Connecticut Children Living In Poverty http://wnpr.org/post/new-study-reveals-marked-increase-connecticut-children-living-poverty <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The number of Connecticut children living in poverty has increased 50 percent since 1990, according to a new report.</span></p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 12:30:37 +0000 Ray Hardman 25729 at http://wnpr.org New Study Reveals Marked Increase in Connecticut Children Living In Poverty Murphy: Europe Should Impose a "Crippling Round of Sanctions" Against Russia http://wnpr.org/post/murphy-europe-should-impose-crippling-round-sanctions-against-russia <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On Monday at the White House, President Obama urged Russian President </span>Vladmir<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Putin to order Russian separatists in Ukraine to allow international investigators unfettered access to the crash site of Malaysian Airlines Flight </span>MH17<span style="line-height: 1.5;">.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:18:31 +0000 Ray Hardman 25643 at http://wnpr.org Murphy: Europe Should Impose a "Crippling Round of Sanctions" Against Russia Gun Control Advocates Plan Protest of Gov. Christie's Visit to Connecticut http://wnpr.org/post/gun-control-advocates-plan-protest-gov-christies-visit-connecticut <p>New Jersey Governor Chris Christie will be met by protesters at a GOP fundraiser on Monday night in Greenwich. Gun control advocates are angry at Christie for vetoing a recent gun control bill.</p><p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 20:03:16 +0000 Ray Hardman 25528 at http://wnpr.org Gun Control Advocates Plan Protest of Gov. Christie's Visit to Connecticut Connecticut Tango Festival Brings a Slice of Argentina to the Nutmeg State http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-tango-festival-brings-slice-argentina-nutmeg-state <p><a href="http://www.cttangofest.org/" target="_blank">The Connecticut Tango Festival </a>wraps up this weekend. Since its beginnings in the working class neighborhoods of Buenos Aires in the 1890s, the evocative art form continues to fascinate people around the world.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 17:22:25 +0000 Ray Hardman 25459 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Tango Festival Brings a Slice of Argentina to the Nutmeg State Hartford Pulls Out of $60 Million Bond Plan For New Stadium http://wnpr.org/post/hartford-pulls-out-60-million-bond-plan-new-stadium <p>Hartford Mayor Pedro Segarra has withdrawn a resolution that would have bonded up to $60 million for a new minor league baseball stadium in Hartford.</p><p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 20:24:03 +0000 Ray Hardman 25144 at http://wnpr.org Hartford Pulls Out of $60 Million Bond Plan For New Stadium Thousands of Hartford Students on Waiting List for High-Performing Schools http://wnpr.org/post/thousands-hartford-students-waiting-list-high-performing-schools <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Concerned parents gathered for a rally in Hartford on Thursday afternoon. At issue is the large number of Hartford students currently waiting for a seat in a high-performing school. &nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:27:07 +0000 Ray Hardman 25098 at http://wnpr.org Thousands of Hartford Students on Waiting List for High-Performing Schools The Rosenthals Bring Their Bluegrass Fusion to the Elm City http://wnpr.org/post/rosenthals-bring-their-bluegrass-fusion-elm-city <p>Roots-music master Phil Rosenthal and his son, jazz trumpeter Daniel Rosenthal, gave a unique concert on Wednesday night in New Haven.</p><p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 12:10:43 +0000 Ray Hardman 25009 at http://wnpr.org The Rosenthals Bring Their Bluegrass Fusion to the Elm City Forum Explores Innovation as a Way to Improve Nation's Health Care System http://wnpr.org/post/forum-explores-innovation-way-improve-nations-health-care-system <p>Connecticut Congressman John Larson sponsored a health care forum on Monday at the legislative office building in Hartford.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>"Improving Our Health Care System Through Science and Innovation" was a chance for a panel of prominent health care leaders to tout how innovations in their area of expertise are saving lives and pulling down the cost of health care.</p><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 15:48:18 +0000 Ray Hardman 24980 at http://wnpr.org Forum Explores Innovation as a Way to Improve Nation's Health Care System World Cup Fever Grips Brazilians Living in Danbury http://wnpr.org/post/world-cup-fever-grips-brazilians-living-danbury <p>On Tuesday, Brazil faces Germany in a World Cup semifinal match. For thousands of Brazilians living in Danbury, the game is a chance to gather, eat barbeque, and cheer on their native team.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 16:30:47 +0000 Ray Hardman 24915 at http://wnpr.org World Cup Fever Grips Brazilians Living in Danbury Yale University Hosts First-Ever New Haven-Centric Documentary Film Festival http://wnpr.org/post/yale-university-hosts-first-ever-new-haven-centric-documentary-film-festival <p>A quartet of New Haven filmmakers have organized a documentary film festival this Sunday at Yale University.</p><p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 20:01:33 +0000 Ray Hardman 24328 at http://wnpr.org Yale University Hosts First-Ever New Haven-Centric Documentary Film Festival Blumenthal Proposal Aims to Fix Loophole in Restraining Order Law http://wnpr.org/post/blumenthal-proposal-aims-fix-loophole-restraining-order-law <p>U.S. Senator Richard Blumenthal has introduced legislation aimed at protecting victims of domestic violence who obtain a temporary restraining order against their abuser.</p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 16:12:49 +0000 Ray Hardman 23983 at http://wnpr.org Blumenthal Proposal Aims to Fix Loophole in Restraining Order Law Investigative Report Reveals Not All Lyme Disease Tests Are Accurate http://wnpr.org/post/investigative-report-reveals-not-all-lyme-disease-tests-are-accurate <p>A new<a href="http://necir.org/2014/06/17/many-lyme-disease-tests-may-not-accurately-diagnose-patients-2/" target="_blank"> investigative report</a> calls into question thousands of diagnostic tests for Lyme disease.</p><p>Lyme is a problematic disease. It can be tough to treat, and even tougher to diagnose. The Food and Drug Administration recommends a test that works fairly well. It identifies about 300,000 new cases of Lyme disease a year, mostly in the northeast.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 15:29:02 +0000 Ray Hardman 23845 at http://wnpr.org Investigative Report Reveals Not All Lyme Disease Tests Are Accurate Yale Architects Help Build First Peace Park in the Middle East http://wnpr.org/post/yale-architects-help-build-first-peace-park-middle-east <p>A team of Yale Architects is lending their expertise to the first ever peace park in the Middle East.</p><p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 13:54:00 +0000 Ray Hardman 23607 at http://wnpr.org Yale Architects Help Build First Peace Park in the Middle East Hartford Stage Closes 50th Anniversary Season with 2013 Tony Award Winner http://wnpr.org/post/hartford-stage-closes-50th-anniversary-season-2013-tony-award-winner <p>You might say Hartford Stage has Tony fever. Not only did the musical "A Gentlemen's Guide To Love and Murder," which was developed and produced by Hartford Stage, win big at last Sunday's Tony Awards, but also the&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">2013 Tony winner for best play is currently running at the theater.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 18:26:44 +0000 Ray Hardman 23526 at http://wnpr.org Hartford Stage Closes 50th Anniversary Season with 2013 Tony Award Winner National Men's Health Week Turns 20 http://wnpr.org/post/national-mens-health-week-turns-20 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">This is National Men's Health Week, an awareness campaign to encourage men to take simple steps to improve their health.</span></p><p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 19:23:27 +0000 Ray Hardman 23443 at http://wnpr.org National Men's Health Week Turns 20 Connecticut Trails Day Weekend Events Offer Something For Everyone http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-trails-day-weekend-events-offer-something-everyone <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">With sunny skies and temperatures in the </span>70s<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> and </span>80s<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> expected this weekend, the Connecticut Forest and Park Association is encouraging everyone to get outdoors and participate in one of the 258 Connecticut Trails Day Weekend events happening Saturday and Sunday throughout the state.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 15:25:40 +0000 Ray Hardman 23180 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Trails Day Weekend Events Offer Something For Everyone The "Fitch Phoenix" Goes Up For Auction In Greenwich http://wnpr.org/post/fitch-phoenix-goes-auction-greenwich <p>A one-of-a-kind automobile built by a Connecticut icon goes on the <a href="http://www.bonhams.com/auctions/21916/">auction block</a> this weekend.</p><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 16:35:59 +0000 Ray Hardman 22789 at http://wnpr.org The "Fitch Phoenix" Goes Up For Auction In Greenwich Connecticut Doctors Urged to Be Prudent When Prescribing Antibiotics http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-doctors-urged-be-prudent-when-prescribing-antibiotics <p>Connecticut officials are urging hospitals and health care providers to curb the overuse of antibiotics.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">The proliferation of antibiotics has dramatically increased the number of infections resistant to the drug.&nbsp;</span></p><p>In April, the World Health Organization announced that these strains of bacteria can be found in every part of the world, and pose a serious health threat.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 20:11:51 +0000 Ray Hardman 22669 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Doctors Urged to Be Prudent When Prescribing Antibiotics Exploring Why the Highly-Educated Don't Smoke http://wnpr.org/post/exploring-why-highly-educated-dont-smoke <p>Adults with college degrees are much less likely to smoke than the rest of the population. A new <a href="http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0049089X14001057">Yale University study</a> searches for the reasons why. &nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 27 May 2014 14:55:02 +0000 Ray Hardman 22570 at http://wnpr.org Exploring Why the Highly-Educated Don't Smoke Connecticut Ranks 27th For Pedestrian Safety http://wnpr.org/post/connecticut-ranks-27th-pedestrian-safety <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Connecticut ranks </span>27th<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> among 50 states when it comes to pedestrian safety, according to Dangerous By Design, a new report compiled by the National Complete Streets Coalition, a program of Smart Growth America.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 12:15:00 +0000 Ray Hardman 22276 at http://wnpr.org Connecticut Ranks 27th For Pedestrian Safety Survey Reveals Chronic Illness Is a Problem For Adults in Connecticut http://wnpr.org/post/survey-reveals-chronic-illness-problem-adults-connecticut <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Results of </span><a href="http://www.fchealth.org/index.php/publications_media/ct_healthcare_survey" style="line-height: 1.5;">the Connecticut Heath Care Survey</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> were released on Wednesday. On the surface, the numbers pretty look good: 91 percent of the 4,608 adults surveyed reported having health insurance, and 87 percent said their health is good to very good.</span></p><p> Fri, 16 May 2014 12:23:20 +0000 Ray Hardman 21924 at http://wnpr.org Survey Reveals Chronic Illness Is a Problem For Adults in Connecticut Middletown Forum Focuses On the Needs of the Mentally Ill http://wnpr.org/post/middletown-forum-focuses-needs-mentally-ill <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A forum taking place on Thursday afternoon in Middletown will bring together mental health providers and advocates to discuss the many challenges facing people with mental illness.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 15 May 2014 13:45:34 +0000 Ray Hardman 21876 at http://wnpr.org Middletown Forum Focuses On the Needs of the Mentally Ill Child Advocate Says Legislative Session Was Good For Connecticut's Children http://wnpr.org/post/child-advocate-says-legislative-session-was-good-connecticuts-children <p>Connecticut's Child Advocate Sarah Eagan said the 2014 legislative session was beneficial for the children of Connecticut.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Overall, Eagan said she's happy with what was accomplished in this short legislative session, including finding room in the budget to pay for 1,020 new preschool spots statewide.</p><p> Wed, 14 May 2014 14:10:33 +0000 Ray Hardman 21788 at http://wnpr.org Child Advocate Says Legislative Session Was Good For Connecticut's Children Guitarist Joel Weik Has a Unique Perspective On Ovation Guitars http://wnpr.org/post/guitarist-joel-weik-has-unique-perspective-ovation-guitars <p>Last month, Fender Musical Instruments announced it will close the Ovation guitar factory in New Hartford in the coming weeks. For now, that means all Ovation guitars will be made in factories overseas.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 08 May 2014 17:24:08 +0000 Ray Hardman 21492 at http://wnpr.org Guitarist Joel Weik Has a Unique Perspective On Ovation Guitars University of Hartford Student Dies From Bacterial Meningitis http://wnpr.org/post/university-hartford-student-dies-bacterial-meningitis <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A senior at the University of Hartford has died of bacterial meningitis. Patrick </span>Chittenden<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> died Friday, just two weeks away from graduation.&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Email and text alerts were sent out notifying University of Hartford students. The school has extended hours at the health center for those who are concerned they may have contracted the disease.</span></p><p> Tue, 06 May 2014 16:13:12 +0000 Ray Hardman 21379 at http://wnpr.org University of Hartford Student Dies From Bacterial Meningitis Will the NBA Lure Kevin Ollie Away From UConn? http://wnpr.org/post/will-nba-lure-kevin-ollie-away-uconn <p>UConn&nbsp;men's basketball coach Kevin Ollie has been named as a potential candidate for the head coaching job at the Los Angeles Lakers. Mike D'Antoni resigned as the coach of the Lakers earlier this week after two lackluster seasons.</p><p> Fri, 02 May 2014 20:14:35 +0000 Ray Hardman 21199 at http://wnpr.org Will the NBA Lure Kevin Ollie Away From UConn? Hartford Stage Production Garners Ten Tony Award Nominations http://wnpr.org/post/hartford-stage-production-garners-ten-tony-award-nominations <p>The Tony awards were announced earlier this week, and a musical that got its start at Hartford Stage leads all nominations.</p><p> Thu, 01 May 2014 19:13:51 +0000 Ray Hardman 21124 at http://wnpr.org Hartford Stage Production Garners Ten Tony Award Nominations Construction at CenterPlan Unearths Artifacts From New Haven's Past http://wnpr.org/post/construction-centerplan-unearths-artifacts-new-havens-past <p>Artifacts from New Haven's past are surfacing in the huge construction site at College and George Streets in the Elm City. Many citizens are concerned that the construction could destroy a link to New Haven's earliest days.</p><p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 12:58:20 +0000 Ray Hardman 21014 at http://wnpr.org Construction at CenterPlan Unearths Artifacts From New Haven's Past Bill Expanding Connecticut's Policy on Concussions Heads to the Senate http://wnpr.org/post/bill-expanding-connecticuts-policy-concussions-heads-senate <p>The Connecticut House of Representatives unanimously approved a measure today expanding Connecticut's concussion policy for young athletes. The bill now heads to the Senate for a vote.</p><p> Thu, 24 Apr 2014 19:43:24 +0000 Ray Hardman 20732 at http://wnpr.org Bill Expanding Connecticut's Policy on Concussions Heads to the Senate