Jeff Cohen http://wnpr.org en Protesters Rally, Speak Against Hartford Baseball Stadium Proposal http://wnpr.org/post/protesters-rally-speak-against-hartford-baseball-stadium-proposal <p>About 50 people opposed to plans for a new minor league baseball stadium in Hartford held a march and protest Monday.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 23:11:42 +0000 Jeff Cohen 25665 at http://wnpr.org Protesters Rally, Speak Against Hartford Baseball Stadium Proposal For Stadium, Hartford to Buy Back Land it Once Owned http://wnpr.org/post/stadium-hartford-buy-back-land-it-once-owned <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Hartford Mayor Pedro </span>Segarra<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> needs to buy two acres of vacant land to help make his plan for a minor league baseball stadium a reality. That land, however, has a complicated history.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 19:58:42 +0000 Jeff Cohen 25639 at http://wnpr.org For Stadium, Hartford to Buy Back Land it Once Owned Celebrating Sam Colt Is a Delicate Affair http://wnpr.org/post/celebrating-sam-colt-delicate-affair <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Guns have a long history in Connecticut. They've also been the focus of a great deal of recent debate. B</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">oth that history and the debate are now at the heart of delicate discussion: how do you plan a birthday party for Sam Colt, the man who made the gun that won the West?&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 16:24:00 +0000 Jeff Cohen 24726 at http://wnpr.org Celebrating Sam Colt Is a Delicate Affair When a Done Deal Isn't http://wnpr.org/post/when-done-deal-isnt <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">"Done deal":&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">two words used together that Hartford Mayor Pedro </span>Segarra<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> probably wishes he hadn't used. Now he's in a position to explain just what he meant when he said the deal to build a minor league stadium in Hartford for the New Britain Rock Cats was, in fact, done.</span></p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 13:44:10 +0000 Jeff Cohen 24689 at http://wnpr.org When a Done Deal Isn't Residents Came to Speak, and Sing, About Baseball http://wnpr.org/post/residents-came-speak-and-sing-about-baseball <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Mayor Pedro </span>Segarra<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> and the city have spoken a lot about their plans to bring a minor league baseball stadium to Hartford. Hundreds of people gathered at the Hartford Public Library to discuss Segarra's plan.</span></p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 01:55:32 +0000 Jeff Cohen 24673 at http://wnpr.org Residents Came to Speak, and Sing, About Baseball Want to Build a Stadium and a Neighborhood? You'd Better Hurry http://wnpr.org/post/want-build-stadium-and-neighborhood-youd-better-hurry <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Developers who want to build a minor league baseball stadium and other surrounding buildings in the capital city aren't going to have a relaxing July.</span></p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 19:10:39 +0000 Jeff Cohen 24641 at http://wnpr.org Want to Build a Stadium and a Neighborhood? You'd Better Hurry Hartford Baseball Consultants, Lawyers Were Paid $240,000 http://wnpr.org/post/hartford-baseball-consultants-lawyers-were-paid-240000 <p>Hartford Mayor Pedro Segarra&nbsp;hired three consultants and one lawyer for a total of about $270,000 as he held closed-door negotiations to bring a minor league baseball team to Hartford. <strong>UPDATE: </strong>The city has corrected its numbers. &nbsp;It now says the total was just under $240,000.</p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 17:28:08 +0000 Jeff Cohen 24578 at http://wnpr.org Hartford Baseball Consultants, Lawyers Were Paid $240,000 Obamacare Agency Changes Course, Releases Public Information http://wnpr.org/post/obamacare-agency-changes-course-releases-public-information <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">One dollar and 22 cents.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">That's how much Access Health CT, the state's health insurance marketplace, </span><a href="http://wnpr.org/post/states-bill-obamacare-call-center-significantly-higher-estimated" style="line-height: 1.5;">pays its call center operator</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> for each minute it spends on the phone helping someone navigate the Affordable Care Act. </span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">It's also a number that </span>Maximus,<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;the call center operator,&nbsp;</span><a href="http://wnpr.org/post/company-says-health-care-exchange-contracts-are-trade-secrets" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">has tried to keep from public disclosure for months</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Jeff Cohen 24423 at http://wnpr.org Obamacare Agency Changes Course, Releases Public Information When It Comes to Paying For Stadium, Hartford Changes Course http://wnpr.org/post/when-it-comes-paying-stadium-hartford-changes-course <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The city of Hartford is changing its plans for how to build, and pay for, a new minor league baseball stadium downtown. T</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">he mayor and the city council now plan to ask developers and private investors to weigh in.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 20:54:15 +0000 Jeff Cohen 24294 at http://wnpr.org When It Comes to Paying For Stadium, Hartford Changes Course If a Ballpark Comes to Hartford, Who Gets the Luxury Seats? http://wnpr.org/post/if-ballpark-comes-hartford-who-gets-luxury-seats <p><a href="http://articles.courant.com/2014-06-18/news/hc-op-rennie-hartford-luxury-box-tucked-in-stadium-20140618_1_city-suite-ballpark-city-government" target="_blank">Much has been written</a> about whether the city of Hartford should have its own box in the new proposed baseball stadium its considering building to house the New Britain Rock Cats.</p><p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 20:21:52 +0000 Jeff Cohen 24357 at http://wnpr.org If a Ballpark Comes to Hartford, Who Gets the Luxury Seats? Hartford City Council to Hire Its Own Stadium Consultant http://wnpr.org/post/hartford-city-council-hire-its-own-stadium-consultant <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Hartford Mayor Pedro </span>Segarra's<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> plan to build a new minor league baseball stadium in the heart of downtown is facing more scrutiny from the city council.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:16:33 +0000 Jeff Cohen 24270 at http://wnpr.org Hartford City Council to Hire Its Own Stadium Consultant Ballpark Debate Makes For Interesting State Senate Politics http://wnpr.org/post/ballpark-debate-makes-interesting-state-senate-politics <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">It may be baseball season.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">I</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">t's also political primary season.</span></p><p>When it comes to the ballpark in Hartford, two opposing candidates for state senate have two very different views.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 03:01:11 +0000 Jeff Cohen 24222 at http://wnpr.org Ballpark Debate Makes For Interesting State Senate Politics Locating Hartford's Proposed Ballpark http://wnpr.org/post/locating-hartfords-proposed-ballpark <p>The city of Hartford <a href="http://articles.courant.com/2014-06-07/business/hc-rockcats-hartford-conn-stadium-develop-20140607_1_hartford-stage-i-84-new-britain-rock-cats" target="_blank">has said it looked at other city locations</a> for a new minor league baseball stadium -- including a location on Market Street, the sometimes-home of Cirque du Soleil.</p><p>Now, there are some documents to back that up.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:17:52 +0000 Jeff Cohen 24195 at http://wnpr.org Locating Hartford's Proposed Ballpark Stadium Deal Not Approved Yet, But Hartford Goes Out to Bid http://wnpr.org/post/stadium-deal-not-approved-yet-hartford-goes-out-bid <p>There's a lot of work yet to be done before a minor league baseball stadium in the state's capital city becomes a reality. For starters, it has to be approved by the Hartford city&nbsp;council, and that won't likely happen until later this summer.</p><p>Mayor Pedro Segarra, however, isn’t waiting around for the city council to act.</p><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 21:04:06 +0000 Jeff Cohen 24138 at http://wnpr.org Stadium Deal Not Approved Yet, But Hartford Goes Out to Bid Hartford's New Superintendent Sees Internal Achievement Gap http://wnpr.org/post/hartfords-new-superintendent-sees-internal-achievement-gap <p>Hartford's new school superintendent held her first press conference on Monday. She said her top priority is to eliminate the achievement gap within Hartford's schools.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:57:01 +0000 Jeff Cohen 24110 at http://wnpr.org Hartford's New Superintendent Sees Internal Achievement Gap Hartford Leaders Respond to Stadium Concerns http://wnpr.org/post/hartford-leaders-respond-stadium-concerns <p>The debate over whether to relocate the minor league Rock Cats from New Britain to Hartford continues, and the Hartford's elected officials are now feeling some heat.</p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 19:19:39 +0000 Jeff Cohen 23932 at http://wnpr.org Hartford Leaders Respond to Stadium Concerns Springfield Says There Were No Talks With Rock Cats http://wnpr.org/post/springfield-says-there-were-no-talks-rock-cats <p>Hartford Mayor Pedro Segarra and his people have said that their negotiations to move the minor league New Britain Rock Cats to Hartford had to be confidential, because speaking about them publicly could have risked the whole thing and pushed the team out of state.</p><p>Several news reports -- <a href="http://articles.courant.com/2014-06-02/news/hc-hartford-rockcats-0603-20140602_1_new-britain-rock-cats-josh-solomon-minor-league-baseball-team" target="_blank">some citing anonymous city officials and sources</a>, <a href="http://newbritainherald.com/articles/2014/06/04/news/doc538fd2097402e752167220.txt" target="_blank">others citing speculation</a> and <a href="http://www.nhregister.com/sports/20140604/malafronte-rock-cats-owner-breaks-promise-made-when-team-was-bought" target="_blank">rumors</a> -- suggested that Springfield, Massachusetts was a serious contender. &nbsp;</p><p>Not so, says Springfield.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 14:09:57 +0000 Jeff Cohen 23774 at http://wnpr.org Springfield Says There Were No Talks With Rock Cats City Council May Not Have Final Vote On Hartford Ballpark http://wnpr.org/post/city-council-may-not-have-final-vote-hartford-ballpark <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Hartford Mayor Pedro </span>Segarra<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> has called his plan to move the New Britain Rock Cats to the capital city a "done deal." He's celebrated the plan as both good for Hartford's pride and for its pocketbook.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The city council doesn't necessarily have the final vote, however -- and</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;not everyone likes it.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 20:24:08 +0000 Jeff Cohen 23538 at http://wnpr.org City Council May Not Have Final Vote On Hartford Ballpark City Explains Hartford's Secrecy Around Proposed Stadium http://wnpr.org/post/city-explains-hartfords-secrecy-around-proposed-stadium <p>For the better part of a year and half, Hartford city officials negotiated a plan to move the New Britain Rock Cats to the capital city behind closed doors, saying the deal needed that kind of confidentiality, lest it fall apart.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 18:10:17 +0000 Jeff Cohen 23442 at http://wnpr.org City Explains Hartford's Secrecy Around Proposed Stadium Hartford State Senator Opposes New Rock Cats Stadium http://wnpr.org/post/hartford-state-senator-opposes-new-rock-cats-stadium <p>Earlier this week, Hartford Mayor Pedro Segarra called the plan to move the New Britain Rock Cats to the capital city a "done deal."&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 13:53:02 +0000 Jeff Cohen 23430 at http://wnpr.org Hartford State Senator Opposes New Rock Cats Stadium Would You Spend the Night in Hartford After a Rock Cats Game? http://wnpr.org/post/would-you-spend-night-hartford-after-rock-cats-game <p>City leaders say building a minor league baseball stadium in Hartford would spur economic development. Some of the numbers are based on ambitious assumptions.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 20:09:58 +0000 Jeff Cohen 23199 at http://wnpr.org Would You Spend the Night in Hartford After a Rock Cats Game? If You Build It, Lots and Lots of People Will Have to Come http://wnpr.org/post/if-you-build-it-lots-and-lots-people-will-have-come <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A bunch of numbers jump out when it comes to the proposed new minor league ballpark in Hartford. One of them is the jobs projection.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 21:58:54 +0000 Jeff Cohen 23158 at http://wnpr.org If You Build It, Lots and Lots of People Will Have to Come Rock Cats Ballpark Economics, By the Numbers http://wnpr.org/post/rock-cats-ballpark-economics-numbers <p>There are a lot of numbers that jump out when it comes to the proposed new minor league ballpark in Hartford – the 600 permanent, full-time jobs, the more than 9,000 seats, the 25-year deal, the $500,000 annual rent payment to the city.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">But there’s also the </span>price tag<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> itself.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 18:02:44 +0000 Jeff Cohen 23129 at http://wnpr.org Rock Cats Ballpark Economics, By the Numbers Hartford Says Rock Cats Were Ready to Leave the State http://wnpr.org/post/hartford-says-rock-cats-were-ready-leave-state <p>Hartford has announced a 25-year deal to bring the New Britain Rock Cats to the capital city. The move, celebrated in one city, is not so popular in the other.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 20:48:04 +0000 Jeff Cohen 23069 at http://wnpr.org Hartford Says Rock Cats Were Ready to Leave the State Tom Foley Will Apply for Public Financing In Governor's Race http://wnpr.org/post/tom-foley-will-apply-public-financing-governors-race <p>Republican Tom Foley, who self-funded his 2010 campaign for governor, has decided that he'll apply for public financing this time around.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 13:58:55 +0000 Jeff Cohen 22964 at http://wnpr.org Tom Foley Will Apply for Public Financing In Governor's Race Candidates for Governor Have the Cash to Qualify, But Will They Apply For Public Financing? http://wnpr.org/post/candidates-governor-have-cash-qualify-will-they-apply-public-financing <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Both the Democratic and Republican endorsed candidates for governor have said they've raised enough money to qualify for public campaign funds, but either of them has actually applied.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 12:05:40 +0000 Jeff Cohen 22747 at http://wnpr.org Candidates for Governor Have the Cash to Qualify, But Will They Apply For Public Financing? Sentencing Death After the Death Penalty's Repeal http://wnpr.org/post/sentencing-death-after-death-penaltys-repeal <p>In 2012, Connecticut repealed the death penalty for crimes committed after the law was changed. That doesn't mean more people won't end up on death row.<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp; A man convicted of a 2006 triple murder was sentenced to death last week.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 20:19:30 +0000 Jeff Cohen 22670 at http://wnpr.org Sentencing Death After the Death Penalty's Repeal More Police Officers to Get Mental Health Training http://wnpr.org/post/more-police-officers-get-mental-health-training <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Edward </span>Yergeau<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, a patrol sergeant</span><span style="color: rgb(84, 84, 84); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: small; line-height: 18.200000762939453px;">&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">with the Hartford Police Department, has seen how changing attitudes about mental health has actually changed outcomes.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">"Ten years ago,"&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Yergeau</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;said, "you either arrested a person, or threw them in the ambulance, and you were done with them. That was it."&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 27 May 2014 16:55:22 +0000 Jeff Cohen 22576 at http://wnpr.org More Police Officers to Get Mental Health Training Poll: Latinos Underinformed On Obamacare http://wnpr.org/post/poll-latinos-underinformed-obamacare <p>A <a href="http://enrollamerica.org/" target="_blank">new poll</a> by a non-profit working to get people health insurance coverage say that a lack of understanding hindered Obamacare enrollment for at least one demographic groups: Latinos.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 17:37:18 +0000 Jeff Cohen 22316 at http://wnpr.org Poll: Latinos Underinformed On Obamacare U.S. Education Secretary in Hartford to Talk About Paying for College http://wnpr.org/post/us-education-secretary-hartford-talk-about-paying-college <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan was in Hartford Monday to speak with high school seniors about paying for college.</span></p><p> Mon, 19 May 2014 21:04:33 +0000 Jeff Cohen 22137 at http://wnpr.org U.S. Education Secretary in Hartford to Talk About Paying for College